BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2018 European Cyclocross Championships

November 4, 2018: 's-Hertogenbosch, Netherlands

European Cyclocross Championships podium history | 2017 edition | 2019 edition

Elite men | Elite women

The day's racing: Here's the organizer's summary.

A year after his win in Tabor, Mathieu van der Poel (Netherlands) affirmed his Cyclo-Cross European Champion title.

The edition that was raced today in ‘s-Hertogenbosch (Netherlands) watched by a crowd of 10.000 was a highly technical event with four gold medals won by Dutch riders.

Van der Poel, silver medallist this year at the Glasgow Road European Championships had practically no opponents and launched a decisive attack in the second of the nine laps raced, against the World Champion Wout van Aert (Belgium) who could do nothing other than stay in second place. Another Belgian stepped on the third step of the podium, Laurens Sweeck.

The long day in ‘s-Hertogenbosch began with the Men Juniors race dominated by Pim Ronhaar (Netherlands) who achieved a solo win beating the Belgians Witse Meeussen and Thibau Nys.

There was an all Dutch podium in the Women’s Under 23 with the solo victory of Celyn Del Carmen Alvardo ahead of Inge van der Heijden and Fleur Nagengast.

Like last year, the Under 23s race focused on the battle between the British rider Tom Pidcock and the Belgian World Champion and current European Champion Ely Iserbyt. Pidcock controlled the race right from the start by attacking and then won in solo beating Iserbyt. Third place went to the Frenchman Antoine Benoist.

The Women’s Elite race was particularly exciting with Dutch riders also making their mark here. Immediately after the start, a breakaway group with Marianne Vos, Annemarie Worst, Denise Betsema, dominated a large part of the race together with the Belgians Ellen van Loy, Sanne Cant and Loes Sels. In the final stages, the young Annemarie Worst launched a decisive attack, managing to cross the finish line only 2” ahead of Marianne Vos and Denise Betsema.

Rocco Cattaneo, President of the Union Européenne de Cyclisme: "In ‘s-Hertogenbosch we have enjoyed a great event and not just in sporting terms. The extensive TV coverage, the public who attended the races and the perfect organisation of the event confirms that today we have witnessed a true change in the discipline of Cyclo-Cross. The format that we introduced appears to be working and in the future we are planning other initiatives that will ultimately strengthen the position of Cyclo-Cross in the international cycling movement. One of the new features is without doubt the creation of a European title for the Women Juniors which will be awarded for the first time next year at the continental event that will be held in Silvelle (Italy) on 9 and 10 November."

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames


Men Elite Complete results:

Mathieu Van der Poel

Mathieu Van der Poel finishes nearly a quarter of a minute ahead of his nearest chaser.

26.92 kilometers raced at an average speed of 25.805 km/hr

1 VAN DER POEL Mathieu 1hr 2min 35sec
2 VAN AERT Wout @ 14sec
3 SWEECK Laurens @ 18sec
4 VANTHOURENHOUT Michael @ 30sec
5 AERTS Toon @ 33sec
6 VAN DER HAAR Lars @ 37sec
7 NIEUWENHUIS Joris @ 1min 8sec
8 HERMANS Quinten @ 1min 13sec
9 VERMEERSCH Gianni @ 1min 15sec
10 SOETE Daan @ 1min 16sec
11 MERLIER Tim @ 1min 24sec
12 VAN KESSEL Corne @ 1min 56sec
13 VAN DER POEL David @ 1min 57sec
14 CHAINEL Steve @ 2min 0sec
15 BOROŠ Michael @ 2min 33sec
16 WOUTERS Sieben @ 2min 42sec
17 GODRIE Stan @ 2min 44sec
18 BERTOLINI Gioele @ 3min 20sec
19 MENUT David @ 3mn 28sec
20 WILDHABER Marcel @ 3min 32sec
21 RÜEGG Timon @ 3min 24sec
22 DUBAU Joshua @ 3min 47sec
23 BOULO Matthieu @ 3min 50ssec
24 SÄGESSER Severin @ 3min 51sec
25 KONWA Marek @ 3min 54sec
26 PAPRSTKA Tomáš @ 3min 55sec
27 NESVADBA Jan @ 4min 33sec
28 ZAHNER Simon @ 4min 49sec
29 VAN DER MEER Gosse @ 5min 30sec
30 CANAL Fabien @ 6min 5sec
31 GLAJZA Ondrej @ 1 lap
32 HARING Martin @ 1 lap
33 JANSSON Henrik @ 1 lap
34 ERIKSSON David @ 2 laps
35 MÜLLER Manuel @ 2 laps
36 ERIKSSON Martin @ 2 laps
37 HANSEN Kenneth @ 3 laps
38 PARBO Joachim @ 4 laps
39 LINDSEL Jacob @ 4 laps
39 MEISEN Marcel DNF


Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!


Elite Women complete results:

Annemarie Worst

Annemarie Worst finished just ahead of her Dutch teammates

15.0 kilometers raced at an average speed of 22.272 km/hr

1 WORST Annemarie 40min 24sec
2 VOS Marianne @ 2sec
3 BETSEMA Denise s.t.
4 CANT Sanne @ 10sec
5 VAN LOY Ellen @ 31sec
6 SELS Loes @ 37sec
7 ARZUFFI Alice Maria @ 1min 8sec
8 BRAMMEIER Nikki @ 1min 16sec
9 WYMAN Helen @ 1min 21sec
10 VERDONSCHOT Laura @ 1min 26sec
11 VAN DE STEENE Kim @ 1min 28sec
12 HAVLÍKOVÁ Pavla @ 1min 36sec
13 KAPTHEIJNS Maud @ 2min 13sec
14 ŠTĚPÁNOVÁ Karla @ 2min 23sec
15 WITLOX Lizzy @ 2min 37sec
16 MAJERUS Christine @ 2min 53sec
17 GARIBOLDI Rebecca @ 2min 58sec
18 BARHOUMI Zina @ 2min 59sec
19 HOEKE Geerte @ 3min 29sec
20 CRUMPTON Bethany @ 3min 52sec
21 PAUL Stefanie @ 3min 53sec
22 HEIGL Nadja @ 4min 4sec
23 ERNGREN Ida @ 4min 5sec
24 SMIDTH KNUDSEN Viktoria @ 4min 55sec
29 THRANE Kristina DNF


Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!