BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2014 Japan Cup (HC) Results

Japan Cup podium history | 2013 edition | 2015 edition

Sunday, October 19, 2014. Utsunomiya - Utsunomiya, Japan.

Tour of Flanders, the Inside Story

10 laps of 14.1 km + 10.3 km= 151.3 km total distance

The Race: More than 80,000 spectators lined the course at Utsunomiya today. In a tight photo-finish (I guess they all are), Australian Nathan Hass won the Japan Cup for a second time. Haas also won the race in 2011.

Four riders were away for much of the day, but they were caught during the final lap. A strong group counter-attacked, making for a 9-man uphill sprint, initiated by Grega Bole. Haas, Hagen and Bole threw their bikes across the line, but Haas prevailed.

Complete results:

Winner's average speed: 36.783 km/hr

1 Nathan Haas Garmin-Sharp 4:06:48
2 Edvald Boasson Hagen SKY
3 Grega Bole Vini Fantini-Nippo
4 Michael Valgren Andersen Tinkoff-Saxo
5 Julian David Arredondo Trek Factory Racing
6 Valerio Conti Lampre-Merida
7 Davide Formolo Cannondale
8 Moreno Moser Cannondale
9 Jan Polanc Lampre-Merida @ 5 seconds
10 Christopher Juul Jensen Tinkoff-Saxo 18"
11 Manuele Boaro Tinkoff-Saxo 25"
12 Daniel Martin Garmin-Sharp 38"
13 Thomas Lebas Bridgstone-Anchor 48"
14 Fumiyuki Beppu Trek Factory Racing
15 Nariyuki Masuda Utsunomiya-Blitzen
16 Steele Von Hoff Garmin-Sharp 56"
17 Christopher Sutton SKY
18 Ricardo Garcia Ambroa Team Ukyo
19 Bernard Sulzberger Drapac Professional Cycling
20 Paolo Longo Borghini Cannondale
21 Salvador Guardiola Tora Team Ukyo
22 Taiji Nishitani Aisan
23 Sho Hatsuyama Bridgstone-Anchor
24 Kohei Uchima Bridgstone-Anchor
25 Cristiano Salerno Cannondale
26 Yukiya Arashiro Europcar
27 Christophe Kern Europcar
28 Phillip Gaimon Garmin-Sharp +1:02
29 Damiano Cunego Lampre-Merida
30 Tomohiro Hayakawa Aisan
31 Miyataka Shimizu Bridgstone-Anchor +2:01
32 Jose Vicente Toribio Team Ukyo +3:11
33 Pier Paolo De Negri Vini Fantini-Nippo +3:55
34 Elia Favilli Lampre-Merida
35 Marco Marcato Cannondale
36 Hayden Roulston Trek Factory Racing
37 Bjorn Thurau Europcar +4:25
38 Yukihiro Doi Team Ukyo +4:37
39 Yusuke Hatanaka Shimano Racing Team +5:05
40 Ben Swift SKY +5:36
41 Takashi Miyazawa Vini Fantini-Nippo +5:46
42 Karsten Kroon Tinkoff-Saxo +5:48
43 Bernhard Eisel SKY
44 Atsushi Oka
45 Charles Planet Novo Nordisk
46 Javier Megias Leal Novo Nordisk +5:51
47 Kazuhiro Mori Aisan
48 Damien Monier Bridgstone-Anchor
49 Ryoma Nonaka Shimano Racing Team
50 Yoshimitsu Hiratsuka Aisan
51 Yuzuru Suzuki Utsunomiya-Blitzen
52 Wesley Sulzberger Drapac Professional Cycling
53 Lachlan Norris Drapac Professional Cycling
54 Darren Lapthorne Drapac Professional Cycling
55 Shun Yamamoto Team Ukyo +5:59
56 David Lozano Riba Novo Nordisk +6:36
57 Jack Anderson Drapac Professional Cycling
58 Masakazu Ito Aisan
59 Naoya Uchino
60 Shinri Suzuki Utsunomiya-Blitzen
61 Takayuki Abe Utsunomiya-Blitzen +6:57
62 Takaaki Hori Utsunomiya-Blitzen +9:45
63 Shotaro Iribe Shimano Racing Team +9:48
64 Manabu Ishibashi Vini Fantini-Nippo +10:40
65 Keisuke Kimura Shimano Racing Team +11:52
DNF Andrea Vaccher
DNF Hayato Yoshida Shimano Racing Team
DNF Ian Boswell SKY
DNF Rory Sutherland Tinkoff-Saxo
DNF Junya Sano
DNF Genki Yamamoto Vini Fantini-Nippo
DNF Yaroslav Popovych Trek Factory Racing
DNF Kevin De Mesmaeker Novo Nordisk
DNF Jeremy Cornu Europcar
DNF Tanzou Tokuda
DNF Suguru Tokuda
DNF Caleb Fairly Garmin-Sharp
DNF Jerome Cousin Europcar
DNF Joe Eldridge Novo Nordisk