BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2021 Route Adélie de Vitré (1.1), France

25th edition: Friday, October 1, 2021

Route Adélie de Vitré podium history | 2019 edition (Race not run in 2020) | 2022 edition

Two circuits near Vitré : 6 x 21.1 km + 8 x 8.9 km = 197.8 km

Arvid De Kleijn

Arvid de Kleijn wins in Vitré

Weather at Vitré (in Brittany, east of Rennes) at 2:15 PM, local time: 15C (59F) rain showers, with the wind from the south at 19 km/hr (12 mph). The forecast for the remainder of the afternoon is for a 50% chance of rain

The race: Here's the report from winner Arvid de Kleijn's Rally Cycling team.

Dutch powerhouse Arvid de Kleijn took his second victory for Rally Cycling at La Route Adélie de Vitré, the 12th round of the Coupe de France. De Kleijn dominated the finale, outsprinting his rivals to open up clear daylight between him and the rest of the field.

“It feels great to be back on the podium,” de Kleijn said afterwards in Vitré. “Like every sprinter, I’ve had some bad luck here and there, so today it was so nice to be back winning a bike race.”

De Kleijn utilised the strength and power of first Adam de Vos and then Colin Joyce to reel the late breakaway rider in before he launched his devastating sprint.

“They put me where I wanted to be in the last kilometer. There were a lot of corners and I went all out with 300 meters to go to catch Emmanuel Morin (Cofidis, Solutions Crédits) before the line.”

The race took place in torrential conditions with heavy rain falling on the route for the majority of the laps around the Breton town.

Nickolas Zukowsky spent most of the day out front and played a vital role in the “little gorilla’s” victory. The Canadian was initially in a breakaway of three before the group swelled to seven in the closing stages.

The team played their tactics perfectly with Zukowksy in the break, as the riders behind did not have to chase. With a proven finisher behind in de Kleijn, Zukowsky just needed to sit on the wheels out front.

“It was nice to see that he had such great legs,” de Kleijn said about his teammate. “It really was a team effort. For sure I need the legs to win but the team did a great job. It’s a great feeling to have guys riding for me like that, it feels like a family.”

It was a confidence boosting victory for the Dutchman who took the top step of the podium at the Tour of Turkey in similarly harsh weather. This time though, the 27-year-old had plenty of time to get his arms in the air.

The team will stay in France for Saturday’s Classic Loire-Atlantique and Paris-Bourges on October 7. With both having favorable parcours for either a strong breakaway rider or a bunch sprinter, there remain plenty of chances as the team begins to close out 2021 in style.

Les Woodland's history of the Tour de France: Tour de France: The Inside Story - Making the World's Greatest Bike Race is available as an audiobook here.

Complete Results:

197.8 kilometers raced at an average speed of 41.732 km/hr

1 DE KLEIJN Arvid Rally Cycling 4hr 44min 23sec
2 MORIN Emmanuel Cofidis @ 2sec
3 TESSON Jason St Michel-Auber 93 s.t.
4 REINDERS Elmar Riwal Cycling 0:04
5 GIRMAY HAILU Biniam Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
6 FUENTES Angel Burgos-BH s.t.
7 REYNDERS Jens Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
8 ZINGLE Axel Cofidis s.t.
9 BARTHE Cyril B&B Hotels s.t.
10 KONGSTAD Tobias Riwal Cycling s.t.
11 KRIEGER Alexander Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
12 SPRENGERS Thomas Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
13 VERMEULEN Emiel Xelliss-Roubaix Lille Metropole s.t.
14 MANZIN Lorrenzo TotalEnergies s.t.
15 BAKELANTS Jan Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
16 JAIME Alex Kern Pharma s.t.
17 CARDIS Romain St Michel-Auber 93 s.t.
18 VANHOOF Ward Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
19 SIEMONS Stijn EvoPro Racing s.t.
20 LOUVEL Matis Arkea-Samsic s.t.
21 ZUKOWSKY Nickolas Rally Cycling 0:10
22 DAUPHIN Florian B&B Hotels s.t.
23 CALMEJANE Lilian Ag2r-Citroen s.t.
24 APERS Ruben Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
25 DE VREESE Laurens Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
26 SIMON Julien TotalEnergies s.t.
27 ADRIA Roger Kern Pharma s.t.
28 OKAMIKA Ander Burgos-BH s.t.
29 DE WILDE Gilles Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
30 MARQUEZ Marti Kern Pharma 0:14
31 LOPEZ Jordi Kern Pharma s.t.
32 MADOUAS Valentin Groupama-Fdj s.t.
33 DELETTRE Alexandre Delko s.t.
34 PEÑALVER Manuel Burgos-BH s.t.
35 CANTON Isaac Burgos-BH 0:19
36 VAN NIEKERK Morne St Michel-Auber 93 0:21
37 URRUTY Maxime Xelliss-Roubaix Lille Metropole s.t.
38 LEBRETON Jacques Cofidis s.t.
39 DOUBEY Fabien TotalEnergies 0:23
40 VAN STAEYEN Michael EvoPro Racing s.t.
41 DE VOS Adam Rally Cycling s.t.
42 THWAITES Scott Alpecin-Fenix 0:27
43 VAN KEIRSBULCK Guillaume Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
44 JARNET Maxime Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert 0:29
45 ANTOMARCHI Julien Xelliss-Roubaix Lille Metropole 0:30
46 BONNAMOUR Franck B&B Hotels 0:37
47 FERRON Valentin TotalEnergies 0:40
48 BURGAUDEAU Mathieu TotalEnergies s.t.
49 BASTIAENS Ayco Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
50 ROTA Lorenzo Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
51 EYSKENS Jeroen EvoPro Racing s.t.
52 MARTIN Guillaume Cofidis 0:45
53 GODON Dorian Ag2r-Citroen s.t.
54 JOYCE Colin Rally Cycling 0:48
55 GALVAN Francisco Kern Pharma 0:52
56 SCHÖNBERGER Sebastian B&B Hotels 0:55
57 FERNANDEZ Delio Delko 0:56
58 HARDY Romain Arkea-Samsic 1:01
59 FERASSE Thibault B&B Hotels s.t.
60 DUCHESNE Antoine Groupama-Fdj s.t.
61 CHRISTEN Fabio Nippo-Provence-Pts Conti 1:31
62 OURSELIN Paul TotalEnergies s.t.
63 DE TIER Floris Alpecin-Fenix 1:33
64 BIDARD François Ag2r-Citroen 2:26
65 DUVAL Julien Ag2r-Citroen s.t.
66 PICHON Laurent Arkea-Samsic 2:35
67 PEREZ Anthony Cofidis s.t.
68 BOUHANNI Nacer Arkea-Samsic 3:33
69 COQUARD Bryan B&B Hotels 4:31
70 RIOU Alan Arkea-Samsic s.t.
71 HAILEMICHAEL Kinfe Mulu Delko 4:49
72 PRODHOMME Nicolas Ag2r-Citroen 5:14
73 FONT MAS Bernat EvoPro Racing 5:20
74 DEBEAUMARCHÉ Nicolas St Michel-Auber 93 7:29
75 DE PESTEL Sander Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise 8:01
76 LUDVIGSSON Tobias Groupama-Fdj 8:24
77 MONK Cyrus EvoPro Racing s.t.
78 TRACZ Szymon Nippo-Provence-Pts Conti s.t.