BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2016 Sparkassen Münsterland Giro (HC), Germany

11th edition: Monday, October 3, 2016

Münsterland Giro podium history | 2015 edition | 2017 edition | Course map |

Gronau - Münster, 218.5 km

John Degenkolb

John Degenkolb is victorious in Münster

The Race: Here's the report from winner John Degenkolb's Giant-Alpecin team:

John Degenkolb (GER) has sprinted to victory at Sparkassen Münsterland Giro, taking Team Giant-Alpecin's first victory on home soil this year. Degenkolb was the quickest in the reduced bunch sprint after strong chase work and an excellent lead-out by the team. The 27-year-old German took his second victory of the season.

John Degenkolb (GER): "There was perfect team spirit today and I am delighted with the victory. It is really great to win in my home country. The team worked very hard throughout the whole race and gave me a great lead-out.

"We reacted well on the late attacks in the finale. For the sprint I had the right position and could come through at the right moment, so that was fantastic."

Arthur van Dongen (NED): "We are very happy with this win at Münsterland Giro, which is an important race for us in Germany. To win here is a great achievement for all our efforts after a challenging season.

"The whole team did a great job and the lead-out went perfectly today. The plan was to have as many guys as possible with John at the end. On the local laps, it was quite tricky with the rain and cobbles. The guys supported John very well and he was able to capitalise on this." 

Complete Results:

