BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1963 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

49th edition: Sunday, May 5, 1963

Liège-Bastogne-Liège podium history | 1964 edition | 1962 edition |

126 starters, 50 classified finishers.

Belgium, 237 km: 37.18 km/hr average speed

Frans Melckenbeeck

Complete Results:

  1. Frans Melckenbeeck (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) 6hr 22min 28sec
  2. Pino Cerami (Peugeot-BP) s.t.
  3. Vittorio Adorni (Cynar) s.t.
  4. Jo de Roo (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) s.t.
  5. Raymond Poulidor (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) s.t.
  6. Frans Schoubben (Peugeot-BP) @ 9sec
  7. Jo de Haan (Peugeot-BP) s.t.
  8. Alam Ramsbottom (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  9. Jan Janssen (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  10. Georges Vanconingsloo (Solo-Terrot-Englebert) s.t.
  11. Manuel Manzano (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) s.t.
  12. Jean-Claude Annaert (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) @ 20sec
  13. Alfons Hermans (Dr. Mann) s.t.
  14. Hubertus Zilverberg (GBC-Libertas) s.t.
  15. Henri de Wolf (Solo-Terrot-Englebert) s.t.
  16. Piet van Est (Dr. Mann) s.t.
  17. Gilbert Desmet (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  18. Armand Desmet (Faema-Flandria) s.t.
  19. Joseph Hoevenaers (Peugeot-BP) s.t.
  20. Fernand Delort (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) @ 43sec
  21. Louis Rostollon (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) s.t.
  22. André Darrigade (Margnat-Paloma-Motul-Dunlop) s.t.
  23. Jean-Claude Lebaube (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) s.t.
  24. Michael Stolker (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) s.t.
  25. Bernard Beaufrere (Peugeot-BP) s.t.
  26. Daniel Doom (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) @ 1min 15sec
  27. Hans Junkermann (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  28. Edouard Delberghe (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) @ 1min 20sec
  29. André Foucher (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) @ 1min 22sec
  30. Joseph Wouters (Solo-Terrot-Englebert) @ 1min 50sec
  31. Luis Otano (Margnat-Paloma-Motul-Dunlop) s.t.
  32. Michel van Aerde (Solo-Terrot-Englebert) @ 2min 10sec
  33. Tom Simpson (Peugeot-BP) s.t.
  34. Robert Seneca (Solo-Terrot-Englebert) @ 2min 50sec
  35. Hugo Hellemans (GBC) s.t.
  36. Pierre Martin (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) s.t.
  37. Willy Leenaerts (Dr. Mann) s.t.
  38. Albert Cauvet (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) s.t.
  39. Robert Cazala (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) s.t.
  40. Alfons Hellemans (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) s.t.
  41. Leo Knops (Dossche Sport-Theugels-Robur) s.t.
  42. Piet Damen (Locomotif-Vredestein) s.t.
  43. Marcel Seynaeve (Solo-Terrot-Englebert) @ 4min 0sec
  44. Battista Babini (Salvarani) s.t.
  45. Roger de Breuker (Solo-Terrot-Englebert) s.t.
  46. Peter Crinnion (Margnat-Paloma-Motul-Dunlop) s.t.
  47. Jacques de Boever (Solo-Terrot-Englebert) s.t.
  48. Raymond Huguet (Bertin-Porter 39-Milremo) s.t.
  49. René Thyssen (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  50. Arthur Decabooter (Solo-Terrot-Englebert) s.t.