BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italit, volume 1 Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1998 Tour of Flanders - Ronde van Vlaanderen (World Cup)

82nd edition: Sunday, April 5, 1998

Podium history of the Tour of Flanders | Photos | 1999 edition | 1997 edition

Brugge - Ninove, 277 km. 245 riders signed to start, 74 classified finishers

Ascents: Den Ast, Kattenberg, Achterberg, Molenberg, Kluisberg, Knokteberg, Oude Kwaremont, Paterberg, Kortekeer, Taaienberg, Eikenberg, Berendries, Tenbosse, Muur van Geraardsbergen, Bosberg

The race: Johan Museeuw attacked with about 20 km to go and quickly had a nearly 1 minute lead. He rode his 53 x 11 gear to the 59th Belgian victory in "De Ronde". Teammate Stefano Zanini was able to sit in on the chase group, saving energy and allowing him to win the field sprint.

Johan Museeuw wins the 1998 Ronde van Vlaanderen

Complete results:

  1. Johan Museeuw (Mapei) 6hr 50min 2sec. 40.53 km/hr
  2. Stefano Zanini (Mapei) @ 43sec
  3. Andrei Tchmil (Lotto-Mobistar) s.t.
  4. Emmanuel Magnien (FDJ) s.t.
  5. Peter Van Petegem (TVM) s.t.
  6. Michele Bartoli (Asics) s.t.
  7. Viatcheslav Ekimov (US Postal) s.t.
  8. Franco Ballerini (Mapei) s.t.
  9. Gianluca Bortolami (Festina) @ 50sec
  10. Wilfried Peeters (Mapei) @ 58sec
  11. Scott Sunderland (Palmans-Ideal) s.t.
  12. Nicolas Jalabert (Cofidis) s.t.
  13. Fabio Baldato (Riso Scotti) s.t.
  14. Henk Vogels (GAN) s.t.
  15. Christophe Mengin (FDJ) s.t.
  16. Carlo Bomans (Palmans-Ideal) s.t.
  17. George Hincapie (US Postal) s.t.
  18. Maarten Den Bakker (Rabobank) s.t.
  19. Gabriele Colombo (Ballan) s.t.
  20. Rolf Sorensen (Rabobank) s.t.
  21. Mirko Celestino (Polti) s.t.
  22. Frankie Andreu (US Postal) s.t.
  23. Juris Silvos (Jack & Jones) @ 1min 48sec
  24. Christophe Capelle (Cofidis) s.t.
  25. Germano Pierdomenico (Cantina Tollo) s.t.
  26. Fabrizio Guidi (Polti) @ 2min 26sec
  27. Frédéric Guesdon (FDJ) @ 2min 47sec
  28. Servais Knaven (TVM) @ 3min 3sec
  29. Enrico Cassani (Polti) s.t.
  30. Stuart O'Grady (GAN) s.t.
  31. Bruno Boscardin (Festina) s.t.
  32. Arvis Piziks (Jack & Jones) s.t.
  33. Lars Michaelsen (TVM) s.t.
  34. Massimiliano Mori (Saeco) s.t.
  35. Marc Wauters (Rabobank) s.t.
  36. Frédéric Moncassin (GAN) s.t.
  37. Pavel Padrnos (Saeco) s.t.
  38. Hendrick Van Dyck (TVM) s.t.
  39. Jesper Skibby (Jack & Jones) s.t.
  40. Roberto Petito (Saeco) s.t.
  41. Alberto Elli (Casino) s.t.
  42. Fabio Sacchi (Polti) s.t.
  43. Erik Zabel (Telekom) @ 3min 55sec
  44. Andrea Tafi (Mapei) @ 4min 57sec
  45. Ludo Dierckxsens (Lotto-Mobistar) s.t.
  46. Mario Aerts (Lotto-Mobistar) s.t.
  47. Leon Van Bon (Rabobank) s.t.
  48. Hans De Clercq (Palmans-Ideal) s.t.
  49. Aart Vierhouten (Rabobank) s.t.
  50. Paolo Fornaciari (Saeco) s.t.
  51. Cristian Salvato (Polti) @ 6min 8sec
  52. Luca Scinto (Asics) s.t.
  53. Jacky Durand (Casino) s.t.
  54. Nicolay Larsen (TVM) s.t.
  55. Rossano Brasi (Polti) s.t.
  56. Wim Feys (Lotto-Mobistar) s.t.
  57. Marco Antonio di Renzo (Cantina Tollo) @ 7min 40sec
  58. Jaime Hernandez (Festina) @ 10min 17sec
  59. Paolo Valoti (Cantina Tollo) @ 10min 40sec
  60. Martin Hvastija (Cantina Tollo) s.t.
  61. Peter Farasijn (Lotto-Mobistar) s.t.
  62. Max Van Heeswijk (Rabobank) s.t.
  63. Ruben Galvan Manchon (Kelme) @ 13min 50sec
  64. Magnus Backstedt (GAN) s.t.
  65. Davide Tani (Asics) s.t.
  66. Nicola Loda (Ballan) s.t.
  67. Diego Ferrari (Asics) s.t.
  68. Steven De Jongh (TVM) s.t.
  69. Cédric Vasseur (GAN) s.t.
  70. Rolf Jarman (Casino) s.t.
  71. Guido Trenti (Cantina Tollo) s.t.
  72. Brian Holm (Jack & Jones) s.t.
  73. Mirco Crepaldi (Polti) s.t.
  74. Andrea Brognara (Riso Scotti) s.t.


Michele Bartoli and Emmanuel Magnien on the Old Kwaremont

Michele Bartoli and Emmanuel Magnien on the Old Kwaremont

Andrei Tchmil leads on the Grammont

Andrei Tchmil leads Michele Bartoli up the Grammont

Johan Museeuw attacks on the gRammont

Johan Museeuw's attack on the Grammont was irresistable