BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2014 Coppa Ugo Agostoni (1.1), Italy

68th edition: Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Coppa Agostoni podium history | Coppa Agostoni photos | 2015 edition

Lissone - Lissone, 199.6 km

NiccoloBonifazio wins the 2014 Coppa Agostoni

Niccolo Bonifazio wins the 2014 Coppa Agostoni. Photo ©Sirotti

The Race: This seemed to be a race Lampre-Merida really wanted to win. Nine riders escaped early. With 60 kilometers to go another nine tried to bridge to the break, but could not close the gap.

The original escape was finally caught with seven kilometers remaining. From there Lampre-Merida tried to control the race, initially planning to launch Sacha Modolo. But it was surprise winner Niccolo Bonifazio who took the honors. This is his first race victory in Italy and the third of his career, having won stage six of the Tour of Japan and the Sakei Criterium. This also made 22 victories this season for Lampre-Merida.

Teammate and World Road Champion Rui Costa did domestique duties for the young Bonifazio, leaving the race winner deeply moved by having such a prestigious rider help him. This might well have been Costa's last appearance racing in rainbow stripes unless he repeats and wins in Ponferrada next week.

More photos posted below results.

Complete Results:

Winner's average speed: 44.795 km/hr

1 Niccolo Bonifazio Lampre-Merida 4hr 27min 21sec
2 Grega Bole Vini Fantini all @ s.t.
3 Simone Ponzi Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
4 Enrico Battaglin Bardiani-CSF
5 Andrea Fedi Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
6 Andrea Piechele Bardiani-CSF
7 Sergey Lagutin RusVelo
8 Davide Mucelli Meridiana Kamen
9 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez Colombia
10 Thomas Sprengers Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
11 Kristijan Koren Cannondale
12 Mirko Selvaggi Wanty-Groupe Gobert
13 Maciej Paterski CCC Polsat Polkowice
14 Nicola Gaffurini Vega-Hotsand
15 Angel Madrazo Ruiz Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
16 Anthony Delaplace Bretagne-Séché Environnement
17 Kevin Ledanois Bretagne-Séché Environnement
18 Simone Petilli Area Zero
19 Matteo Busato MG Kvis
20 Bartosz Huzarski NetApp-Endura
21 Paolo Tiralongo Astana
22 Fabio Taborre Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
23 Artem Ovechkin RusVelo
24 Sergei Pomoshnikov RusVelo
25 Lorenzo Rota MG Kvis
26 Vegard Stake Laengen Bretagne-Séché Environnement
27 Michel Kreder Wanty-Groupe Gobert
28 Jack Haig Australia
29 Franco Pellizotti Androni Giocattoli
30 Dennis Van Niekerk MTN-Qhubeka
31 Simone Velasco Italy
32 Davide Vigano Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
33 Ilnur Zakarin RusVelo
34 Antonio Santoro Meridiana Kamen
35 Tiago Machado NetApp-Endura
36 Davide Rebellin CCC Polsat Polkowice
37 Robert Power Australia
38 Gianni Moscon Italy
39 Alessandro Bisolti Vini Fantini
40 Diego Rosa Androni Giocattoli
41 Eduardo Sepulveda Bretagne-Séché Environnement
42 Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa Lampre-Merida
43 Branislau Samoilau CCC Polsat Polkowice
44 Alexsandr Dyachenko Astana
45 Vincenzo Nibali Astana
46 Alan Marangoni Cannondale
47 Andrea Zordan Androni Giocattoli
48 Marco Minnaard Wanty-Groupe Gobert
49 Angelo Pagani Bardiani-CSF
50 Luca Dodi Lampre-Merida
51 Francesco Failli Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
52 Ruben Fernandez Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
53 Mirko Tedeschi IDE
54 Kevin Seeldraeyers Wanty-Groupe Gobert
55 José Joao Pimenta Costa Mendes NetApp-Endura
56 Simone Andreetta Italy
57 Gianfranco Zilioli Androni Giocattoli
58 Francesco Manuel Bongiorno Bardiani-CSF
59 Paolo Ciavatta Area Zero
60 Giacomo Nizzolo Italy
61 Mattia Cattaneo Lampre-Merida
62 Ricardo Pichetta IDE

2014 Coppa Agostoni photos:

Luca Paolini

Luca Paolini at the start. Photo ©Sirotti

Peter Sagan

Peter Sagan. Photo ©Sirotti

Bretagne-Seche Environnement

The Bretagne-Seche Environnement team is ready to race. Photo ©Sirotti

Ivan Basso

Ivan Basso. Photo ©Sirotti

Franco Pellizotti

Franco Pellizotti before the race. Photo ©Sirotti

Applo Tiralongo

Paolo Tiralongo leads an escape attempt. Photo ©Sirotti

Miyazawa Takashi

Miyazawa Takashi does his share of the work. Photo ©Sirotti

Rui Costa

Rui Costa, wearing Rainbow stripes for about the last time, with race winner Bonifazio tucked in behind him. Photo ©Sirotti


As they head for the line Bonifazio has the race won. Photo ©Sirotti

Niccolo bonifazio

Indeed, Bonifazio gets the race win. Photo ©Sirotti

Vincenzo Nibali

Tour de France winner and Italian Road Champion Vincenzo Nibali finishes the race. Photo ©Sirotti

Niccolo Bonifazio

Race winner Niccolo Bonifazio. Photo ©Sirotti

The podium

The podium, from left: Grega Bole, Niccolo Bonifazio and Simone Ponzi. Photo ©Sirotti