BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: it started with a freckle Cycles BiKyle Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2016 Circuito de Getxo (1.1), Spain

71st edition: Sunday, July 31, 2016

16th Memorial Ricardo Otxoa

Circuito de Getxo podium history | 2015 edition | 2017 edition

Getxo - Getxo; 10 laps of 17 km = 170 km

Diego Ulissi

Diego Ulissi wins 2016 Circuito de Getxo

The race: Here's the report from winner Diego Ulissi's Lampre-Merida team.

Diego Ulissi won the Circuito de Getxo "Memorial Ricardo Otxoa", obtaining his first career victory in Spain and giving Lampre-Merida its 13th success this season.

The Tuscan rider preceded Simon Yates, Herrada and Madrazo at the end of the 170 km course (10 laps of a circuit of 17 km of distance).

The overpowering sprint of Ulissi on the short hill to the arrival completed a perfect performance by Lampre-Merida's riders, who were impressive during the race even if Pibernik could not be completely competitive because of a crash in which he got involved in the early kilometers of the race.

The team of the sports director Marzano was represented by Mario Costa in the first breakaway of the race, when 11 riders led the competition in the early 100 km.

Twenty kilometers after the peloton had bridged the gap to the first breakaway, 16 riders went clear: in this group there were three blue-fuchsia-green cyclists, Ulissi, Bono and Mori.

The bunch could not reach them and the riders leading the race could approach the final lap being aware that they will battle for the victory. Exploiting the support of his team mates, Ulissi could manage his strength in the best way and he obtained his 4th seasonal success. Mori was 11th, Bono 16th.

"My fitness is good and, thanks to the support from my team mates, I succeeded in exploiting the good feelings I had today" - Ulissi explained – "In the first part of the course I pedaled in the bunch, saving energy, then I joined the decisive attack and it was very important that I had the presence of Mori and Bono in this breakaway. The final kilometer was very suitable for my characteristics, I could not fail to win".

Complete Results:

170 kilometers raced at an average speed of 42.725 km/hr

1 Ulissi, Diego Lampre-Merida 3hr 58min 44sec
2 Yates, Simon Orica-BikeExchange @ 1sec
3 Herrada, José Movistar s.t.
4 Madrazo, Ángel Caja Rural-Seguros RGA + 00' 05''
5 Bilbao, Pello Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
6 Torres, Pablo Burgos-BH s.t.
7 Soler, Marc Movistar + 00' 08''
8 Aranburu, Alex Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
9 Zamparella, Marco Amore & Vita-Selle SMP + 00' 12''
10 Pedrero, Antonio Movistar + 00' 13''
11 Mori, Manuele Lampre-Merida + 00' 28''
12 Galarreta, David Amore & Vita-Selle SMP + 00' 38''
13 Lopez, Daniel Burgos-BH s.t.
14 Txurruka, Amets Orica-BikeExchange + 00' 40''
15 Arcas, Jorge Movistar + 00' 59''
16 Bono, Matteo Lampre-Merida + 01' 09''
17 Hernández, Oscar Massi-Kuwait Cycling + 10' 02''
18 Salas, Ibai Burgos-BH + 10' 04''
19 González, Adrian Euskadi Basque Country + 10' 07''
20 Sole, Arnau Burgos-BH + 10' 09''
21 Lizarralde, Eneko Euskadi Basque Country + 10' 18''
22 Cubero, Jorge Burgos-BH + 10' 20''
23 Hishinuma, Yukinori Amore & Vita-Selle SMP + 10' 23''
24 Halilaj, Redi Amore & Vita-Selle SMP s.t.
25 Caseny, Rubén Massi-Kuwait Cycling + 10' 25''
26 Fernández, Rubén Movistar + 10' 30''
27 Barbero, Carlos Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
28 Ventoso, Francisco Movistar s.t.
29 Haig, Jack Orica-BikeExchange s.t.
30 Robredo, Álvaro Burgos-BH s.t.
31 Iturria, Mikel Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
32 Estévez, Imanol Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
33 Lorente, Carlos Dare Gobik s.t.
34 Koshevoy, Ilia Lampre-Merida s.t.
35 Bizkarra, Mikel Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
36 Moreno, Daniel Movistar s.t.
37 Vilanova, Marc Massi-Kuwait Cycling + 10' 36''
38 Lunardon, Paolo Amore & Vita-Selle SMP s.t.
39 Arroyo, David Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
40 Costa, Mário Lampre-Merida + 10' 38''
41 Valero, Javier Dare Gobik + 11' 13''
42 Lobato, Juan José Movistar + 11' 17''
43 Pibernik, Luka Lampre-Merida s.t.
44 Mezgec, Luka Orica-BikeExchange s.t.