218.5 kilometers raced at an average speed of 45.075 km/hr

1 John Degenkolb Giant-Alpecin 4hr 50min 51sec
2 Roy Jans Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
3 Pascal Ackermann Rad-Net Rose s.t.
4 Matteo Trentin Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
5 Dion Smith ONE Pro Cycling s.t.
6 Alan Banaszek CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
7 Phil Bauhaus Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
8 Gianni Meersman Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
9 Robin Sténuit Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
10 Bert Van Lerberghe Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
11 Jonas Koch Verva ActiveJet s.t.
12 Ryan Gibbons Dimension Data s.t.
13 Max Kanter LKT-Brandenburg s.t.
14 Marco Mathis Rad-Net Rose s.t.
15 Roy Curvers Giant-Alpecin s.t.
16 Linus Gerdemann Stölting @ 8sec
17 Maximiliano Richeze Etixx-Quick Step +11''
18 Lennard Kämna Stölting +13''
19 Zico Waeytens Giant-Alpecin +16''
20 Tony Martin Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
21 Bernhard Eisel Dimension Data +36''
22 Zakkari Dempster Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
23 Marcel Kittel Etixx-Quick Step +54''
24 Nikias Arndt Giant-Alpecin s.t.
25 Alexander Geuens Crelan-Vastgoedservice +1' 07''
26 Aaron Grosser Sauerland NRW s.t.
27 Max Walscheid Giant-Alpecin s.t.
28 Adrian Banaszek Verva ActiveJet s.t.
29 Dennis Coenen Crelan-Vastgoedservice s.t.
30 Patrick Haller Rad-Net Rose s.t.
31 Dylan Page Team Roth s.t.
32 Andrea Peron Novo Nordisk s.t.
33 Robert Müller Heizomat s.t.
34 Pascal Treubel Heizomat s.t.
35 Fabian Wegmann Stölting s.t.
36 Nikolay Mihaylov CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
37 Luca Henn Kuota-Lotto s.t.
38 Jirí Polnický Verva ActiveJet s.t.
39 Alexander Weifenbach Stölting s.t.
40 Timothy Stevens Crelan-Vastgoedservice s.t.
41 Grischa Janorschke Team Roth s.t.
42 Matthias Krizek Team Roth s.t.
43 Jonas Rapp Heizomat s.t.
44 Joonas Henttala Novo Nordisk s.t.
45 Nathan Müller Heizomat s.t.
46 Dries Van Gestel Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
47 Silvio Herklotz Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
48 Steele Von Hoff ONE Pro Cycling s.t.
49 Kristian House ONE Pro Cycling s.t.
50 Sven Reutter Stölting s.t.
51 Jan Tschernoster Rad-Net Rose s.t.
52 Frederik Frison Lotto - Soudal s.t.
53 Sander Helven Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
54 Jochem Hoekstra Giant-Alpecin s.t.
55 Bert De Backer Giant-Alpecin s.t.
56 Karol Domagalski ONE Pro Cycling s.t.
57 Jay Thomson Dimension Data s.t.
58 Andrea Pasqualon Team Roth +1' 15''
59 Fabio Sabatini Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
60 André Greipel Lotto - Soudal +1' 22''
61 Scott Thwaites Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
62 James Shaw Lotto - Soudal s.t.
63 Shane Archbold Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
64 Stijn Vandenbergh Etixx-Quick Step +1' 46''
65 Jonas Tenbrock Stölting +2' 06''
66 Michael Schwarzmann Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
67 Daniel Bichlmann Stradalli-Bike Aid +2' 10''
68 Frédérique Robert Crelan-Vastgoedservice +2' 18''
69 Daniel Westmattelmann Kuota-Lotto s.t.
70 Oscar Riesebeek Metec TKH s.t.
71 Mario Vogt Rad-Net Rose s.t.
72 David Boucher Crelan-Vastgoedservice s.t.
73 David Lozano Novo Nordisk s.t.
74 Martijn Verschoor Novo Nordisk s.t.
75 Samuel Williams ONE Pro Cycling s.t.
76 Kevin Demesmaeker Novo Nordisk s.t.
77 Stephen Clancy Novo Nordisk s.t.
78 Tom Stamsnijder Giant-Alpecin s.t.
79 Dorian Lübbers Heizomat s.t.
80 Matt Brammeier Dimension Data s.t.
81 Adrien Niyonshuti Dimension Data s.t.
82 Lukas Pöstlberger Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
83 Christian Koch LKT-Brandenburg s.t.
84 Fabian Schormaier LKT-Brandenburg s.t.
85 Jaco Venter Dimension Data s.t.
86 Nicolas Dougall Dimension Data s.t.
87 Songezo Jim Dimension Data s.t.
88 Marcin Mrozek CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
89 Jasper Hamelink Metec TKH s.t.
90 Georg Loef Christina Jewelry s.t.
91 Jasper De Buyst Lotto - Soudal s.t.
92 Raphael Freienstein Kuota-Lotto s.t.
93 Bartlomiej Matysiak CCC Sprandi Polkowice +2' 36''
94 Michal Podlaski Verva ActiveJet s.t.
95 Lander Seynaeve Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
96 Michael Goolaerts Lotto - Soudal s.t.
97 Leszek Plucinski CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
98 Gerry Druyts Crelan-Vastgoedservice s.t.
99 Kevin Deltombe Lotto - Soudal s.t.
100 Sjoerd Kouwenhoven Metec TKH s.t.
101 Thomas Koep Stölting s.t.
102 Ruben Pols Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
103 Marvin Kötting Sauerland NRW +3' 27''
104 Simon Redmers Heizomat s.t.
105 Joshua Huppertz Kuota-Lotto +4' 15''
106 Robert Kessler LKT-Brandenburg +4' 49''
107 Christopher Hatz Kuota-Lotto +5' 07''
108 Laurin Winter Heizomat s.t.
109 Jarno Gmelich Meijling Metec TKH s.t.
110 Florian Stork Sauerland NRW s.t.
111 Jonas Härtig Sauerland NRW +5' 41''
112 Kenny Dehaes Wanty-Groupe Gobert +6' 51''
113 Gert Dockx Lotto - Soudal s.t.
114 Tom Devriendt Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
115 Aimé De Gendt Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
116 Robert Retschke Kuota-Lotto s.t.
117 Jordi Van Dingenen Crelan-Vastgoedservice s.t.

Race map:

2016 Münsterland Giro map