BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2021 Circuito de Getxo (1.1), Spain

76th edition: Sunday, August 1, 2021

Circuito de Getxo podium history | 2020 edition | 2022 Edition

Getxo-Getxo; 7 laps totalling 193.5 kilometers

Giacomo Nizzolo

Giacomo Nizzolo finishes well ahead of Giovanni Aleotti and Santiago Buitrago. Gomez Sport photo

Weather at the start/finish city of Getxo at 2:35 PM, local time: 22C (70F), partly cloudy, with the wind from the northwest at 14 km/hr (9 mph). There is a 3% chace of rain.

The race: Here's the report from winner Giacomo Nizzolo's Qhubeka-NextHash team.

Giacomo Nizzolo won the Circuito de Gexto – Memorial Hermanos Otxoa, sprinting to the victory from a small breakaway group. Giovanni Aleotti (Bora-Hansgrohe) finished 2nd and Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain-Victorious) was 3rd.

The UCI 1.1 Circuito de Gexto saw riders take on 6 laps of an undulating circuit between Bilbao and Gexto, before completing a larger finishing circuit that included the the tough final climb of Pike Bidea, for a total race distance of 194km.

Team Qhubeka NextHash had last year’s second place finisher, Giacomo Nizzolo, targeting the top step of the podium today and so our South African UCI World Tour team rallied around the European champion throughout the race.

The race got off to a very fast start with numerous attacks and the pace was so high that it took almost 90km before any break finally got a significant gap. 11 strong riders had gone off the front and so Team Qhubeka NextHash, together with Caja-Rural and Bora-Hansgrohe took up the chase.

With around 55km to go, the pressure was really on to bring the leaders back and as a result, there was a split at the head of the peloton as 12 riders went off in pursuit of the early leaders. Team Qhubeka NextHash had both Nizzolo and Carlos Barbero in this select chase group.

Barbero would go on to play a pivotal support role for Nizzolo, all the way up to the final climb of Pike Bidea at 15km to go, as he worked hard to ensure the breakaway was caught before the climb.

On the climb it was then up to Nizzolo to try and follow the climbers as they began attacking on the steep slopes. The Italian sprinter held his own and did a fantastic climb, to summit in 5th place, just 15″ behind the front riders. He was then able to bridge across to the lead on the descent, setting up an exciting finale.

Bora-Hansgrohe had a numbers advantage in the group that was now reduced to just 7 riders. Nizzolo had to follow a stinging attack from Ide Schelling with 6km to go, but was successful in doing so and this set up a sprint finish between Nizzolo, Buitrago and the team mates of Aleotti and Schelling.

Nizzolo was too strong in the final kick for the other 3 riders and with 150m to go, he powered away to take a fine victory for Team Qhubeka NextHash. Barbero also managed to come home in a respectable 11th place, making it a great day for the team all round.

Complete Results:

193.5 kilometers raced at an average speed of 45.998 km/hr

1 Giacomo Nizzolo Qhubeka-NextHash 4hr 12min 24sec
2 Giovanni Aleotti Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
3 Santiago Buitrago Bahrain Victorious s.t.
4 Abner Gonzalez Movistar @ 12sec
5 Ide Schelling Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
6 Giulio Ciccone Trek-Segafredo s.t.
7 Alessandro Covi UAE Team Emirates 0:54
8 Luis Sanchez Astana-Premier Tech 1:04
9 Matteo Trentin UAE Team Emirates s.t.
10 Antonio Soto Euskaltel-Euskadi 1:26
11 Carlos Barbero Qhubeka-NextHash 2:50
12 Jose Herrada Cofidis 2:54
13 Vincenzo Albanese Eolo-Kometa 2:56
14 Juan Lopez Trek-Segafredo 3:05
15 Juri Hollmann Movistar 3:07
16 Juan Ayuso UAE Team Emirates s.t.
17 Juan Lobato Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
18 Fernando Barcelo Cofidis 3:10
19 Michal Paluta Global 6 Cycling s.t.
20 Francisco Galvan Kern Pharma 3:11
21 Jetse Bol Burgos-BH s.t.
22 Diego Ulissi UAE Team Emirates s.t.
23 Jordi Lopez Kern Pharma s.t.
24 Alex Jaime Kern Pharma s.t.
25 Domen Novak Bahrain Victorious 3:14
26 Juan Alba Movistar s.t.
27 Antonio Angulo Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
28 Antoine Berlin Global 6 Cycling s.t.
29 Alejandro Ropero Eolo-Kometa s.t.
30 Oscar Rodríguez Astana-Premier Tech s.t.
31 Miguel Florez Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
32 Einer Rubio Movistar 3:18
33 José Gutiérrez Gios 3:20
34 Patrick Gamper Bora-hansgrohe 3:27
35 Xavier Canellas Gios 3:29
36 Rodrigo Contreras Astana-Premier Tech 3:31
37 Julien Simon TotalEnergies 3:48
38 Mathias Norsgaard Movistar 3:59
39 Patrick Konrad Bora-hansgrohe 4:07
40 Wilco Kelderman Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
41 Matej Mohoric Bahrain Victorious s.t.
42 Marcos Jurado Electro Hiper Europa 5:05
43 Victor Martinez Electro Hiper Europa s.t.
44 Ollie Jones Global 6 Cycling s.t.
45 Isaac Canton Burgos-BH s.t.
46 Willie Smit Burgos-BH s.t.
47 David Lozano Novo Nordisk s.t.
48 Arturo Gravalos Eolo-Kometa 5:10
49 Sander Armee Qhubeka-NextHash s.t.
50 Kevin Ledanois Arkéa-Samsic 5:14
51 Miguel Ballesteros Electro Hiper Europa s.t.
52 Kevin Inkelaar Bahrain Victorious s.t.
53 Francesco Gavazzi Eolo-Kometa 5:19
54 Marton Dina Eolo-Kometa s.t.
55 Johan Jacobs Movistar 5:33
56 Jon Barrenetxea Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 5:36
57 Jon Aberasturi Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
58 Gianluca Brambilla Trek-Segafredo 5:48
59 Jokin Murguialday Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 5:52
60 Dayer Quintana Arkéa-Samsic 7:31
61 Cesare Benedetti Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
62 Orluis Aular Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 7:54
63 Jonathan Lastra Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
64 Fabien Grellier TotalEnergies 8:58
65 Thomas Armstrong Electro Hiper Europa 9:19
66 Axel Zingle Cofidis s.t.
67 Julen Irizar Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
68 Danny van der Tuuk Kern Pharma 9:37
69 Matteo Fabbro Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
70 Juan Lopez-Cozar Burgos-BH 11:26
71 Felipe Orts Burgos-BH s.t.
72 Alex Molenaar Burgos-BH s.t.
73 Lluis Mas Movistar 14:16
74 Christopher Lawless TotalEnergies 14:28
75 Nathan Haas Cofidis s.t.
76 Charlie Quarterman Trek-Segafredo s.t.
77 Dylan Sunderland Qhubeka-NextHash s.t.
78 Daniel Viegas Eolo-Kometa s.t.
79 Stephen Williams Bahrain Victorious s.t.
80 Ibon Ruiz Kern Pharma s.t.
81 Andreas Miltiadis Gios s.t.
82 Antonio Nibali Trek-Segafredo s.t.
83 Carlos Garcia Kern Pharma s.t.
84 Thomas Boudat Arkéa-Samsic s.t.