BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italit, volume 1 Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1939 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

29th edition: Sunday, May 14, 1939

Liège-Bastogne-Liège podium history | 1943 edition | 1938 edition |

83 starters, 50 classified finishers.

Belgium, 211 km: 37.35 km/hr average speed

A small group was awarded a tie for 13th place.

Complete Results:

  1. Albert Ritserveldt 5hr 39min 0sec
  2. Cyriel Van Overberghe @ 34sec
  3. Edward Vissers @ 59sec
  4. Kamiel Beeckman (Helyett-Hutchinson) s.t.
  5. Maurice Clautier (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 3min 3sec
  6. Joseph Somers (Helyett-Hutchinson) s.t.
  7. Joseph van Kerckhoven @ 4min 31sec
  8. Jérôme Dufromont (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 7min 12sec
  9. Achille de Backer s.t.
  10. Sylvain Grysolle (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  11. Lucien Vlaemynck (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  12. Albertin Disseaux (Helyett-Hutchinson) s.t.
  13. Félicien Vervaecke s.t.
    Edmond De Lathouwer s.t.
    Félix de Raes (France Sport-Wolber) s.t.
    Roger Gyselinck s.t.
    François Adam (Helyett-Hutchinson) s.t.
    Georges Christiaens s.t.
  14. Gilles Thone (Guimbretiere Cycles) s.t.
  15. Albert T'Jollyn s.t.
  16. Gustaaf Deloor (Colin) s.t.
  17. Romain Maes @ 9min 18sec
  18. Frans Spiessens s.t.
  19. Antoine Dignef (Helyett-Hutchinson) s.t.
  20. Jules Lowie s.t.
  21. François Dedonder (Thomann-Dunlop) s.t.
  22. Albert van Peer s.t.
  23. Pierre Houbrechts (Colin) @ 9min 28sec
  24. Joseph Torfs @ 12min 0sec
  25. Jules Colaert @ 13min 0sec
  26. Edgard de Caluwe (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  27. René Pedroli @ 14min 0sec
  28. Léon Louyet @ 14min 30sec
  29. Aloïs Debruyne s.t.
  30. Gustave Degreef s.t.
  31. Roger Vandendriessche s.t.
  32. John Lambrichts @ 14min 45sec
  33. Pierre Vermeiren @ 15min 0sec
  34. Gistave Coelaert s.t.
  35. André Defoordt @ 16min 0sec
  36. Maurice Croon s.t.
  37. Cyrille Dubois s.t.
  38. Auguste Toubeau s.t.
  39. Jean Staeren s.t.
  40. François Demondt s.t.
  41. Frans Joosen s.t.
  42. François Neuville s.t.
  43. Karel Tersago s.t.
  44. Léopold Schatteman @ 21min 0sec
  45. Christophe Didier s.t.