BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1991 World Pro Cycling Road Championships

58th edition: August 25
Stuttgart, Germany

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1992 edition | 1990 edition |

252.8 km, average speed of 38.875 km/hr.

Started 10:00 A.M. in good weather with sun mixed with some overcast. 72 degrees F. Approximately 300,000 spectators.

The Stuttgart course was 15.8 km. The pros rode 16 laps with one climb 7.6 km long rising 860 ft.

191 riders started, 96 finished

1 Gianni Bugno (ITA) 6hr 20min 23sec
2 Steven Rooks (NL) s.t.
3 Miguel Indurain (Sp) s.t.
4 Alvaro Mejia (Col) s.t.
5 Kai Hundertmark (Ger) @ 11sec
6 Bjarne Riis (Denmark)  s.t.
7 Dirk de Wolf (Bel) s.t.
8 Stephen Hodge (Australia) s.t.
9 Davide Cassani (Ita) s.t.
10 Federico Echave (Sp) s.t.
11 Maurizio Fondriest (Ita) s.t.
12 Franco Ballerini (Ita) s.t.
13 Piotr Ugramov (USSR) s.t.
14 Rudy Dhaenens (Bel) s.t.
15 Bo Hamburger (Denmark)  s.t.
16 Laurent Fignon (Fra) s.t.
17 Claudio Chiappucci (Ita) s.t.
18 Gert-Jan Theunisse s.t.
19 Heinz Imboden (Switz) s.t.
20 Miguel Arroyo (Mex) s.t.
21 Gérard Rué (Fra) s.t.
22 William Palacio (Col) s.t.
23 Luc Roosen (Bel) s.t.
24 Efrain Rico (Col) s.t.
25 Marc Madiot (Fra) s.t.
26 Charly Mottet (Fra) s.t.
27 Erich Machler (Switz) s.t.
28 Martin Earley (Iel) s.t.
29 Bruno Cornillet (Fra) s.t.
30 Rolf Golz (Ger) s.t.
31 Daniel Castro (Arg) @ 2min 33sec
32 Neil Stephens (Australia) s.t.
33 Dag-Otto Lauritzen (Nor) s.t.
34 Andy Hampsten (USA) @ 3min 36sec
35 Pedro Delgado (Sp) @ 5min 19sec
36 Frans Maassen (NL) @ 6min 14sec
37 Michel Dernies (Bel) @ 7min 18sec
38 Kim Andersen (Denmark) s.t.
39 Jens Heppner (Ger) s.t.
40 Mauro Gianetti (Ita) s.t.
41 Mike Engleman (USA) s.t.
42 Eric Van Lancker (Bel) s.t.
43 Scott Sunderland (Australia) s.t.
44 Pascal Richard (Fra) s.t. 
45 Brian Holm (Denmark) s.t.
46 Marco Giovennetti (Ita) s.t.
47 Luc Leblanc (Fra) s.t.
48 Robert Millar (UK) s.t.
49 Uwe Ampler (Ger) @ 11min 31sec
Note Because of a photo-finish malfunction,
all the following riders until 95th place
were credited with 49th, all @ 11min 31sec
  Falk Boden (Ger) s.t.
  Udo Bolts (Ger) s.t.
  Andreas Kappes (Ger) s.t.
  Dominik Krieger (Ger) s.t.
  Mario Kummer (Ger) s.t.
  Allan Peiper (Australia) s.t.
  Eddie Salas (Australia) s.t.
  Harald Maier (Austria) s.t.
  Frank Van den Abbeele (Bel) s.t.
  Claude Criquielion (Bel) s.t.
  Edwig Van Hooydonck (Bel) s.t.
  Benjamin van Itterbeeck (Bel) s.t.
  Johan Museeuw (Bel) s.t.
  Rudy Verdonck (Bel) s.t.
  Mauro Ribeiro (Bra) s.t.
  Alberto Comargo (Col) s.t.
  Carlos Jamarillo (Col) s.t.
  Jorge Otalvaro (Col) s.t.
  Abelardo Rondon (Col) s.t.
  Johnny Weltz (Denmark) s.t.
  Eduardo Chozas (Sp) s.t.
  Alvaro Pino (Sp) s.t.
  Marino Lajarreta (Sp) s.t
  Javier Murguialday (Sp) s.t.
  Jean-Claude Colloti (Fra) s.t.
  Jean-Francois Bernard (Fra) s.t.
  Gilles Delion (Fra) s.t.
  Malcolm Elliot (UK) s.t.
  Eirk Breukink (NL) s.t.
  Bruno Cemghialta (Ita) s.t.
  Franco Chioccioli (Ita) s.t.
  Alessandro Giannelli (Ita) s.t.
  Masatoshi Ichikawa (Japan) s.t.
  Raul Alcala (Mex) s.t.
  Atle Kvalsvoll (Nor) s.t.
  Olaf Lurvik (Nor) s.t.
  Atle Pedersen (Nor) s.t.
  Dag-Erik Pedersen (Nor) s.t.
  Marek Kulas (Pol) s.t.
  Marek Szerszynski (Pol) s.t.
  Delmino Pereira (Port) s.t.
  Laurent Dufaux (Switz) s.t.
  Fabian Fuchs (Switz) s.t.
  Fabian Jeker (Switz) s.t.
  Felice Puttini (Switz) s.t.
95 Thomas Wegmuller (Switz) @ 16min 38sec
96 Harry Lodge (UK) @ 24min 0sec