BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2016 Gran Premio Città di Peccioli -
Coppa Sabatini (1.1), Italy

64th edition: September 22, 2016

Coppa Sabatini podium history | 2015 edition | 2017 edition

Peccioli - Peccioli, 195.90 km

Sonny Colbrelli

Sonny Colbrelli wins the 2016 Coppa Sabatini

The Race: Here's the report from winner Sonny Colbrelli's Bardiani-CSF team:

Story of the Giro d'Italia volume 2

Bardiani-CSF and Sonny Colbrelli performed another great feat. Today, in Peccioli, the Italian rider claimed the 64th edition of Coppa Sabatini, repeating the success taken in 2014. Colbrelli won the final sprint after an amazing job of his teammates, leaving behind Pasqualon (Team Roth) and Barbero (Caja Rural). This is his sixth win in 2016 while for Bardiani-CSF the number of victories are now eleven.

“Yesterday and the day before, at Giro della Toscana, we did great performances but I only got closed to the win” said Colbrelli. “We spent a lot of energy and our worry, today, was to pay these efforts… well, looking to our performances, we were wrong. My teammates deserve compliments and my win was the best way to repay their efforts”.

During this final part of the season Colbrelli is living a golden moment, taking five successes since August. “Just after Tour de Pologne I looked my seasonal palmares and I targeted two wins before the end of the season. Now are five, I could not ask more than this. This is not the first time I have so good condition and the key factor is the feeling with the team - they’re on top form too, they support and trust in me. This is the ideal condition for a rider”.

“The only regret I have is about the European Champs. I wanted and I could do better. Looking to my last performances, I can only say that was a bad day”.

The schedule of Bardiani-CSF includes six races before the end of the season - Giro dell’Emilia, GP Beghelli, Tre Valli Varesine, Milano-Torino, Gran Piemonte and Il Lombardia. Colbrelli will race GP Beghelli, Tre Valli Varesine and Gran Piemonte, aiming to don’t stop this great moment.

“These races are three news chances to make this season memorable, for myself and for the team as well. Last thing… I have a dream, racing the World Champ in Qatar. I want to convince CT Cassani that I could be a useful rider for Italian squad. And the only way I have is making great performances”.

Complete Results:

195.9 kilometers raced at an average speed of 40.288 km/hr

1 Sonny Colbrelli Bardiani-CSF 4hr 51min 45sec
2 Andrea Pasqualon Team Roth s.t.
3 Carlos Barbero Caja Rural s.t.
4 Andrea Vendrame Italy s.t.
5 Jonathan Hivert Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
6 Jan Bakelants Ag2r s.t.
7 Franco Pellizotti Androni Giocattoli s.t.
8 Francesco Gavazzi Androni Giocattoli s.t.
9 Kristian Sbaragli Dimension Data s.t.
10 Roman Maykin Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
11 Felix Großschartner CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
12 Thomas Sprengers Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
13 Paul Voß Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
14 Simone Ponzi CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
15 Filippo Pozzato Wilier Triestina s.t.
16 Andrea Fedi Wilier Triestina s.t.
17 Giovanni Visconti Movistar s.t.
18 Davide Rebellin CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
19 Julen Amezqueta Wilier Triestina s.t.
20 Preben Van Hecke Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
21 Diego Rubio Caja Rural s.t.
22 Simone Andreetta Bardiani-CSF s.t.
23 Matteo Busato Wilier Triestina s.t.
24 Pierpaolo De Negri Nippo-Vini Fantani s.t.
25 Fabio Aru Astana s.t.
26 Mikaël Chérel Ag2r s.t.
27 Enrico Barbin Bardiani-CSF s.t.
28 Mirko Selvaggi Androni Giocattoli s.t.
29 Grega Bole Nippo-Vini Fantani s.t.
30 Diego Rosa Astana s.t.
31 Silvio Herklotz Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
32 Rodolfo Torres Androni Giocattoli s.t.
33 Artem Nych Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
34 Francesco Bongiorno Bardiani-CSF s.t.
35 Giovanni Carboni Italy s.t.
36 Antonio Molina Caja Rural s.t.
37 Julien Loubet Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
38 Daniel Martínez Wilier Triestina s.t.
39 Alberto Nardin Androni Giocattoli s.t.
40 Alexandr Kolobnev Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
41 Alessio Taliani Androni Giocattoli s.t.
42 Mark Cavendish Dimension Data s.t.
43 Richard Carapaz Movistar s.t.
44 Romain Bardet Ag2r s.t.
45 Cesare Benedetti Bora-Argon 18 @ 24sec
46 Otto Vergaerde Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
47 Joonas Henttala Novo Nordisk +36''
48 Pierre-Luc Périchon Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
49 Vegard Breen Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
50 Roland Thalmann Team Roth +46''
51 Florian Vachon Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
52 Igor Boev Gazprom-RusVelo +51''
53 Leszek Plucinski CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
54 Branislav Samoilav CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
55 Alessandro Bisolti Nippo-Vini Fantani s.t.
56 Yonder Godoy Wilier Triestina +54''
57 Umberto Orsini Italy +59''
58 Evgeniy Shalunov Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
59 Jacopo Guarnieri Italy s.t.
60 Adrien Niyonshuti Dimension Data +1' 13''
61 Damiano Cunego Nippo-Vini Fantani s.t.
62 Nurbolat Kulimbetov Astana s.t.
63 Charles Planet Novo Nordisk s.t.
64 Eliot Lietaer Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
65 Fabio Sabatini Italy s.t.
66 Marco Zamparella Italy s.t.
67 Marco Frapporti Androni Giocattoli s.t.
68 Artur Ershov Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
69 Chris Sørensen Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
70 Jakub Kaczmarek CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
71 Matteo Montaguti Ag2r s.t.
72 Benoît Cosnefroy Ag2r s.t.
73 Nicola Boem Bardiani-CSF s.t.
74 Daniil Fominykh Astana s.t.
75 Emanuel Buchmann Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
76 Sam Bennett Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
77 Davide Ballerini Italy s.t.
78 Zhandos Bizhigitov Astana s.t.
79 Andrei Solomennikov Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
80 Alexander Evtushenko Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
81 Antonio Pedrero Movistar s.t.
82 Gianfranco Zilioli Nippo-Vini Fantani s.t.
83 Javier Megías Novo Nordisk s.t.
84 Jaco Venter Dimension Data s.t.
85 Hubert Dupont Ag2r s.t.
86 Javier Moreno Movistar s.t.
87 Iuri Filosi Nippo-Vini Fantani s.t.
88 Jarl Salomein Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
89 Jens Wallays Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
90 David Lozano Novo Nordisk s.t.
91 Ryan Gibbons Dimension Data s.t.
92 Stephen Clancy Novo Nordisk s.t.
93 Arman Kamyshev Astana s.t.
94 Fabricio Ferrari Caja Rural +4' 20''
95 Xuban Errazkin Wilier Triestina +7' 47''
96 Christopher Williams Novo Nordisk s.t.
97 Brian Kamstra Novo Nordisk s.t.
98 Matt Brammeier Dimension Data s.t.
99 Nicolas Dougall Dimension Data s.t.
100 Kevin Demesmaeker Novo Nordisk s.t.
101 Armindo Fonseca Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
102 Mateusz Taciak CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
103 Nikolay Mihaylov CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
104 Shane Archbold Bora-Argon 18 s.t.