BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1962 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

48th edition: Sunday, May 6, 1962

Liège-Bastogne-Liège podium history | 1963 edition | 1961 edition |

108 starters, 43 classified finishers.

Belgium, 254 km: 36.64 km/hr average speed

Joseph Planckaert

Complete Results:

  1. Joseph Planckaert (Flandria-Faema-Clément) 6hr 55min 56sec
  2. Rolf Wolfshohl (Gitane-Géminiani-Leroux) s.t.
  3. Claude Colette (Peugeot) @ 20sec
  4. Joseph Wouters (Solo-Van Steenbergen) @ 56sec
  5. André Darrigade (Gitane-Géminiani-Leroux) s.t.
  6. Noël Fore (Flandria-Faema-Clément) s.t.
  7. Willy Van den Berghen (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) s.t.
  8. Rik van Looy (Flandria-Faema-Clément) s.t.
  9. Frans Schoubben (Peugeot) s.t.
  10. Norbert Kerkhove (Dr. Mann) s.t.
  11. Joseph Hoevenaers (Philco) s.t.
  12. Henri de Wolf (Gitane-Géminiani-Leroux) s.t.
  13. Daniel Doom (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  14. Piet Rentmeester (Gitane-Géminiani-Leroux) s.t.
  15. Laurent Christiaens (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  16. Jean-Baptiste Claes (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  17. Hubertus Zilverberg (Flandria-Faema-Clément) s.t.
  18. Guillaume Demaer (Solo-Van Steenbergen) s.t.
  19. Gérard Thiélin (Gitane-Géminiani-Leroux) s.t.
  20. Guillaume van Tongerloo (Flandria-Faema-Clément) s.t.
  21. Roland Lacombe (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  22. André Bar (Peugeot) s.t.
  23. Armand Desmet (Flandria-Faema-Clément) s.t.
  24. Jean-Claude Lefebvre (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  25. Joseph Vloebergs (Libertas) s.t.
  26. Roger Baens (Flandria-Faema-Clément) @ 1min 39sec
  27. Marcel Rohrbach (Peugeot) @ 1min 46sec
  28. Elio Gerussi (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) @ 1min 48sec
  29. Wim van Est (Liberia-Grammont) @ 4min 10sec
  30. Alan Ramsbottom (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) @ 4min 23sec
  31. Francesco Miele (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  32. Lucien Demunster (Solo-Van Steenbergen) @ 14min 4sec
  33. Hugo Verlinden (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) s.t.
  34. Gilbert Desmet (Carpano) s.t.
  35. Albert Van d'Huynslager (Solo-Van Steenbergen) s.t.
  36. Michael Wright (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) @ 17min 24sec
  37. Guillaume Michiels (Philco) s.t.
  38. André Auquier (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  39. José Thumas (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  40. Petrus Jacquemijn (Verveer-Vedette) s.t.
  41. Dick Enthoven (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  42. Albert Covens (Solo-Van Steenbergen) @ 21min 13sec
  43. Joseph Lemmens (Verveer-Vedette) s.t.