BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2002 Omloop Het Volk (HC)

This race is now "Omloop Het Nieuwsblad"

56th edition: Saturday March 2, 2002

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 2001 edition | 2003 edition

Ghent-Lokeren, 202 km / 41.436 km/hr
? starters / 95 classified finishers

Peter van Petegem

Peter van Petegem wins his third Het Volk, this time in front of Frank Hoj.

Race preview: The Belgian season opener has 10 climbs and 18 km of cobbles as it wanders around the Flemish countryside from Ghent to Lokeren, looking like a piece of intestine as the route doubles back on itself. While Michele Bartoli (sick) and Vandenbrouck will not be there, there will be plenty of superb racers to make this a well-contested race. Here are some of the notable riders scheduled to race:

Fassa Bortolo: Baldato
Tacconi: Bortolami
Telekom: Hondo, Hundertmark, Klier
Bankgiroloterij: Voskamp
CSC-Tiscali: Piziks, N. Jalabert
Rabobank: Wauters, Den Bakker
Credit Agricole: O'Grady
Mapei: Bettini, Nardello, Steels
Lotto: Tchmil, Van Petegem
Landboukrediet: Sorensen
Cofidis: Mattan, Planckaert
Ag2R: Kirsipuu
US Postal: Hincapie
Jean Delatour: Brochard
RDM-Flanders: McCauley
Domo: Museeuw, Knaven
Bonjour: Nazon
Lampre: Sciandri, Dierckxsens
FDJ: Durand, Casper

The race: After just seven kilometers, Hans de Meester and Pascal Deramé scooted off the front and weren't seen again for almost 80 kilometers. After the duo was caught, the breaks started firing off the front. Each time there would be an attempt to escape and every time the break would get caught.

After the Molenberg ascent, the big boys went away, and that was the race. Lotto-Adecco had four riders in the break: Andrei Tchmil, Peter van Petegem, Glenn D'Hollander and Robbie McEwen. The race was theirs to lose.

With 19 kilometers to go, Team Coast's Frank Hoj didn't want to wait for the inevitable Lotto hammering and took off. After a careful wait, Van Petegem blasted up the road and quickly closed the gap to Hoj. The two were able maintain a small lead to the finish.

Peter Van Petegem was in stunning condition and easily outsprinted Hoj for his third Omloop Het Volk victory.

Though van Petegem looked to be in good form to win lots more races that Spring, his only other major victory in 2002 was Three Days of De Panne.

Complete Results:

