BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: it started with a freckle Cycles BiKyle Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2018 Faun Environnement - Classic de l'Ardèche (1.1), France

18th edition: Saturday, February 24, 2018

Faun Environnement-Classic de l'Ardèche podium history | 2017 edition | 2019 edition | Course map and profile

Guilherand-Granges - Guilherand-Granges, 200.2 km

Romain Bardet

Romain Bardet wins in Guilherand-Granges

The race: Winner Romain Bardet had this to say after the race:

“I had a lot of fun, just racing without a second thought, being able to take a risk. After my injury, I did not know where my condition would be. But we managed the race very well. Nans Peters and Hubert Dupont were outstanding. They were able to muzzle the escape between them. We certainly had the biggest collection riders, and once at the front, my teammates put on the brakes a little. In fact, I attacked in order to make the other teams work. This is my real start to the season. I didn’t plan anything. I simply worked hard this week to make up for not having been at the Ruta del Sol. But in any case, it is always good to take a win. I love this type of attacking racing, without scripts. And the team has a great attacking attitude. We were already a strong group last year, and we had a lot of fun. All this creates an enjoyable and a positive climate. Victories follow victories.”

And here's the report from second-place Max Schachmann's Quick-Step team:

One week from a solid seventh place in the Volta ao Algarve, Maximilian Schachmann showed again that he's primed for a big season, in which he's keen on leaving last year's disappointment behind, showing instead the talent and quality which recommended him as one of the best U23 riders of the 2016 season.

Part of the strong Quick-Step Floors which came at the start of Classic de l'Ardèche, one of the most spectacular underrated one-day races of the calendar, Schachmann was one of the main protagonists once the race was brought to life inside the final 25 kilometers, when Romain Bardet (AG2R) attacked as soon as the day's break got nullified.

Max attacked from the bunch and rode in pursuit of the Frenchman, being joined on his quest by teammate Jhonatan Narvaez and five other riders. As they crossed over the top of Coteaux de Cornas and Cote du Val d'Enfer, Bardet's lead proved unassailable, so the chasers were left fighting for the other places on the podium. Schachmann, who was racing in France for the first time since stepping up to pro category, attacked in the run-in to the finish in Guilherand-Granges and arrived there with a handful of seconds over the group from which Narvaez took second.

Complete Results:

