BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2011 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad (HC)

(formerly Omllop Het Volk)

66th edition: Saturday, February 26, 2011

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 2010 edition | 2012 edition
Race story | Complete results | Course map

Ghent - Ghent, 203 km / 38.296 km/hr
171 starters / 97 finishers 74 abandons

Sebastian Langeveld, Juan Antonio Flecha

Sebastian Langeveld (left) wins his first big race in years.

The race: It was a wet February day in Belgium when 171 riders set off from Ghent to race the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad.

On the Eikenberg (km 149) ascent with three more climbs yet to go, Rabobank rider Sebastian Langeveld blasted away from the pack. His move caught the other favorites by surprise. The big guns usually wait for a later climb to attack.

Langeveld was gone. Almost.

Twenty kilometers after Langelveld has flown the coop, Juan Antonio Flecha took off after him. At this point Langeveld was a minute up the road. When Flecha got within twenty seconds of his prey, Langeveld decided to ease up and wait for the hard-chasing Spaniard.

The two worked together, but Flecha was out suds while Langeveld was enjoying superb form.

Langeveld easily won the sprint, giving the Dutchman his first big win since 2007, when he won the Ster Elektrotoer.

Complete Results:

  1. Sebastian Langeveld (Rabobank) 5hr 18min 3sec.
  2. Juan Antonio Flecha (Sky) s.t.
  3. Mathew Hayman (Sky) @ 1min 1sec
  4. Yoann Offredo (FDJ) @ 1min 4sec
  5. Luca Paolini (Katusha) @ 1min 21sec
  6. Niki Terpstra (Quick Step) @ 1min 24sec
  7. Martijn Maaskant (Garmin-Cervelo) @ 1min 30sec
  8. Manuel Quinziato (BMC) s.t.
  9. Jurgen Roelandts (Omega Pharma-Lotto) s.t.
  10. Lars Boom (Rabobank) s.t.
  11. Frédéric Amorison (Landbouwkrediet) @ 1min 34sec
  12. John Degenkolb (HTC-Highroad) @ 1min 39sec
  13. Wouter Weylandt (Leopard-Trek) @ 5min 5sec
  14. Sébastien Hinault (Ag2r) s.t.
  15. Nikolay Trusov (Katusha) s.t.
  16. Dominique Rollin (FDJ) s.t.
  17. Maarten Wynants (Rabobank) s.t.
  18. Russell Downing (Sky) s.t.
  19. Koen Barbe (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  20. Bjorn Leukemans (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  21. Maxime Vantomme (Katusha) s.t.
  22. Michael Schär (BMC) s.t.
  23. Aleksejs Saramotins (Cofidis) s.t.
  24. Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  25. Sylvain Chavanel (Quick Step) s.t.
  26. Tom Stamsnijder (Leopard-Trek) s.t.
  27. Ian Stannard (Sky) s.t.
  28. Leif Hoste (Katusha) s.t.
  29. Kevin Van Impe (Quick Step) s.t.
  30. Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) s.t.
  31. Sébastien Turgot (Europcar) s.t.
  32. Maarten Tjallingii (Rabobank) s.t.
  33. Thor Hushovd (Garmin-Cervelo) s.t.
  34. Andreas Klier (Garmin-Cervelo) s.t.
  35. Tom Boonen (Quick Step) s.t.
  36. Nikolas Maes (Quick Step) s.t.
  37. Hayden Roulston (HTC-Highroad) s.t.
  38. Jan Ghyselinck (HTC-Highroad) s.t.
  39. Gianni Meersman (FDJ) s.t.
  40. Sébastien Minard (Ag2r) s.t.
  41. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky) s.t.
  42. Marcus Burghardt (BMC) s.t.
  43. Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto) s.t.
  44. Dries Devenyns (Quick Step) s.t.
  45. Staf Scheirlinckx (Veranda's Willems-Accent) @ 9min 22sec
  46. Lars Ytting Bak (HTC-Highroad) @ 10min 41sec
  47. Kristof Goddaert (Ag2r) s.t.
  48. Pieter Jacobs (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  49. Bert de Backer (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  50. Alex Rasmussen (HTC-Highroad) s.t.
  51. Jean-Luc Delpech (Bretagne-Schuller) s.t.
  52. Arnaud Labbe (Cofidis) s.t.
  53. Jens Keukeleire (Cofidis) s.t.
  54. Marcel Sieberg (Omega Pharma-Lotto) s.t.
  55. Jelle Wallays (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  56. Bram Schmitz (Veranda's Willems-Accent) s.t.
  57. Roy Curvers (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  58. Koen de Kort (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  59. Wim de Vocht (Veranda's Willems-Accent) s.t.
  60. Michael Barry (Sky) s.t.
  61. Stijn Devolder (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  62. Anthony Geslin (FDJ) s.t.
  63. Matthieu Ladagnous (FDJ) s.t.
  64. Johan Coenen (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  65. Karsten Kroon (BMC) s.t.
  66. Lloyd Mondory (Ag2r) s.t.
  67. Serguei Ivanov (Katusha) s.t.
  68. Jos van Emden (Rabobank) s.t.
  69. Dominic Klemme (Leopard-Trek) s.t.
  70. Vincent Jerome (Europcar) s.t.
  71. Laurens Ten Dam (Rabobank) s.t.
  72. Alexandre Pichot (Europcar) s.t.
  73. Rick Flens (Rabobank) s.t.
  74. Roger Hammond (Garmin-Cervelo) s.t.
  75. Cyril Lemoine (Saur-Sojason) s.t.
  76. Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) s.t.
  77. Geert Steurs (Topsort Vlaanderen) @ 14min 29sec
  78. Thomas de Gendt (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  79. Dieter Cappelle (Veranda's Willems-Accent) s.t.
  80. Vicente Reynes (Omega Pharma-lotto) s.t.
  81. William Clarke (Leopard-Trek) s.t.
  82. Vladimir Isaichev (Katusha) s.t.
  83. Dominique Cornu (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  84. Alessandro Donati (Acqua & Sapone) s.t.
  85. David Millar (Garmin-Cervelo) s.t.
  86. Bobby Traksel (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  87. Geert Verheyen (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  88. Johan Le Bon (Bretagne-Schuller) s.t.
  89. Dimitri Claeys (Netapp) s.t.
  90. Timon Seubert (Netapp) s.t.
  91. Anthony Delaplace (Saur-Sojasun) s.t.
  92. James Vanlandschoot (Veranda's Willems-Accent) s.t.
  93. Arnaud van Groen (Veranda's Willems-Accent) s.t.
  94. Damien Gaudin (Europcar) s.t.
  95. Bernhard Eisel (HTC-Highroad) s.t.
  96. Gabriel Rasch (Garmin-Cervelo) s.t.
  97. Tristan Valentin (Cofidis) s.t.

2011 Route map

2011 route map