1 Peter Van Petegem  Lotto-Adecco 4hr 52min 30sec
2 Frank Høj  Coast s.t.
3 Michel Van Haecke  Landbouwkrediet-Colnago @ 15sec
4 Robbie McEwen  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
5 Paolo Bettini  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
6 Kevin Hulsmans  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
7 Andrei Tchmil  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
8 Hendrik Van Dyck  Palmans-Collstrop s.t.
9 Jo Planckaert  Cofidis s.t.
10 Chris Peers  Cofidis s.t.
11 Glenn D'Hollander  Lotto-Adecco 2'15''
12 Rolf Sørensen  Landbouwkrediet-Colnago 2'22''
13 László Bodrogi  Mapei-Quick Step mt
14 Karsten Kroon  Rabobank s.t.
15 Geoffrey Demeyere  Vlaanderen-T Interim s.t.
16 Steven De Jongh  Rabobank s.t.
17 Cédric Vasseur  Cofidis s.t.
18 Thor Hushovd  Crédit Agricole s.t.
19 Raphael Schweda  Coast s.t.
20 Maximilian Sciandri  Lampre-Daikin 2'37''
21 Gianluca Bortolami  Tacconi Sport s.t.
22 Mathew Hayman  Rabobank s.t.
23 Staf Scheirlinckx  Palmans-Collstrop s.t.
24 Ludovic Capelle  AG2R Prévoyance 9'22''
25 Lars Michaelsen  Coast s.t.
26 Torsten Schmidt  Gerolsteiner s.t.
27 Malte Urban  Coast s.t.
28 Jan Verstraeten  Vlaanderen-T Interim s.t.
29 Laurent Brochard  Jean Delatour 9'34''
30 René Haselbacher  Gerolsteiner s.t.
31 Servais Knaven  Domo-Farm Frites s.t.
32 Benoît Joachim  US Postal Service s.t.
33 Tom Desmet  Marlux-Ville de Charleroi s.t.
34 Aart Vierhouten  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
35 Steffen Wesemann  Deutsche Telekom s.t.
36 Paolo Bossoni  Tacconi Sport s.t.
37 Matthé Pronk  Rabobank s.t.
38 Yoeri Beyens  Vlaanderen-T Interim s.t.
39 Ralf Grabsch  Deutsche Telekom s.t.
40 Frédéric Guesdon  La Française des Jeux s.t.
41 Nicola Loda  Fassa Bortolo s.t.
42 Coen Boerman  Rabobank s.t.
43 Jean-Patrick Nazon  La Française des Jeux s.t.
44 Gerben Löwik  BankGiroLoterij-Batavus s.t.
45 Christopher Jenner  Crédit Agricole s.t.
46 Sven Nys  Rabobank s.t.
47 Stuart O'Grady  Crédit Agricole s.t.
48 Saulius Ruskys  Gerolsteiner s.t.
49 Emmanuel Magnien  Bonjour s.t.
50 Bert Scheirlinckx  RDM-Flanders s.t.
51 Gabriele Balducci  Tacconi Sport s.t.
52 Dario Pieri  Alessio s.t.
53 Mario Aerts  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
54 Franck Renier  Bonjour s.t.
55 Fabian De Waele  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
56 Roberto Petito  Fassa Bortolo s.t.
57 Kim Kirchen  Fassa Bortolo s.t.
58 Nicolas Jalabert  CSC-Tiscali s.t.
59 Peter Farazijn  Cofidis s.t.
60 Pavel Padrnos  US Postal Service s.t.
61 Johan Museeuw  Domo-Farm Frites s.t.
62 Nico Eeckhout  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
63 Tom Boonen  US Postal Service s.t.
64 Tristan Hoffman  CSC-Tiscali s.t.
65 Piotr Wadecki  Domo-Farm Frites s.t.
66 Paul Van Hyfte  CSC-Tiscali s.t.
67 Marc Wauters  Rabobank s.t.
68 Andreas Klier  Deutsche Telekom s.t.
69 Geert Van Bondt  CSC-Tiscali s.t.
70 Kristof Trouve  Palmans-Collstrop s.t.
71 Björn Leukemans  Palmans-Collstrop s.t.
72 Martin Hvastija  Alessio s.t.
73 Andrej Hauptman  Tacconi Sport s.t.
74 Dario David Cioni  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
75 Sergey Ivanov  Fassa Bortolo s.t.
76 Denis Zanette  Fassa Bortolo s.t.
77 Enrico Cassani  Domo-Farm Frites s.t.
78 Fabio Baldato  Fassa Bortolo s.t.
79 Jaan Kirsipuu  AG2R Prévoyance s.t.
80 Nico Mattan  Cofidis s.t.
81 Cristian Moreni  Alessio s.t.
82 Steven Van Malderghem  Landbouwkrediet-Colnago s.t.
83 Jan Boven  Rabobank s.t.
84 Bart Voskamp  BankGiroLoterij-Batavus s.t.
85 Robert Sassone  Cofidis s.t.
86 Stephan Schreck  Deutsche Telekom 13'00''
87 Bruno Thibout  Jean Delatour 13'42''
88 Sébastien Hinault  Crédit Agricole s.t.
89 Matthew Wilson  La Française des Jeux s.t.
90 Jürgen Landrie  RDM-Flanders s.t.
91 Jérôme Neuville  Cofidis s.t.
92 Nicolay Bo Larsen  Gerolsteiner s.t.
93 Pascal Derame  Bonjour s.t.
94 Andy Flickinger  AG2R Prévoyance s.t.
95 Stijn Vanstraelen  RDM-Flanders s.t.