BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italit, volume 1 Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1999 Tour of Flanders - Ronde van Vlaanderen (World Cup)

83rd edition: Sunday, April 4, 2001

Podium history of the Tour of Flanders | 2000 edition | 1998 edition

Brugge - Meerbeke, 270 km. 189 starters, 73 classified finishers

Ascents: Den Ast, Achterberg, Wolvenberg, Molenberg, Kluisberg, Knokteberg, Oude Kwaremont, Paterberg, Kortekeer, Taaienberg, Eikenberg, Leberg, Berendries, Muur van Geraardsbergen, Bosberg

The race: On the second to the last climb (Muur de Geraardsbergen or Mur de Grammont) Frank Vandenbroucke and Marcus Zberg crashed, sparking an attack from Peter van Petegem, who took only Johan Museeuw with him. Vandenbroucke successfully chased, but had no suds left for the sprint, taken by Peter Van Petegem.

Peter van Petegem wins the 1999 Ronde van Vlaanderen

Complete results:

  1. Peter Van Petegem (TVM-Farm Frites) 6hr 15min 0sec. 43.20 km/hr
  2. Frank Vandenbroucke (Cofidis) s.t.
  3. Johan Museeuw (Mapei) @ 1sec
  4. Michele Bartoli (Mapei) @ 8sec
  5. Zbiniew Spruch (Lampre) s.t.
  6. Marcus Zberg (Rabobank) s.t.
  7. Andrei Tchmil (Lotto-Mobistar) s.t.
  8. Tristan Hoffman (TVM-Farm Frites) s.t.
  9. Denis Zanette (Polti) s.t.
  10. Lars Michaelsen (FDJ) s.t.
  11. Franco Ballerini (Lampre) s.t.
  12. Maximilian Sciandri (FDJ) s.t.
  13. Daniele Nardello (Mapei) s.t.
  14. Wilfried Peeters (Mapei) s.t.
  15. Gabriele Colombo (Cantina Tollo) s.t.
  16. Rolf Sorensen (Rabobank) s.t.
  17. Peter Farazijn (Cofidis) s.t.
  18. Maarten Den Bakker (Rabobank) s.t.
  19. Marc Wauters (Rabobank) @ 34sec
  20. Chris Peers (Lotto-Mobistar) @ 55sec
  21. George Hincapie (US Postal) @ 1min 4sec
  22. Erik Zabel (Telekom) s.t.
  23. Leon Van Bon (Rabobank) s.t.
  24. Gian Matteo Fagnini (Saeco) s.t.
  25. Romans Vainsteins (Vini Caldirola) s.t.
  26. Ludo Dierckxsens (Lampre) s.t.
  27. Michael Van Haecke (Tonissteiner) s.t.
  28. Hans De Clercq (Palmans-Ideal) s.t.
  29. Gianluca Bortolami (Vini Caldirola) @ 1min 52sec
  30. Enrico Cassani (Polti) s.t.
  31. Fabiano Fontanelli (Mercatone Uno) s.t.
  32. Mario Aerts (Lotto-Mobistar) s.t.
  33. Fabrizio Guidi (Polti) s.t.
  34. Servais Knaven (TVM-Farm Frites) s.t.
  35. Davide Casarotto (TVM-Farm Frites) s.t.
  36. Hendrick Van Dyck (TVM-Farm Frites) s.t.
  37. Geert Van Bondt (TVM-Farm Frites) s.t.
  38. Gianpaolo Mondini (Cantini Tollo) s.t.
  39. Marty Jemison (US Postal) s.t.
  40. Frankie Andreu (US Postal) s.t.
  41. Andrea Tafi (Mapei) s.t.
  42. Thierry Marichal (Lotto-Mobistar) s.t.
  43. Stuart O'Grady (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  44. Kristof Trouve (Vlaanderen 2002) s.t.
  45. Andreas Klier (TVM-Farm Frites) s.t.
  46. Laurent Roux (Casino) s.t.
  47. Lauri Aus (Casino) s.t.
  48. Sergio Barbero (Mercatone Uno) s.t.
  49. Johan Verstrepen (Lampre) s.t.
  50. Andrei Kivilev (Festina) s.t.
  51. Henk Vogels (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  52. Kurt Van Lancker (Vlaanderen 2002) s.t.
  53. Matthew White (Vini Caldirola) s.t.
  54. Mauro Raedelli (Vini Caldirola) s.t.
  55. Stéphane Barthe (Casino) s.t.
  56. Guido Trenti (Cantina Tollo) s.t.
  57. Christophe Mengin (FDJ) s.t.
  58. Massimiliano Mori (Saeco) s.t.
  59. Rossano Brasi (Polti) s.t.
  60. Massimo Apollonio (Vini Caldirola) s.t.
  61. Ermanno Brignoli (Merctone Uno) s.t.
  62. Wim Feys (Lotto-Mobistar) s.t.
  63. Steffen Wesemann (Telekom) s.t.
  64. Stefano Zanini (Mapei) s.t.
  65. Christian Vande Velde (US Postal) s.t.
  66. Franky De Buyst (Tonissteiner) @ 14min 28sec
  67. Rolf Aldag (Telekom) s.t.
  68. Tom Stremersch (Vlaanderen 2002) @ 16min 5sec
  69. Arnaud Pretot (Cofidis) s.t.
  70. Davy Delme (Tonissteiner) s.t.
  71. Franz Hotz (Festina) s.t.
  72. Arnoldas Saprykinas (Riso Scotti) s.t.
  73. Glenn Magnusson (US postal) s.t.