BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2012 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

(formerly Het Volk) (HC), Belgium

67th edition: Saturday, February 25: Results

2011 edition | 2013 edition | Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history |
Course map & profile

Gent - Gent, 200 km / 41.016 km/hr
195 starters / 121 finishers

Sep Vanmarcke

Sep Vanmarcke wins in front of Tom Boonen and Juan Antonio Flecha

Tour of Flanders, the Inside Story

The Race: The first big selection occurred with 60 kilometers to go, on the Taaienberg ascent. A few important riders missed the break, but a few kilometers later all the big boys, Philippe Gilbert excepted, were up front and in the hunt. Gilbert has suffered a pari of flat tires, ruining his chances that day.

With 31 kilometers left to race, Sep Vanmarcke attacked on the cobbles of the Paddestraat. Many were dropped, but it left both Tom Boonen and Juan Antonio Flecha with teammates.

Vanmarkce went again and now, with 20 kilometers to the finish, it was just Vanmarcke, Bonnen and Flecha.

Vanmarcke tried to slip away in the final kilometer, but Boonen was having none of it. That meant it would come down to a sprint, which played to Boonen's favor.

Boonen led it out, but even after all the work he had done, Vanmarcke went right on by to earn the biggest win of his career.

Complete list of classified finishers:

  1. Sep Vanmarcke (Garmin-Barricuda) 4hr 52min 34sec.
  2. Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  3. Juan Antonio Flecha (Sky) s.t.
  4. Heinrich Haussler (Garmin-Barricuda) @ 25sec
  5. Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) s.t.
  6. Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  7. Lloyd Mondory (Ag2r) s.t.
  8. Matthieu Ladagnous (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  9. Alexandre Pichot (Europcar) s.t.
  10. Staf Scheirlinckx (Accent Jobs-Willems Veranda's) s.t.
  11. John Degenkolb (Project 1t4i)
  12. Luca Paolini (Katusha) s.t.
  13. Maarten Wynants (Rabobank) s.t.
  14. Kristof Goddaert (Ag2r) s.t.
  15. Bobbie Traksel (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  16. Sébastien Turgot (Europcar) s.t.
  17. Leif Hoste (Accent Jobs-Willems Veranda's) s.t.
  18. Oscar Gatto (Farnese Vini) s.t.
  19. Jelle Wallays (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  20. Fédéric Amorison (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  21. Sylvain Chavanel (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  22. Davy Commeyne (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  23. Bernard Eisel (Sky) s.t.
  24. Mathew Hayman (Sky) s.t.
  25. Laurens De Vreese (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  26. Ian Stannard (Sky) s.t.
  27. Christian Knees (Sky) s.t.
  28. Dominique Rollin (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  29. Thor Hushovd (BMC) s.t.
  30. Matti Breschel (Rabobank) @ 36sec
  31. Philippe Gilbert (BMC) @ 41sec
  32. Koen De Kort (Project 1t4i) s.t.
  33. Stijn Vanenbergh (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 51sec
  34. Dries Devenyns (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  35. Andreas Klier (Garmin-Barricuda) @ 54sec
  36. Bram Tankink (Rabobank) @ 59sec
  37. Marcus Burghardt (BMC) @ 1min 5sec
  38. Alessandro Ballan (BMC) @ 1min 32sec
  39. Aleksejs Saramotins (Cofidis) @ 5min 22sec
  40. Kevin Hulsmans (Farnese Vini) @ 5min 22sec
  41. Laszlo Bodrogi (Team Type 1) @ 5min 30sec
  42. Ramon Sinkeldam (Project 1t4i) s.t.
  43. Mirko Selvaggi (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  44. Taylor Phinney (BMC) s.t.
  45. Vegard Stake Laengen (Team Type 1) s.t.
  46. Vicente Reynes (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  47. Jens Debusschere (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  48. Maxime Vantomme (Katusha) s.t.
  49. Sébastien Hinault (Ag2r) s.t.