200.2 kilometers raced at an average speed of 35.621 km/hr

1 Romain Bardet Ag2r La Mondiale 5hr 37min 13sec
2 Maximilian Schachmann Quick-Step Floors @ 47sec
3 Lilian Calmejane Direct Energie +56''
4 Alexis Vuillermoz Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
5 David Gaudu FDJ s.t.
6 Jhonatan Narváez Quick-Step Floors s.t.
7 Quentin Pacher Vital Concept s.t.
8 Pierre Latour Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
9 Eliot Lietaer WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic +1' 09''
10 Romain Sicard Direct Energie s.t.
11 Tanel Kangert Astana +1' 11''
12 Warren Barguil Fortuneo-Samsic +1' 18''
13 Ivan Santaromita Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
14 Sergey Chernetsky Astana s.t.
15 Cyril Gautier Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
16 Mauro Finetto Delko-Marseille Provence  s.t.
17 Dorian Godon Cofidis s.t.
18 Mattia Cattaneo Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
19 Simone Andreetta Bardiani-CSF s.t.
20 Bakhtiyar Kozhatayev Astana s.t.
21 Rémi Cavagna Quick-Step Floors s.t.
22 Dimitri Peyskens WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic s.t.
23 Ruben Guerreiro Trek-Segafredo s.t.
24 Rodolfo Torres Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec +1' 24''
25 Mathias Le Turnier Cofidis s.t.
26 Davide Ballerini Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec +2' 07''
27 Nicolas Edet Cofidis +2' 08''
28 Amaël Moinard Fortuneo-Samsic s.t.
29 Anthony Delaplace Fortuneo-Samsic s.t.
30 Romain Combaud Delko-Marseille Provence  +2' 14''
31 Mikkel Honoré Team Virtu Cycling s.t.
32 Ángel Madrazo Delko-Marseille Provence  s.t.
33 Arnaud Courteille Vital Concept +3' 00''
34 Larry Warbasse Aqua Blue Sport +3' 23''
35 Jérémy Maison Fortuneo-Samsic s.t.
36 Hugo Houle Astana s.t.
37 Guillaume Bonnafond Cofidis +5' 00''
38 Bob Jungels Quick-Step Floors s.t.
39 Sébastien Reichenbach FDJ +5' 44''
40 Etienne van Empel Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij +6' 38''
41 Ryan Anderson Rally Cycling +8' 36''
42 Jeroen Meijers Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
43 Marco Tizza Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
44 Simone Ponzi Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
45 Alo Jakin St Michel-Auber 93 s.t.
46 Alexys Brunel Team France s.t.
47 Mathieu Burgaudeau Team France s.t.
48 Christophe Masson WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic s.t.
49 Damien Touzé St Michel-Auber 93 s.t.
50 Pierre Gouault Roubaix - Lille Métropole s.t.
51 Simon Guglielmi Team France s.t.
52 Giovanni Carboni Bardiani-CSF s.t.
53 Jesper Schultz Team Virtu Cycling s.t.
54 Audun Fløtten Team Virtu Cycling s.t.
55 Damiano Cunego Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
56 Mattia Frapporti Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
57 Raffaello Bonusi Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
58 Simone Sterbini Bardiani-CSF s.t.
59 Francesco Gavazzi Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
60 Nicola Bagioli Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
61 Andriy Grivko Astana s.t.
62 Valentin Ferron Team France s.t.
63 Lorenzo Rota Bardiani-CSF s.t.
64 Enrico Barbin Bardiani-CSF s.t.
65 Pierre Idjouadienne Roubaix - Lille Métropole s.t.
66 Jérôme Mainard Roubaix - Lille Métropole s.t.
67 Tom Dernies Roubaix - Lille Métropole s.t.
68 Thomas Degand Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
69 Andrea Vendrame Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
70 Anthony Roux FDJ s.t.
71 Daniel Teklehaimanot Cofidis s.t.
72 Matthieu Ladagnous FDJ s.t.
73 Kévin Reza Vital Concept s.t.
74 Angelo Tulik Direct Energie s.t.
75 Fabien Grellier Direct Energie s.t.
76 Marlon Gaillard Team France s.t.
77 Gregory Daniel Trek-Segafredo s.t.
78 Eddie Dunbar Aqua Blue Sport s.t.
79 Xandro Meurisse Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
80 Marco Minnaard Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
81 Oscar Riesebeek Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
82 Mikaël Chérel Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
83 Guillaume Levarlet St Michel-Auber 93 s.t.
84 Stéphane Rossetto Cofidis s.t.
85 Camille Thominet St Michel-Auber 93 s.t.
86 Arthur Vichot FDJ s.t.
87 Julien Antomarchi Roubaix - Lille Métropole s.t.
88 Daniil Fominykh Astana s.t.
89 Juan José Lobato Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
90 Marco Canola Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
91 Odd Christian Eiking Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
92 Guillaume Martin Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
93 Julien El Farès Delko-Marseille Provence  s.t.
94 Rein Taaramäe Direct Energie s.t.
95 Evan Huffman Rally Cycling s.t.
96 Jérôme Cousin Direct Energie s.t.
97 Elie Gesbert Fortuneo-Samsic +10' 23''
98 Torkil Veyhe Team Virtu Cycling +11' 05''
99 Robbert de Greef Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
100 Perrig Quémeneur Direct Energie s.t.
101 Justin Mottier Vital Concept s.t.
102 Fabien Doubey Wanty-Groupe Gobert +12' 25''
103 Laurent Didier Trek-Segafredo +13' 21''
104 Thomas Joly Roubaix - Lille Métropole +14' 12''
105 Yoann Paillot St Michel-Auber 93 +14' 32''
106 Victor Lafay Cofidis s.t.
107 Ludovic Robeet WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic +16' 15''
108 Adam De Vos Rally Cycling s.t.
109 Laurent Pichon Fortuneo-Samsic s.t.
110 Emerson Oronte Rally Cycling +20' 14''

Classic de l'Ardèche map and profile:

2018 classic Ardeche map

Course map

Classic Ardeche profile

Course profile