BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2014 Coppa Bernocchi (1.1), Italy

96th edition: Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Coppa Bernocchi podium history | 2014 Coppa Bernocchi photos | 2015 edition

Legnano-Legnano, 192.5 km

Elia vivian wins 2014 Coppa Bernocchi

Elia Vivani wins the 2014 Coppa Bernocchi. Photo ©Sirotti

The Race: Today's hard-fought Coppa Bernocchi didn't see the last breakaway rider caught until there were only 15 kilometers remaining. And then, it was just a small group of about twenty riders in the front group who remained to contest the finish.

Tour winner Vincenzo Nibali raced for the first time since he took the yellow jersey in Paris. He tried to get away, but the pack had no interest in that kind of shenanigans.

Peter Sagan did pilot-fish duty for Cannondale's on-form sprinter Elia Viviani, who said he was feeling good today, and Viviani duly delivered the goods, earning his fifth professional victory this season.

Second-place Filppo Pozzato said this after the race, "I believed in the opportinity of getting the victory, I did my best in the sprint. I approached the sprint in the best possible way, I was aware I could win; unfortunately, Viviani performed an amazing sprint, his speed was unbeatable. I won't be in Coppa Agostoni, so I won't have the opportunity to repeat the victory I had obtained in 2013, but I'll be at the start of Tre Valli Varesine".

Complete Results:

Winner's average speed: 43.130 km/hr

1 Elia Viviani Cannondale 4hr 27min 6sec
2 Filippo Pozzato Lampre-Merida
3 Simone Ponzi Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
4 Davide Vigano Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
5 Fabio Chinello Area Zero
6 Sergey Lagutin RusVelo
7 Peter Sagan Cannondale
8 Mirko Selvaggi Wanty-Groupe Gobert
9 Tiago Machado NetApp-Endura
10 Arnaud Gerard Bretagne-Séché Environnement
11 Mauro Finetto Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
12 Ilnur Zakarin RusVelo
13 Anthony Delaplace Bretagne-Séché Environnement
14 Fabio Taborre Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
15 Kenny De Ketele Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
16 Juan Pablo Valencia Colombia
17 Robert Power Australia
18 Vincenzo Nibali Astana @ 4 seconds
19 Kevin Seeldraeyers Wanty-Groupe Gobert 6"
20 Johann Van Zyl MTN-Qhubeka
21 Jaroslaw Marycz CCC Polsat Polkowice 10"
22 Diego Ulissi Lampre-Merida
23 Miguel Angel Rubiano  Colombia 11"
24 Sonny Colbrelli Bardiani-CSF 15"
25 Kristijan Koren Cannondale 17"
26 Michel Kreder Wanty-Groupe Gobert
27 Grega Bole Vini Fantini 21"
28 Ivan Balykin RusVelo
29 Antonio Parrinello Androni Giocattoli
30 Tim Declercq Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
31 Cesare Benedetti NetApp-Endura
32 Sergei Pomoshnikov RusVelo
33 Maciej Paterski CCC Polsat Polkowice
34 Gian Marco Di Francesco Vega-Hotsand
35 Marek Rutkiewicz CCC Polsat Polkowice
36 Jack Haig Australia
37 Brice Feillu Bretagne-Séché Environnement
38 Jérôme Baugnies Wanty-Groupe Gobert
39 Alex Clements Australia
40 Frederik Backaert Wanty-Groupe Gobert
41 Bartlomiej Matysiak CCC Polsat Polkowice
42 Preben Van Hecke Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
43 Fabio Andres Duarte  Colombia
44 Rafael Andriato Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
45 Davide Martinelli Italy
46 Mirko Tedeschi Idea
47 Angel Madrazo Ruiz Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
48 Vegard Stake Laengen Bretagne-Séché Environnement
49 Niccolo Bonifazio Lampre-Merida
50 Enrico Battaglin Bardiani-CSF
51 Fabricio Ferrari Barcelo Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
52 Manuel Belletti Androni Giocattoli
53 Ruben Fernandez Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
54 Marcos Garcia Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
55 Artem Ovechkin RusVelo
56 Matteo Montaguti Italy
57 Christian Delle Stelle MG Kvis
58 Marco Frapporti Androni Giocattoli
59 Ricardo Pichetta Idea
60 Danilo Napolitano Wanty-Groupe Gobert
61 Andrea Guardini Astana
62 Branislau Samoilau CCC Polsat Polkowice
63 Luca Paolini Italy
64 Alessandro Tonelli Italy
65 Andrea Fedi Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
66 Alessandro Vanotti Astana
67 Jean-Marc Bideau Bretagne-Séché Environnement
68 Marcin Mrozek Androni Giocattoli
69 Bartosz Huzarski NetApp-Endura 31"
70 Andrea Zordan Androni Giocattoli 35"
71 Nicola Ruffoni Bardiani-CSF 58"
72 Davide Mucelli MKT +1:08
73 Caleb Ewan Australia +1:29
74 Andrea Piechele Bardiani-CSF +1:35
75 Sogenzo Jim MTN-Qhubeka
76 Andrei Solomennikov RusVelo
77 Eduardo Sepulveda Bretagne-Séché Environnement
78 Ivan Basso Cannondale
79 Alberto Bettiol Cannondale
80 Fabio Sabatini Cannondale
81 Dennis Van Niekerk MTN-Qhubeka
82 Otto Vergaerde Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise +1:38
83 Robinson Eduardo Chalapud  Colombia
84 Gianluca Leonardi Area Zero +1:46
85 José Joao Costa Mendes NetApp-Endura
86 Andriy Grivko Astana +1:54
87 Tiziano Dall'Antonia Androni Giocattoli +1:54
88 Alan Marangoni Cannondale
89 Roman Katyrin Itera-Katusha
90 Davide Rebellin CCC Polsat Polkowice
91 Michele Scarponi Astana +2:38
92 Arman Kamyshev Astana
93 Alexander Foliforov Itera-Katusha
94 Fernando Grijalba Caja Rural-Seguros RGA +2:52
95 Silvio Giorni Area Zero +3:17
96 Simone Consonni Italy
97 Riccardo Donato MG Kvis +3:45
98 Sergey Klimov RusVelo +4:07
99 Sacha Modolo Lampre-Merida +4:22
100 Luca Wackermann Lampre-Merida

2014 Coppa Bernocchi photos:

2014 Coppa Bernocci sprint

The 2014 Coppa Bernocchi sprint. Photo ©Bettini

Coppa Bernocchi sprint

Here they come. Viviani's teammate Peter Sagan waves, knowing Viviani has won the race. Photo ©Sirotti

Elia Viviani

And indeed Viviani nails it. Photo ©Sirotti

Filippo Pozzato

Filippo Pozzato (Lampre) finished second. Photo ©Sirotti

Vincenzo Nibali

2014 Tour winner and Italian road champion Vincenzo Nibali finishes. Photo ©Sirotti

Grega Bole finishes

Grega Bole finishes. Photo ©Sirotti

Matteo Montaguti

Matteo Montaguti. Photo ©Sirotti

Elia viviani

Race winner Elia Viviani. Photo ©Sirotti

2014 podium

The podium, from left: Filippo Pozzato, Elia Viviani and Simone Ponzi. Photo ©Sirotti

Filppo pozzato and Elia Viviani

Filippo Pozzato drenches Viviani. Photo ©Sirotti