BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1981 Clásica de San Sebastián, Spain

1st edition, August 11, 1981
Complete Results

Classica San Sebastian podium history | 1982 edition

August 11, 1981: San Sebastian - San Sebastian, 230 km.

Marino Lejarreta

Marino Lejaretta won the San Sebastain Classic three times: 1981, 1982 and 1987.

Story of the Giro d'Italia volume 2

The race: This first edition of the Clasica de San Sebastian was a tough race, with only thirty finishers.

The hills and extreme heat took their toll and on the final ascent, the Jaizkebel, Marino Lejaretta lit the jets and took off. The others would not see him until the finish.

That made the first of three San Sebastian wins for Lejaretta who would go on to win the Vuelta a España the next year.

Complete Results:

67 starters (one source says 71), 30 classified finishers

230 kilometers raced at an average speed of 37.357 km/hr

1 Marino Lejarreta  Teka 6hr 9min 24sec
2 Graham Jones  Peugeot-Esso @2min 16sec
3 Faustino Ruperez  Zor-Helios s.t.
4 Ismaël Lejarreta  Teka s.t.
5 Bernardo Alfonsel  Teka s.t.
6 Alberto Fernandez  Teka s.t.
7 Juan Fernandez  Kelme 3'50"
8 Felipe Yanez  Teka s.t.
9 Guillermo De la Pena  Zor-Helios 4'23"
10 Jesus Suarez Kelme 5'04"
11 Hubert Linard  Peugeot-Esso s.t.
12 Angel Camarillo  Zor-Helios s.t.
13 José Luis Rodriguez Teka s.t.
14 Eduardo Chozas  Zor-Helios s.t.
15 Patrick Perret  Peugeot-Esso s.t.
16 Stephen Roche  Peugeot-Esso s.t.
17 Eulalio Garcia  Teka s.t.
18 Bernard Bourreau  Peugeot-Esso s.t.
19 José Nazabal  Colchon CR s.t.
20 Manuel Esparza  Teka s.t.
21 Juan Carlos Alonso  Teka s.t.
22 Jorge Ruiz Cabestany  Teka s.t.
23 Antonio Coll  Colchon CR s.t.
24 Celestino Prieto  Kelme s.t.
25 Federico Echave  Teka s.t.
26 Francisco Sala  Colchon CR s.t.
27 Philippe Martinez  Peugeot-Esso s.t.
28 Jaime Vilamajo  Reynolds s.t.
29 Ricardo Zuniga  Teka s.t.
30 Francisco Javier Lopez Reynolds s.t.