BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2001 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Omloop Het Nieuwsblad"

55th edition: March 3, 2001

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 2000 edition | 2002 edition

Ghent-Lokeren, 200 km / 41.096 km/hr
196 starters / 70 classified finishers

Results | Photos

Michele Bartoli

Michele Bartoli wins the opening Belgian race of the 2001 season wearing the Italian Champion's jersey.

The race: The 2001 edition of the Omloop Het Volk, the first big Belgian race of the season, had nine rated ascents and 18 kilometers of cobblestones. That was more than enough to test the peloton.

After eighteen kilometers of racing, seven riders were finally able to get clear of the peloton. They were kept on a short leash and by the 84th kilometer at the Muur van Geraardsbergen (or Mur de Grammont in French), the septet had a gap of four minutes.

That was close enough for riders like Michele Bartoli and Andrei Tchmil to bridge across. Others followed and after 120 kilometers of racing, the front group had swelled to 17.

Soon the front group was hammered by attack after attack. No one stayed off the front of that group for long, but seven were dropped.

And still the attacks kept coming. And still, no one could get away.

Michele Bartoli led out the sprint, crossing the line first. He thought this was sign of a superb season to come. But that was Bartoli's only big win in 2001. 2002 saw Bartoli get five big wins, including Amstel Gold and the Tour of Lombardy.

Complete Results:

1 Michele Bartoli  Mapei-Quick Step 4hr 52min
2 Hendrik Van Dyck  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
3 Matthé Pronk  Rabobank s.t.
4 Arvis Piziks  CSC-World Online s.t.
5 Fabian De Waele  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
6 Daniele Nardello  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
7 Maarten Den Bakker  Rabobank s.t.
8 Paul Van Hyfte  Lotto-Adecco @ 18sec
9 Didier Rous  Bonjour @ 2min 15sec
10 Pieter Vries  BankGiroLoterij-Batavus 2'58''
11 Hans De Meester  Collstrop-Palmans 5'49''
12 Frank Høj  Team Coast s.t.
13 Andreas Klier  Deutsche Telekom s.t.
14 Mauro Radaelli  Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola s.t.
15 Emmanuel Magnien  FDJ s.t.
16 Peter Van Petegem  Mercury-Viatel s.t.
17 Gianluca Bortolami  Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola s.t.
18 Rolf Sørensen  CSC-World Online s.t.
19 Sergey Ivanov  Fassa Bortolo s.t.
20 Geert Omloop  Collstrop-Palmans s.t.
21 Nico Eeckhout  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
22 Hans De Clercq  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
23 Fabrice Salanson  Bonjour s.t.
24 Ivan Basso  Fassa Bortolo s.t.
25 Peter Farazijn  Cofidis s.t.
26 Gordon McCauley  Landbouwkrediet-Colnago 11'02''
27 Denis Lunghi  Colpack Astro s.t.
28 Lars Michaelsen  Team Coast s.t.
29 Roger Hammond  Collstrop-Palmans s.t.
30 Michel Van Haecke  Landbouwkrediet-Colnago s.t.
31 Tom Desmet  BankGiroLoterij-Batavus s.t.
32 Frédéric Guesdon  FDJ s.t.
33 Alessandro Cortinovis  Colpack Astro s.t.
34 Jan Schaffrath  Deutsche Telekom s.t.
35 Christophe Mengin  FDJ s.t.
36 Andrei Tchmil  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
37 Koen Beeckman  CSC-World Online s.t.
38 Andrej Hauptman  Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola s.t.
39 Tom Flammang  Cofidis s.t.
40 Ludovic Capelle  AG2R Prévoyance-Décathlon s.t.
41 Thierry Marichal  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
42 Nicolay Bo Larsen  CSC-World Online s.t.
43 Kim Kirchen  Fassa Bortolo s.t.
44 Aart Vierhouten  Rabobank s.t.
45 Sven Nys  Rabobank s.t.
46 Bart Voskamp  BankGiroLoterij-Batavus s.t.
47 Bert Hiemstra  BankGiroLoterij-Batavus s.t.
48 Max Van Heeswijk  Domo-Farm Frites-Latexco s.t.
49 Bart Leysen  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
50 Jurgen Van Roosbroeck  Vlaanderen-T Interim s.t.
51 Thor Hushovd  Crédit Agricole s.t.
52 Stuart O'Grady  Crédit Agricole s.t.
53 Roberto Petito  Fassa Bortolo s.t.
54 Bert Scheirlinckx  Collstrop-Palmans s.t.
55 Jo Planckaert  Cofidis s.t.
56 Matthias Kessler  Deutsche Telekom s.t.
57 Matteo Tosatto  Fassa Bortolo s.t.
58 Ludo Dierckxsens  Lampre-Daikin s.t.
59 Wilfried Peeters  Domo-Farm Frites-Latexco s.t.
60 Jurgen Guns  Vlaanderen-T Interim s.t.
61 Paolo Bossoni  Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola s.t.
62 Chris Peers  Cofidis s.t.
63 Nico Mattan  Cofidis s.t.
64 Raphael Schweda  Team Coast s.t.
65 Wim Vansevenant  Mercury-Viatel s.t.
66 Stefano Zanini  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
67 Geert Van Bondt  Mercury-Viatel s.t.
68 Luca Scinto  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
69 Zbigniew Spruch  Lampre-Daikin s.t.
70 Romans Vainsteins  Domo-Farm Frites-Latexco s.t.

2001 Het Volk Race photos by Fotoreporter Sirotti:

Michele Bartolo

Michele Bartoli on the Grammont

Michele Bartoli

There was enough painful Pavé to break things up.

Michele Bartoli

Maruo Radaelli (Tacconi Sport) and Bartoli round a corner.

Michele Bartoli

The race is Bartoli's. Lotto's Hendrik van Dyck is second.

Michele Bartoli

And Bartoli gets the big trophy