BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2016 Giro del Piemonte/Gran Piemonte (HC), Italy

100th edition: Thursday, September 29, 2016

Giro del Piemonte podium history | 2015 edition | 2018 edition (race not held in 2017)| Race photos

Diano d'Alba - Aglié, 207 kilometers

Giacomo Nizzolo

Giacomo Nizzolo won the 100th edition of the Giro del Piemonte

The Race: Here's what the organizer said about the race:

Story of the Giro d'Italia volume 2

As a member of the Italian national team, national champion Giacomo Nizzolo showed his great form ahead of the World Championship as he outsprinted Fernando Gaviria and Daniele Bennati to claim the 100th edition of Gran Piemonte in Agliè. It was a very fast race with almost 100km covered in the first two hours. A 38-man front group rode a high tempo before France’s Stéphane Rossetto made a solo breakaway, only to be reined in with 3km to go.

Race winner Giacomo Nizzolo said: “As I woke up feeling unwell, I told [national coach Davide] Cassani that I’d see on the way if I’d be able to race properly or not. But after the initial hill, I felt great in the group of 38. The finale was a pretty technical sprint. I didn’t know the finish so I was close to crashing in the last curve. I’m happy especially because of the great feelings I’ve experienced all the way today. I couldn’t ask for more in my last race before the Worlds. To win such a fast race against rivals of such a high level is fantastic. With the national champion jersey as a member of the national team it’s even better.”

Complete Results:

