BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2017 Circuito de Getxo (1.1), Spain

72nd edition: Monday, July 31, 2017

17th Memorial Ricardo Otxoa

Circuito de Getxo podium history | 2016 edition | 2018 edition

Getxo - Getxo; 10 laps of 17 km = 170 km

Carlos Barbero

Carlos Barbero wins a rainy race

The race: Here's the story from winner Carlos Barbero's Movistar team.

Under insistent rain which made the race even harder, Carlos Barbero (Movistar Team) got back to winning ways and improved his already solid 2017 palmarès with a second career victory in the Circuito de Getxo, whose 72nd edition covered the classic, 10-lap, 170km circuit around the 'wall' of Arkotxa, next to the coast of Biscay in the Basque Country.

The Blues' work over the whole morning was flawless. Carretero, Arcas and Carapaz made it into an original, 13-man breakaway which ended up becoming the decisive group, the wear and tear of the race and the huge pace behind creating a group of 40 riders with all eight Movistar Team members. From that moment on, the squad directed by Pablo Lastras set its sights on protecting their leader.

Despite a strong attempt in the finale by Lluis Mas (CJR) and Daniel Díaz (DMP), the Movistar Team drove the selected bunch at high speed through the final lap and led Barbero out for the win, two seconds ahead of Ángel Madrazo (DMP, 2nd) and four over José Herrada, who took 3rd and repeated his result from 2016. This win also means that Eusebio Unzué's team has got 30+ wins for five years on a row, their current streak from 2013 being 32-34-32-36.

Carlos Barbero: "There was a break in the beginning, which we kept under control with Héctor, Arcas and Carapaz, and then the bunch split into one of the early laps. We were lucky enough to be all of us inside that pursuit group, so we chose to keep pushing, catch the break and carry on until the finish. My team-mates kept everything under control to avoid the race becoming as crazy as it was last season. Our main goal was reaching the sprint together. Everyone did a phenomenal job and I want to thank them for that. The team had a very clear idea in mind about racing for me, they relied on what I could do and fortunately I could deliver. At the finish Madrazo launched an early acceleration, I just followed his wheel and sought for my sprinting distance to finish things off.

"I've spent the whole month of July in Sierra Nevada, training in altitude to reach my late-season goals in good shape, especially the Vuelta a Burgos from tomorrow. It's my home race, one that I really like, and riding on known roads and with your close ones near you is a huge boost. Let's see what the team chooses for me up next - whatever it is, I'll do my best.

"I want to dedicate this victory to Alejandro Valverde. We really miss him a lot. Let's hope he's back soon. He's a reference for the whole team and his absence is a huge blow for all of us."

Complete Results:

170 kilometers raced at an average speed of 43.758 km/hr

1 BARBERO Carlos Movistar 3hr 53min 6sec
2 MADRAZO Ángel Delko Marseille Provence 2sec
3 HERRADA LOPEZ José Movistar 4sec
4 FERNÁNDEZ Egoitz Team Ukyo s.t.
5 SPRENGERS Thomas Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
6 REYES Aldemar Manzana Postobon s.t.
7 LIETAER Eliot Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
8 DE GENDT Aimé Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise 6sec
9 SALAS Ibai Burgos BH 8sec
10 PRADES Benjamín Team Ukyo s.t.
11 NOPPE Christophe Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise 14sec
12 CARAPAZ Richard Movistar 18sec
13 PELEGRÍ Óscar Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
14 GONZÁLEZ Adrián Euskadi Basque Country 23sec
15 BOHORQUEZ Hernando Manzana Postobon s.t.
16 BIZKARRA Mikel Euskadi Basque Country 27sec
17 AGUIRRE Hernan Ricardo Manzana Postobon 30sec
18 LEVASSEUR Jordan Armee de Terre 36sec
19 POULHIES Stéphane Armee de Terre 51sec
20 SÁEZ BENITO Hector Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 59sec
21 ARROYO DURAN David Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 1min 5sec
22 CASTROVIEJO Jonathan Movistar 1min 7sec
23 ARCAS PEÑA Jorge Movistar s.t.
24 MAS BONET Luis Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
25 JARRIER Benoit Fortuneo-Vital Concept 1min 15sec
26 FONSECA Armindo Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
27 LEBRETON Kevin Armee de Terre 1min 33sec
28 ARISTI GARDOKI Mikel Delko Marseille Provence 1min 37sec
29 GOMEZ Antonio 1min 38sec
30 GAUDIN Damien Armee de Terre 1min 50sec
31 GUARDIOLA Salvador Team Ukyo 2min 13sec
32 GUYOT Yann Armee de Terre 2min 17sec
33 UDONDO Gotzon Euskadi Basque Country 2min 30sec
34 SMUKULIS Gatis Delko Marseille Provence 6min 49sec
35 DIAZ Daniel Delko Marseille Provence s.t.
36 WALLAYS Jens Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise 7min 30sec
37 JEANNESSON Arnold Fortuneo-Vital Concept 9min 2sec
38 MRAOUNI Salaheddine s.t.
39 OSORIO Juan Felipe Manzana Postobon 11min 4sec
40 VILELA Ricardo Manzana Postobon s.t.
41 VIEJO REDONDO José Daniel Unieuro Trevigliani 12min 16sec
42 RODRIGUEZ John Anderson Delko Marseille Provence s.t.
43 MALATETXEBARRIA Oskar Massi-Kuwait s.t.
44 RAVANELLI Simone Unieuro Trevigliani s.t.
45 VIEL Mattia Unieuro Trevigliani s.t.
46 CASENY CATALA Ruben Massi-Kuwait s.t.
47 NUÑEZ Jose Carlos Dare Viator Partizan s.t.
48 HATANAKA Yusuke Team Ukyo s.t.
49 BOU Joan Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
50 FERRER Jorge Massi-Kuwait s.t.
51 FARAZIJN Maxime Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
52 MOLTENI Marco Unieuro Trevigliani s.t.
53 GUTIERREZ José Manuel s.t.
54 GEBREMEDHIN Awet s.t.
55 TOKUDA Suguru Team Ukyo s.t.
56 SUAZA ARANGO Bernardo Manzana Postobon s.t.
57 OLABERRIA Pello Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
58 BOYS Matt s.t.
59 ORJUELA Fernando Manzana Postobon s.t.
60 BOL Jetse Manzana Postobon s.t.
61 VEGA MERODIO Sergio Unieuro Trevigliani s.t.
62 JURADO RODRIGUEZ Marcos Burgos BH s.t.
63 SCHULTZ Nicholas Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
64 RODRIGUEZ Óscar Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
65 GONZÁLEZ PRIETO Aitor Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
66 QUIROZ Oscar Adalberto Burgos BH s.t.
67 FLAUTT Oliver Massi-Kuwait s.t.
68 NISHIMURA Hiroki Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
69 TXOPERENA Beñat Euskadi Basque Country 12min 25sec
70 DE NEGRI Pier Paolo Nippo-Vini Fantini 12min 27sec
71 FINETTO Mauro Delko Marseille Provence s.t.
72 LINARES Óscar Burgos BH s.t.
73 KOBAYASHI Marino Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
74 CABANAS QUINTELA Oscar Massi-Kuwait 12min 31sec
75 BARRENETXEA Ander Euskadi Basque Country 12min 47sec