BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2017 Eschborn-Frankfurt:
Rund um den Finanzplatz (WorldTour), Germany

56th Edition: Monday, May 1, 2017

Eschborn-Frankfurt podium history | 2016 edition | 2018 edition | Race map

Eschborn - Frankfurt, 218.7 km

Alexander Kristoff

Alexander Kristoff gets another big one

The race: Here's the story from winner Alexander Kristoff's Katusha-Alpecin team.

Cold, wet weather did nothing to dampen the team spirit on full display from Team Katusha-Alpecin at the 55th Eschborn-Frankfurt ‘Rund um den Finanzplatz' on Monday as team leader Alexander Kristoff and key lead-out man Rick Zabel went 1-2 on the finish line. It was the third time Kristoff earned top honors in the German race, defending his 2016 and 2014 titles.

“I was a little bit dropped on the last climb but I had a strong team around me to pull me back. Without them I would have had no chance. We came back just before the laps and Rick was guiding me through the corners at the end and he did a perfect lead out for me and ended up second himself. Luckily he was my teammate in those last few k’s because otherwise I think he would have won the race! Earlier Tony Martin and Angel Vicioso and also team Bora Hansgrohe were working with us. Then at the end Nils Politt and Zabel took over. It was a big team effort to get back on the front that enabled me to sprint for the victory. We are really happy and it was a great performance,” said Alexander Kristoff.

The winning time of 5:29:33 (39.818 km/h) on the 218.7k course from Eschborn to Frankfurt was 1-second ahead of Zabel and two-seconds ahead of third place finisher John Degenkolb of Trek-Segafredo. The victory marked the seventh team win of the season and 6th personal win for Alexander Kristoff.

Rick Zabel, 23, put up a strong performance throughout the day, using his superior bike handling skills to move through the tricky, wet corners and keep Kristoff safely near the front. His hard work rewarded him with a second place finish.

“This was a great day. I am really happy with how the team did today and mine and Alex’s performances. Second in a WorldTour race is also super, a very good result for me. It was a great day for us and we can be super happy,” said Rick Zabel.

“This was the coldest one I can remember. It was quite cold with the rain all day. I took off my jacket and rode the last three laps without it, but I was regretting it the whole way. It was very cold today, but the same guys as usual were still there fighting for victory,” concluded Kristoff.

Complete Results:

218.7 kilometers raced at an average speed of 39.820 km/hr

1 Alexander KRISTOFF Katusha Alpecin 5hr 29min 32sec
2 Rick ZABEL Katusha Alpecin s.t.
3 John DEGENKOLB Trek-Segafredo s.t.
4 Jean-Pierre DRUCKER BMC s.t.
5 Pim LIGTHART Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
6 Juan Jose LOBATO Lotto NL-Jumbo s.t.
7 Jasper STUYVEN Trek-Segafredo s.t.
8 Maximiliano Ariel RICHEZE Quick-Step s.t.
9 Michel KREDER Aqua Blue Sport s.t.
10 Ben SWIFT UAE Abu Dhabi s.t.
11 Tom BOHLI BMC s.t.
12 Alex KIRSCH WB Veranclassic s.t.
13 Francisco Jose VENTOSO BMC s.t.
14 Rudy BARBIER Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
15 Michael MATTHEWS Sunweb s.t.
16 Maciej PATERSKI CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
17 Tom VAN ASBROECK Cannondale Drapac @ 6sec
18 Oscar RIESEBEEK Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
19 Gaetan BILLE Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
20 Nikolas MAES Lotto Soudal s.t.
21 Evgeny SHALUNOV Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
22 Sam BENNETT Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
23 Rúben GUERREIRO Trek-Segafredo s.t.
24 Silvan DILLIER BMC s.t.
25 Brian VAN GOETHEM Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
26 Patrick BEVIN Cannondale Drapac @ 15sec
27 Bram TANKINK Lotto NL-Jumbo s.t.
28 Aime DE GENDT Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise @ 16sec
29 Jos VAN EMDEN Lotto NL-Jumbo s.t.
30 Adam HANSEN Lotto Soudal @ 19sec
31 Nico DENZ Ag2r La Mondiale @ 23sec
32 Pascal ACKERMANN Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
33 Jan TRATNIK CCC Sprandi Polkowice @ 27sec
34 Floris DE TIER Lotto NL-Jumbo @ 35sec
35 Pieter SERRY Quick-Step s.t.
36 Simone PETILLI UAE Abu Dhabi s.t.
37 Dries VAN GESTEL Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
38 Lukasz OWSIAN CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
39 Andreas SCHILLINGER Bora-hansgrohe @ 40sec
40 Eliot LIETAER Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise @ 43sec
41 Tom SCULLY Cannondale Drapac @ 57sec
42 Nils POLITT Katusha Alpecin @ 1min 5sec
43 Mads PEDERSEN Trek-Segafredo +1:19
44 Paul MARTENS Lotto NL-Jumbo +1:25
45 Petr VAKOC Quick-Step +1:36
46 Julien BERNARD Trek-Segafredo +1:48
47 Tony MARTIN Katusha Alpecin +1:50
48 Simone PONZI CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
49 Ángel VICIOSO Katusha Alpecin +2:38
50 Nikias ARNDT Sunweb s.t.
51 Aaron GATE Aqua Blue Sport +3:55
52 Julien VERMOTE Quick-Step s.t.
53 Frederik BACKAERT Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
54 Lasse Norman HANSEN Aqua Blue Sport s.t.
55 Johannes FRÖHLINGER Sunweb s.t.
56 Peter KONING Aqua Blue Sport s.t.
57 Frederik FRISON Lotto Soudal s.t.
58 Michal PALUTA CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
59 Koen DE KORT Trek-Segafredo s.t.
60 Martin ELMIGER BMC s.t.
61 Thomas SPRENGERS Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
62 Olivier PARDINI WB Veranclassic s.t.
63 Andrei SOLOMENNIKOV Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
64 Branislau SAMOILAU CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
65 Raymond KREDER Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
66 Edward RAVASI UAE Abu Dhabi s.t.
67 Preben VAN HECKE Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise +4:05

Race map:

2017 Eschbon-frankfurt map