BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2023 Vlaamse Druivenveldrit Cross
(World Cup)

Overijse, Belgium

64th edition: Sunday, October 22, 2023

Vlaamse Druivenveldrit Overijse Cross podium history | 2022 edition | Course map

Weather at the race city of Overijse, Belgium at 1:30 PM , local time: 14C (57F), mostly cloudy, with the wind from the southwest at 18 km/hr (11 mph). There is a 17% chance of rain.

Results: Men | Women

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames


Eli Iserbyt wins the men's race.

Plato's Crito

Plato's dialogue Crito is available both in audiobook and Kindle eBook versions. To get your copy, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

The race: Here is a machine translation of the race report from winner Eli Iserbyt's Team Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal:

After a thriller of a race, Eli Iserbyt won the Superprestigecross in Overijse. And Michael Vanthourenhout, ultimately second, also had a nice share in this.

Eli Iserbyt certainly did not ride an anonymous cross on the flanks of the Tenotsberg Hill in Overijse. Early in the race he took the lead, after which he continued on his own for several laps.

Ultimately, pursuers Thibau Nys, Lars van der Haar and Michael Vanthourenhout managed to catch up. In a razor-sharp duel, a steering error by Nys in the final descent ultimately decided the cross. Eli had taken his first victory of the season, Michael cheered in second. Ryan Kamp finished ninth after a strong recovery.

Complete results: Where no team is given, rider's country is listed.

1 Eli Iserbyt Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal 1hr 0min 44sec
2 Michael Vanthourenhout Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal 0:02
3 Lars Van Der Haar Baloise Trek Lions 0:15
4 Thibau Nys Baloise Trek Lions 0:19
5 Cameron Mason Cyclocross Reds 0:33
6 Gerben Kuypers Circus-Reuz-Technord 0:39
7 Kevin Kuhn Circus-Reuz-Technord 1:01
8 Laurens Sweeck Crelan-Corendon 1:06
9 Ryan Kamp Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal 1:10
10 Niels Vandeputte Alpecin-Deceuninck 1:16
11 Jente Michels Alpecin-Deceuninck 1:22
12 Witse Meeussen Crelan-Corendon 1:30
13 Toon Vandebosch Crelan-Corendon 2:01
14 Pim Ronhaar Baloise Trek Lions 2:13
15 Corné Van Kessel Deschacht-Hens-Maes 2:18
16 Joris Nieuwenhuis Baloise Trek Lions 2:19
17 Thijs Aerts Circus-Reuz-Technord 2:20
18 David Menut AS Bike Racing 2:21
19 Arne Baers Circus-Reuz-Technord 2:35
20 Jens Adams Belgium 2:42
21 Emiel Verstrynge Crelan-Corendon 3:10
22 Joran Wyseure Crelan-Corendon 3:30
23 Ward Huybs Baloise Trek Lions 3:41
24 Lander Loockx Belgium 3:58
25 Aaron Dockx Crelan-Corendon4 3:35
26 Sander De Vet Belgium 4:48
27 Yorben Lauryssen Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal 4:56
28 Marcel Meisen Germany 5:13
29 Mees Hendrikx Crelan-Corendon 5:24
30 Mauro Delmé Belgium 5:46
31 Tom Meeusen Belgium 5:58
32 Robin Alderweireld Belgium 6:00
33 Wout Vervoort Belgium 6:22
34 Arthur Soontjens Belgium 6:32
35 Sil De Brauwere Belgium
36 Ruben Meeusen Belgium
37 Seppe Van Den Boer Baloise Trek Lions
38 Jari Merveillie Belgium
39 Scott Fisher Hope Factory Racing
40 Pieter Pauwels Belgium
41 Yu Takenouchi Japan
42 Philippe Fievez Belgium


Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!


Winner Fem van Empel's nearest chaser is almost a minute back.

Plato's Apology

Plato's dialogue Apology is available in both Kindle eBook & audiobook versions. To get your copy, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

The race: Here's the report from race winner Fem van Empel's Team Jumbo-Visma.

Fem van Empel has won the Superprestige in Overijse with an impressive display of power. The 21-year-old rider of Team Jumbo-Visma pulled away from her rivals from the start. Her lead was never jeopardised. It is Van Empel's third victory of the season.

Van Empel, who won the World Cup in Waterloo last week, set the pace from the start. The reigning world champion immediately put the pressure on her rivals, and by the middle of the first lap, she was ten seconds ahead of the competition.

As the race progressed, Van Empel comfortably extended her lead. Without pushing too hard, the Dutchwoman rode to an unchallenged victory. "I didn't expect to have such a lead", the winner said.

"I wanted to start conservatively, but I felt good and thought: why wait if I can set the pace? At one point, I had a gap and was a little ahead every lap."

The Druivencross, as the race in Overijse is known, is considered one of the most challenging and varied courses on the cyclocross circuit. Van Empel finished second here last year, but this time, she showed that she is best at dealing with the muddy sections and the altitude differences.

"I managed the race well. In some sections, I slowed down a bit and in others, I tried to go faster. I think it was well balanced." After victories in Beringen and Waterloo, this was Van Empel's third cyclocross victory.

Results: Where no team is given, rider's country is listed.

1 Fem van Empel Jumbo-Visma 43min 0sec
2 Ceylin Del Carmen Alvarado Alpecin-Deceuninck @ 54sec
3 Inge Van Der Heijden Crelan-Corendon 1:14
4 Annemarie Worst Cyclocross Reds 1:20
5 Aniek Van Alphen Cyclocross Reds 1:37
6 Denise Betsema Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal 1:48
7 Leonie Bentveld Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal 1:57
8 Hélene Clauzel AS Bike Racing s.t.
9 Anna Kay Cyclocross Reds 2:07
10 Laura Verdonschot De Ceuster-Bonache 2:26
11 Sanne Cant Crelan-Corendon 2:36
12 Marion Norbert Riberolle Crelan-Corendon 2:42
13 Marie Schreiber Luxembourg 3:19
14 Francesca Baroni Hubo-Remotive 3:31
15 Jinse Peeters Proximus-Cyclis-Alphamotorhomes 4:05
16 Julie Brouwers Circus-Reuz-Technord 4:14
17 Lore De Schepper Elgium 4:22
18 Alicia Franck De Ceuster-Bonache 4:38
19 Suzanne Verhoeven De Ceuster-Bonache 5:17
20 Jana Dobbelaere Belgium 5:41
21 Kim Van De Steene Belgium 6:15
22 Maité Barthels Luxembourg 6:20
23 Kiona Crabbé Proximus-Cyclis-Alphamotorhomes 6:22
24 Febe De Smedt Belgium 6:49
25 Alice Colling Great Britain 7:09
26 Lotte Baele De Ceuster-Bonache s.t.
27 Layla Barthels Luxembourg 7:39
28 Lies'L Schevenels De Ceuster-Bonache 8:04
29 Nele De Vos Belgium  
30 Ishbel Strathdee Great Britain  
31 Rebecca Woodvine Great Britain  
32 Kiona Dhont Belgium  
33 Corey Coogan Cisek United States  
34 Ellie Mitchinson Great Britain  
35 Anna Patterson Great Britain  


Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Course map:

2023 Vlaamse Druivenveldrit Cross map