  50. Marcel Sieberg (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  51. Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  52. Romain Lemarchand (Ag2r) s.t.
  53. Johan Le Bon (Bretagne-Schuller) s.t.
  54. Stijn Devolder (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  55. James Van Landschoot (Accent Jobs-Willems Vernada's) s.t.
  56. Tomas Vaitkus (GreenEdge) s.t.
  57. Renaud Dion (Bretagne-Schuller) s.t.
  58. Bjorn Leukemans (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  59. Jens Keukeleire (GreenEdge) s.t.
  60. Arnaud Gerard (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  61. Vincent Jerome (Europcar) s.t.
  62. Steve Houanard (Ag2r) s.t.
  63. Anthony Geslin (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  64. Angelo Tulik (Europcar) s.t.
  65. Gerald Ciolek (Omega Pharma- Quick Step) s.t.
  66. Frederik Willems (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  67. Manuel Quinziato (BMC) s.t.
  68. Mickael Delage (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  69. Ole Gabriel Rasch (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  70. Sven Vandousselaere (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  71. Bert De Waele (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  72. Koen Barbe (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  73. Gert Steegmans (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  74. Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) s.t.
  75. Jeremy Hunt (Sky) s.t.
  76. Christopher Sutton (Sky) s.t.
  77. Maarten Tjallingii (Rabobank) s.t.
  78. Lieuwe Westra (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  79. William Bonnet (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  80. Stijn Neirynck (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  81. David Veilleux (Europcar) @ 7min 45sec
  82. Edwig Cammaerts (Cofidis) s.t.
  83. Markus Eichler (NetApp) s.t.
  84. Evert Verbist (Accent Jobs-Willems Veranda's) s.t.
  85. Rob Goris (Accent Jobs-Willems Veranda's) s.t.
  86. Preben Van Hecke (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  87. Frederik Veuchelen (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  88. Romain Zingle (Cofidis) s.t.
  89. Aliaksandr Kuschynski (Katusha) s.t.
  90. Jack Bauer (Garmin-Barricuda) s.t.
  91. Baden Cooke (GreenEdge) s.t.
  92. Dirk Bellemakers (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  93. Andreas Schillinger (NetApp) s.t.
  94. Guillaume Boivin (Spidertech) s.t.
  95. Jérôme Baugnies (NetApp) s.t.
  96. Michael Schär (BMC) s.t.
  97. Martin Elmiger (Ag2r) s.t.
  98. Paul Martins (Rabobank) s.t.
  99. Maxim Belkov (Katusha) s.t.
  100. Pier Paolo De Negri (Farnese Vini) s.t.
  101. Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) s.t.
  102. Marco Haller (Katusha) s.t.
  103. Mathieu Halleguen (Bretagne-Schuller) s.t.
  104. Florian Vachon (Bretagne-Schuller) s.t.
  105. Jean-Lou Paiani (Saur-Sojasun) s.t.
  106. Manuel Belletti (Ag2r) s.t.
  107. Lars Boom (Rabobank) s.t.
  108. Martijn Maaskant (Garmin-Barricuda) s.t.
  109. Ramunas Navardauskas (Garmin-Barricuda) s.t.
  110. Nico Sijmens (Cofidis) s.t.
  111. Egidijus Juodvalkis (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  112. Carlos Barredo (Rabobank) s.t.
  113. Kevyn Ista (Accent Jobs-Willems Veranda's) @ 12min 44sec
  114. Arnoud Van Groen (Accent Jobs-Willems Veranda's) s.t.
  115. Martijn Verschoor (Team Type 1) s.t.
  116. Davod Boucher (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  117. Leonardo Giordani (Farnese Vini) s.t.
  118. Timon Seubert (Net App) s.t.
  119. Christophe Laborie (Saur-Sojasun) s.t.
  120. Sander Cordeel (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  121. Andy Cappelle (Accent Jobs-Willems Veranda's) s.t.

2012 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad map and profile:

2012 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad map & profile