BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2016 Eschborn-Frankfurt:
Rund um den Finanzplatz (HC), Germany

55th Edition: Sunday, May 1, 2016

Eschborn-Frankfurt podium history | 2015 edition | 2017 edition | Course map

Eschborn - Frankfurt, 206.9 km

Alexander Kristoff

Alexander Kristoff wins Eschborn-Frankfurt

The Race: Here's what race winner Alexander Kristoff's Katusha team had to say about the day's racing:

Melanoma: It Started with a Freckle

In a repeat performance from 2014, Team Katusha’s Alexander Kristoff won again on Sunday in the one-day Rund um den Finanzplatz Eschborn-Frankfurt, sprinting in for the victory after just over five hours of racing. It was the seventh win for Kristoff in the 2016 racing season.

"This was my first race in some time and I was not quite ready for it, just like in 2014 when I also won. I am in the process of building up my training for later results, so it is logical that I had it hard in the first part of the race. I suffered from cramping on some of the local laps and was dropped on the climbs – and two times Slava Kuznetsov brought me back, one time all by himself. He did an amazing job. In the end, I was still there and could be patient. Slava brought me to the front in the last kilometer and then Alexey Tsatevich took over. He did a perfect lead out for me. It was hard with the head wind. I was afraid I had started too early, but I kept my speed until the end," said team leader Alexander Kristoff.

Joining Kristoff on the podium in Frankfurt were Ariel Maximiliano Richeze (Etixx – Quick Step) and Sam Bennett of Bora-Argon. Katusha teammate Tsatevich was 12th.

"This was a nice race for the team. Everyone stuck to the plan we made before the race. There was a lot of pressure on Alexander so it was an important day. Matvey Mamykin did a great race. He showed us the perfect attitude for such a young guy and went away in the hilly German region with 9 others. In the end the race was like we hoped with a maximum of 30-40 riders left to sprint. Tsatevich and Kuznetsov did a great job in the last 5 km. It was nice to work with this group," said sports director Torsten Schmidt.

At 206,8 km the route began in Eschborn and featured four local laps to include the Mammolshain climb. Team rider Matvey Mamykin was part of the early break of six riders. The group was allowed an advantage, but never more than 1:30, before escapee Bjorn Thurau (Wanty) tried his luck in a solo attack.  The move wasn’t long-lived under the control of Team Katusha, who worked to put Kristoff in position to sprint. Many attacks came in the final hard laps, including a final try by David De la Cruz (Etixx – Quick Step) that was finally brought back with 13 km to go. A reduced field remained for the final sprint won by Kristoff.

Alexander Kristoff will next race in the Amgen Tour of California. Asked if he feels a lot of pressure for California, the successful sprinter claims he has it under control.

"No, on the contrary. I prefer to have the stress now rather than later in the season," concluded Alexander Kristoff.

Complete Results:

206.9 kilometers raced at an average speed of 41.375 km/hr

1 Alexander Kristoff Katusha 5hr 0min 2sec
2 Maximiliano Richeze Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
3 Sam Bennett Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
4 Pieter Vanspeybrouck Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
5 Yves Lampaert Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
6 Tom Devriendt Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
7 Pawel Franczak Verva ActiveJet s.t.
8 Maurits Lammertink Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
9 Bartlomiej Matysiak CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
10 Fabian Wegmann Stölting s.t.
11 Rasmus Guldhammer Stölting s.t.
12 Florian Vachon Fortuneo Vital Concept s.t.
13 Filippo Pozzato Southeast Venezuela s.t.
14 Alexey Tsatevich Katusha s.t.
15 Simon Geschke Giant-Alpecin s.t.
16 Jan Brockhoff Leopard Pro s.t.
17 Nico Denz Ag2r s.t.
18 Evaldas Šiškevicius Delko Marseille Provence s.t.
19 Tim Declercq Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
20 Julen Amezqueta Southeast Venezuela s.t.
21 Jordi Simón Verva ActiveJet s.t.
22 Felix Großschartner CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
23 Frederik Backaert Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
24 Niko Holler Stradalli s.t.
25 François Bidard Ag2r s.t.
26 Dominik Nerz Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
27 Iuri Filosi Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
28 Jonas Rapp Heizomat s.t.
29 Delio Fernández Delko Marseille Provence s.t.
30 Leonardo Duque Delko Marseille Provence s.t.
31 Linus Gerdemann Stölting s.t.
32 Hugo Houle Ag2r s.t.
33 Jirí Polnický Verva ActiveJet s.t.
34 Adrian Honkisz CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
35 Anthony Delaplace Fortuneo Vital Concept s.t.
36 Preben Van Hecke Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
37 Rob Ruijgh Crelan-Vastgoedservice s.t.
38 Sam Oomen Giant-Alpecin s.t.
39 Floris De Tier Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
40 Johnny Hoogerland Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
41 Björn Thurau Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
42 Lukasz Owsian CCC Sprandi Polkowice +13''
43 Romain Combaud Delko Marseille Provence s.t.
44 Víctor De la Parte CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
45 Damiano Cunego Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
46 Eliot Lietaer Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
47 Samuele Conti Southeast Venezuela +18''
48 Daniel Martínez Southeast Venezuela s.t.
49 Paul Voß Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
50 Adam Stachowiak Verva ActiveJet s.t.
51 Julien El Farès Delko Marseille Provence s.t.
52 Axel Domont Ag2r s.t.
53 Vyacheslav Kuznetsov Katusha +46''
54 Emanuel Buchmann Bora-Argon 18 +53''
55 David De La Cruz Etixx-Quick Step +1' 36''
56 Tony Martin Etixx-Quick Step s.t.

Course map:

Eschborn-Frankfurt map