BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2016 Japan Cup (HC) Results

25th edition: Sunday, October 23, 2016

Japan Cup podium history | 2015 edition | 2017 edition | Course map |

Sunday, October 23: Utsunomiya - Utsunomiya, Japan, 144.2 km

Davide Vaillilla

Davide Villella handily wins the 2016 Japan Cup

The Race: Here's the story from winner Davide Villella's Cannondale-Drapac team.

Olympics 50 Craziest Stories

A plan perfectly executed by Cannondale-Drapac delivered Davide Villella to his first professional victory at the Japan Cup Cycle Road Race in Utsunomiya on Sunday. Villella attacked on the steepest climb on the final lap of the 14-lap circuit race to solo across the line.

“I have missed a victory all season, so I’m really happy to get the win here today,” said Villella. “The teamwork – all of the teammates and all of the staff – was amazing. I want to say a very big thank you for the team that believed in me and helped me all the day,” Villella added. “We had a great group here, and I could not do it alone.”

Cannondale-Drapac lined up for the Japan Cup Cycle Road Race with a single objective and a clear pathway to achieve it. Sport director Eric van Lancker had tasked his team of five with putting one man in the early breakaway and keeping the rest of the team around Villella until the Italian would launch what was hoped to be the race-winning move. “We started with one leader in Villella because we knew he has really good shape,” said Van Lancker. “He’s trained well since Lombardia, where he came in fifth place. We wanted to bring him in good condition into the final.”

Matti Breschel flew the green argyle flag in the early breakaway, freeing up his teammates to focus exclusively on their team leader. The breakaway was caught with two laps (20km) still to race. The tough circuit had done damage, and only 25 riders remained in the peloton.

“The idea was that Villella would attack on the steep hill just past the finish line at the start of the last lap,” explained Van Lancker. “We wanted him to go full gas from the bottom. He couldn’t wait until the top. Attacking from the bottom would give him a bigger gap.”

“When I attacked, I thought: ‘This is how I can win this race’.” said Villella. “I felt sure if I attacked that I could win. I’m in really good shape at the end of my season.”

Villella’s confidence proved warranted. He summited the top of the climb with a 10-second advantage over six chasers, and he held his gap all the way to the line. The 25-year-old said the Japanese fans gave him extra motivation on his solo lap.

“I love the Japanese fans,” Villella said. “I’ve never seen anything like this in my life. They were crowded on the circuit, and they were so excited. It was really an amazing thing.”

Van Lancker expressed pride in his five-rider squad that closed out the season with the win. “Everything was planned, and everything we planned came out the way we planned it,” Van Lancker said. “It’s not often that it happens like this.”

“I have to say thank you to the entire team,” he added. “Not everyone is staying in the team for next year, and it’s not always evident that you can make a good team from a group where some are staying and some are leaving. Full credit to all five for doing an incredible job today and all the other days. I saw great teamwork, great cooperation and great morale bring us the win.”

Complete Results:

144.2 kilometers raced at an average speed of 38.2 km/hr

1 VILLELLA Davide Cannondale-Drapac 3hr 46min 4sec
2 JUUL JENSEN Christopher Orica-BikeExchange @ 6sec
3 POWER Robert Orica-BikeExchange +0'14"
4 MORI Manuele Lampre-Merida s.t.
5 PUJOL MUNOZ Oscar Team Ukyo s.t.
6 PETERS Alex Sky s.t.
7 PRADES Benjami Team Ukyo +0'17"
8 MEGIAS LEAL Javier Novo-Nordisk +0'43"
9 ARASHIRO Yukiya Lampre-Merida s.t.
10 ROSSKOPF Joseph BMC s.t.
11 BAYLY Cameron Attaque Team Gusto +0'45"
12 LEBAS Thomas Bridgestone-Anchor +0'48"
13 PHINNEY Taylor BMC +1'19"
14 HAYMAN Mathew Orica-BikeExchange s.t.
15 DE NEGRI Pier Paolo Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
16 HATSUYAMA Sho Bridgestone-Anchor s.t.
17 CRAWFORD Jai Kinan Cycling Team s.t.
18 MASUDA Nariyuki Utsunomiya-Blitzen s.t.
19 STUYVEN Jasper Trek-Segafredo s.t.
20 FILOSI Iuri Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
21 ARAQUE LORENTE Rodrigo Team Ukyo s.t.
22 QUINZIATO Manuel BMC s.t.
23 SKJERPING Kristoffer Cannondale-Drapac s.t.
24 PETILLI Simone Lampre-Merida s.t.
25 NISHIZONO Ryota Bridgestone-Anchor +1'32"
26 CATTANEO Mattia Lampre-Merida +2'35"
27 AMEZAWA Takeaki Utsunomiya-Blitzen +2'43"
28 HATANAKA Yusuke Team Ukyo +3'43"
29 NAKANE Hideto Japan +3'43"
30 SUZUKI Yuzuru Utsunomiya-Blitzen +3'47"
31 ISHIGAMI Masahiro Japan +3'54"
32 DE MESMAEKER Kevin Novo-Nordisk +4'25"
33 BEPPU Fumiyuki Trek-Segafredo s.t.
34 TORIBIO Jose Vicente Matrix-Powertag s.t.
35 SCHULTZ Nicholas Orica-BikeExchange s.t.
36 RAST Grégory Trek-Segafredo s.t.
37 CUNEGO Damiano Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
38 GARCIA Ricardo Kinan Cycling Team s.t.
39 GARCIA Marcos Kinan Cycling Team s.t.
40 ZANDIO ECHAIDE Xabier Sky s.t.
41 PLANET Charles Novo-Nordisk +7'25"
42 ONODERA Rei Utsunomiya-Blitzen +7'47"
43 UCHIMA Kohei Bridgestone-Anchor s.t.
44 YOSHIDA Hayato Matrix-Powertag s.t.
45 YOSHIOKA Naoya Nasu Blasen s.t.
46 DOI Yukihiro Matrix-Powertag s.t.
47 INOUE Kazuo Bridgestone-Anchor +10'00"
48 OKAMOTO Hayato Japan s.t.
49 ITO Masakazu Japan s.t.
50 LU Shao Hsuan Attaque Team Gusto s.t.
51 SUMIYOSHI Kota Team Ukyo s.t.
52 HORI Takaaki Utsunomiya-Blitzen +10'51"
53 KIMURA Keisuke Japan +12'03"

Course map:

Japan Cup map

2016 Japan Cup map