Race photos

207 kilometers raced at an average speed of 46.806 km/hr

1 NIZZOLO Giacomo Italy 4hr 25min 21sec
2 GAVIRIA Fernando Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
3 BENNATI Daniele Tinkoff s.t.
4 LOBATO Juan José Movistar s.t.
5 COLBRELLI Sonny Bardiani-CSF s.t.
6 GILBERT Philippe BMC s.t.
7 SWIFT Ben Sky s.t.
8 STYBAR Zdenek Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
9 POZZATO Filippo Wilier Triestina-Southeast s.t.
10 BETTIOL Alberto Cannondale-Drapac s.t.
11 HARDY Romain Cofidis s.t.
12 MORI Manuele Lampre-Merida s.t.
13 SKJERPING Kristoffer Cannondale-Drapac s.t.
14 BAKELANDTS Jan Ag2r s.t.
15 MATE Luis Angel Cofidis s.t.
16 PATERSKI Maciej CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
17 MADRAZO RUIZ Angel Caja Rural s.t.
18 PETILLI Simone Lampre-Merida s.t.
19 MACHADO Tiago Jose Katusha s.t.
20 MOLARD Rudy Cofidis @ 6sec
21 IRISARRI RINCON Jon Caja Rural s.t.
22 GOGL Michael Tinkoff 0'09"
23 SLAGTER Tom Jelte Cannondale-Drapac 0'12"
24 ARCAS PENA Jorge Movistar 0'19"
25 CARAPAZ Ric Movistar s.t.
26 TALIANI Alessio Androni Giocattoli 0'21"
27 BARBIN Enrico Bardiani-CSF s.t.
28 CASTROVIEJO Jonathan Movistar s.t.
29 DURASEK Kristijan Lampre-Merida 0'25"
30 ARROYO David Caja Rural 0'29"
31 CATTANEO Mattia Lampre-Merida s.t.
32 CUNEGO Damiano Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
33 FELLINE Fabio Italy 0'36"
34 CARUSO Damiano BMC 0'40"
35 ROSSETTO Stéphane Cofidis 1'02"
36 SKUJINS Toms Cannondale-Drapac 1'12"
37 SERRY Pieter Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
38 GAVAZZI Francesco Androni Giocattoli 1'23"
39 VELASCO Simone Bardiani-CSF 2'24"
40 KOLOBNEV Alexandr Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
41 ROCHAS Rémy Ag2r s.t.
42 FEDI Andrea Wilier Triestina-Southeast s.t.
43 FORTUNATO Lorenzo Tinkoff s.t.
44 PRADES Eduard Caja Rural 2'26"
45 BIZHIGITOV Zhandos Astana s.t.
46 PONZI Simone CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
47 NARDIN Alberto Androni Giocattoli s.t.
48 VENTOSO Francisco Movistar s.t.
49 BALLERINI Davide Tinkoff s.t.
50 OWSIAN Lukasz CCC Sprandi Polkowice" s.t.
51 SOLOMENNIKOV Andrey Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
52 BOLE Grega Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
53 SAMOILAU Branislau CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
54 SCHÄR Michael BMC s.t.
55 TRENTIN Matteo Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
56 POLANC Jan Lampre-Merida s.t.
57 BONO Matteo Lampre-Merida s.t.
58 KOCHETKOV Pavel Katusha s.t.
59 DE LA PARTE Victor CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
60 MONTAGUTI Matteo Ag2r s.t.
61 AMADOR Andrey Movistar s.t.
62 MAESTRI Mirco Bardiani-CSF s.t.
63 BETANCUR Carlos Movistar s.t.
64 DEIGNAN Philip Sky s.t.
65 JEANNESSON Arnold Cofidis s.t.
66 CONSONNI Simone Italy s.t.
67 GANNA Filippo Italy s.t.
68 GROSU Eduard Michael Nippo-Vini Fantini 6'16"
69 BONNAFOND Guillaume Ag2r s.t.
70 VANOTTI Alessandro Astana s.t.
71 BOOKWALTER Brent BMC s.t.
72 DRUCKER Jempy BMC s.t.
73 ANDRIATO Rafael Wilier Triestina-Southeast 8'15"
74 BELLETTI Manuel Wilier Triestina-Southeast s.t.
75 ZHUPA Eugert Wilier Triestina-Southeast s.t.
76 SIMION Paolo Bardiani-CSF s.t.
77 VIVIANI Elia Sky s.t.
78 MINALI Riccardo Italy s.t.
79 RUFFONI Nicola Bardiani-CSF s.t.
80 SABATINI Fabio Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
81 KOREN Kristjan Cannondale-Drapac s.t.
82 MARANGONI Alan Cannondale-Drapac s.t.
83 SAGAN Juraj Tinkoff s.t.
84 RATTO Daniele Androni Giocattoli s.t.
85 COLEDAN Marco Italy s.t.
86 VILELA Ricardo Caja Rural s.t.
87 BRESCIANI Michael Italy s.t.
88 CARDOSO Fernando Cannondale-Drapac s.t.
89 BRESCHEL Matti Cannondale-Drapac s.t.
90 DOMONT Axel Ag2r s.t.
91 RICHEZE Maximiliano Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
92 VICIOSO Angel Katusha s.t.
93 LOSADA Alberto Katusha s.t.
94 AFFINI Edoardo Italy s.t.
95 KIRYIENKA Vasil Sky s.t.
96 PARDILLA Sergio Caja Rural s.t.
97 BURGHARDT Marcus BMC 8'36"
98 COUSIN Jerome Cofidis 16'38"
99 PEREZ Anthony Cofidis s.t.
100 BOARO Manuele Tinkoff s.t.
101 TOSATTO Matteo Tinkoff s.t.
102 BANDIERA Marco Androni Giocattoli s.t.
103 ZABEL Rick BMC s.t.
104 FARIA Rui Alberto Lampre-Merida s.t.
105 GODOY Yonder Wilier Triestina-Southeast s.t.
106 BERTAZZO Liam Wilier Triestina-Southeast s.t.
107 SZMYD Sylvester CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
108 ERSHOV Artur Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
109 NIKOLAEV Sergey Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
110 MROZEK Marcin CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
111 MAIKIN Roman Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
112 BOEV Igor Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
113 TAARAMAE Rein Katusha s.t.
114 SILIN Egor Katusha s.t.
115 KOZONCHUK Dmitriy Katusha s.t.
116 BILBAO Pello Caja Rural s.t.
117 STANNARD Ian Sky s.t.
118 COSNEFROY Benoit Ag2r s.t.

2016 Giro del Piemonte photos by Fotoreporter Sirotti:

Stage finish

They're coming to the line and Giacomo Nizzolo looks to have the race won

Giacomo Nizzolo

And indeed, Nizzolo nails it

Gaviria and Bennati

Fernando Gaviria was just a little behind Nizzolo

Ben Swift

Ben Swift of Sky was 7th

Tom Jelt Slagter

Tom Jelte Slagter finishes

Giacomo Nizzolo

Nizzolo is congratulated

Bennati and Gaviria

Daniele Bennati (Tinkoff) and Gaviria just after the race

Giacomo Nizzolo

Race winner Giacomo Nizzolo


The podium, from left: Fernando Gaviria (2nd), Giacomo Nizzolo and Daniele Bennati (3rd)