BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Tour de France volume one Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2021 Tour du Finistère (1.1), France

35th Edition: Saturday, May 22, 2021

Tour du Finistère podium history | 2019 edition (2020 edition not run)

Saint Evarzec - Quimper, 196.3 km

Boit Cosnefroy

Could it be any closer? Benoît Cosnefroy (left) just beats Sean De Bie.

Weather at the finish city of Quimper at 1:50 PM, local time: 12C (54F), raining, with the wind from the west at 21 km/hr (13 mph).

The race: Here's the report from second-place Sean De Bie's Bingoal-WB team.

Sean De Bie concluded the work of the Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB team at the Tour du Finistère by placing 2nd, a few inches from the French winner Benoît Cosnefroy. The Breton day of our riders was marked by the work done by the young people of the development group, Gil Gelders , who was making his first race in the pro peloton, and Louis Blouwe.

Gil, who took part in the long breakaway of the day, won the prize for combativeness of the Tour du Finistère (photo) . Louis, who jumped into a block in the 2nd part of the race, allowed the team not to be discovered in the peloton. Sean de Bie had not been on a podium since 2018. His career in 2021 shows that he is approaching his best level.

Sean De Bie. “We had a great day in Brittany. We had done a reconnaissance of the course on Friday and it was a good thing because the layout of the Breton race is not easy. We first saw our young Gil Gelders (18), from the development pole, quickly take the breakaway. It was a long day for him but he took it up front. Then, we saw Louis Blouwe start against with two other riders. It was a very good thing for the team because we did not have to take the race on our own in the peloton.

"Personally, I was confident before the race because I have the condition and the course of the race suits me perfectly, with a hill finish. However, I lost a little confidence before the last lap of the local circuit because, even if it was going fast, the peloton was still large. But things settled down in the penultimate passage of the finish hill where we saw many riders let go. So I regained my confidence on the last lap. In the final, I used my experience: I knew I had to start the sprint in the group that came for the win. But Benoît Cosnefroy launched for 250 meters first, I started my sprint straight away, I tried to get it back up but I failed for a few centimeters. I'm still happy with my 2nd place. I feel like I have come very close to my best. I have shown beautiful things in Turkey and Hungary; notably as a pilot of our sprinters Stanislaw Aniolkowski and Timothy Dupont. I know that a runner like me doesn't have a lot of chances to make a result, a lot of races coming up with a massive sprint. So I try to take every opportunity and the Tour du Finistère suits me well in this perspective.

"I had tendonitis problems in my left knee in the first part of spring. I took the time to take care of this. I knew, since last year, that I was on the right track after my serious fall in training in the spring of 2019, so I regained all my confidence in my means. See you at the Middle Loops and Dwars door het Hageland! " See you at the Middle Loops and Dwars door het Hageland! " See you at the Middle Loops and Dwars door het Hageland! "

Complete Results:

196.3 kilometers raced at an average speed of 39.429 km/hr

1 COSNEFROY Benoît Ag2r-Citroën 4hr 58min 43sec
2 DE BIE Sean Bingoal-WB s.t.
3 TILLER Rasmus Uno-X s.t.
4 VUILLERMOZ Alexis Total Direct Energie s.t.
5 PLANCKAERT Baptiste Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
6 SIMON Julien Total Direct Energie s.t.
7 HARDY Romain Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
8 HIVERT Jonathan B&B Hotels s.t.
9 BARTHE Cyril B&B Hotels s.t.
10 TOUZE Damien Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
11 CARDIS Romain St Michel-Auber 93 @ 3sec
12 LIENHARD Fabian Groupama-FDJ s.t.
13 COQUARD Bryan B&B Hotels s.t.
14 FERRON Valentin Total Direct Energie s.t.
15 ROTA Lorenzo Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
16 JENSEN August Delko s.t.
17 MORIN Emmanuel Cofidis s.t.
18 BURGAUDEAU Mathieu Total Direct Energie s.t.
19 GODON Dorian Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
20 GOEMAN Andreas Tarteletto-Isorex 0:14
21 ALLEGAERT Piet Cofidis s.t.
22 COTE Pier-André Rally Cycling s.t.
23 BONNAMOUR Franck B&B Hotels s.t.
24 TEUGELS Lennert Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
25 GRELLIER Fabien Total Direct Energie s.t.
26 URRUTY Maxime Xelliss-Roubaix Lille Métropole s.t.
27 FEDELI Alessandro Delko s.t.
28 MARCHAND Gianni Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
29 PICHON Laurent Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
30 FERASSE Thibault B&B Hotels s.t.
31 FINÉ Eddy Cofidis 0:19
32 TRARIEUX Julien Delko s.t.
33 DELETTRE Alexandre Delko s.t.
34 LEVEAU Jérémy Xelliss-Roubaix Lille Métropole s.t.
35 LE GAC Olivier Groupama-FDJ s.t.
36 LIETAER Eliot B&B Hotels 0:22
37 PAQUOT Tom Bingoal-WB 0:24
38 VAN MELSEN Kévin Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert 0:28
39 PAASSCHENS Mathijs Bingoal-WB s.t.
40 MEENS Johan Bingoal-WB s.t.
41 SKAARSETH Anders Uno-X 0:41
42 MADOUAS Valentin Groupama-FDJ s.t.
43 FINETTO Mauro Delko 0:46
44 RUSSO Clément Arkéa-Samsic 0:52
45 LEDANOIS Kévin Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
46 BACKAERT Frederik B&B Hotels s.t.
47 DE PLUS Jasper Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
48 RESELL Erik Uno-X 1:01
49 DAL-CIN Matteo Rally Cycling s.t.
50 WALLAYS Jelle Cofidis s.t.
51 GELDERS Gil Bingoal-WB s.t.
52 LEROUX Samuel Xelliss-Roubaix Lille Métropole s.t.
53 WAERSTED Syver Uno-X 1:11
54 RIOU Alan Arkéa-Samsic 1:16
55 DEWULF Stan Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
56 VENTURINI Clément Ag2r-Citroën 1:43
57 HVIDEBERG Jonas Uno-X 1:44
58 WAERENSKJOLD Soren Uno-X s.t.
59 HAAS Nathan Cofidis 1:48
60 CENTRONE Ivan Xelliss-Roubaix Lille Métropole 1:54
61 PAJUR Markus Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
62 SKAARSETH Iver Uno-X 1:56
63 LIVYNS Arjen Bingoal-WB 2:37
64 MAURELET Flavien St Michel-Auber 93 2:47
65 DELACROIX Theo Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert 3:56
66 DE VOS Adam Rally Cycling 4:34
67 ZUKOWSKY Nickolas Rally Cycling s.t.
68 ROSSETTO Stéphane St Michel-Auber 93 s.t.
69 CARISEY Clément Delko s.t.
70 JULLIEN Anthony Ag2r-Citroën 4:42
71 DAVY Clément Groupama-FDJ s.t.
72 STEWART Jake Groupama-FDJ 5:24
73 MALDONADO Anthony St Michel-Auber 93 5:52
74 VAN NIEKERK Morne St Michel-Auber 93 s.t.
75 BLOUWE Louis Bingoal-WB 8:51
76 LAWLESS Chris Total Direct Energie 13:27