BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1983 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

50th edition: Sunday, September 4, 1983
Altenrhein, Switzerland

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1984 edition | 1982 edition |

117 riders started, 46 classified finishers.
18 laps of 14.99 km, totaling 269.89 km. Winner's average speed: 38.31 km/hr

Greg LeMond

Complete Results:

  1. Greg LeMond 7hr 1min 21sec
  2. Adrie Van der Poel (Netherlands) @ 1min 11sec
  3. Tour de France: the Inside Story
  4. Stephen Roche (Ireland) s.t.
  5. Faustino Ruperez (Spain) s.t.
  6. Claude Criquielion (Belgium) s.t.
  7. Erich Maechler (Switzerland) @ 1min 33sec
  8. Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke (Belgium) s.t.
  9. Sean Kelly (Ireland) @ 1min 36sec
  10. Phil Anderson (Australia) s.t.
  11. Stefan Mutter (Switzerland) s.t.
  12. Fons de Wolf (Belgium) s.t.
  13. Jesper Worre (Denmark) s.t.
  14. Gerhard Zadrobilek (Austria) s.t.
  15. Acacio Da Silva (Portugal) s.t.
  16. Siegfried Hekimi (Switzerland) s.t.
  17. Pierre Le bigaut (France) s.t.
  18. Giuseppe Saronni (Italy) s.t.
  19. Jean-Marie Grezet (Switzerland) s.t.
  20. Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (France) s.t.
  21. Peter Winnen (Netherlands) s.t.
  22. Bernard Bourreau (France) s.t.
  23. Dominique Arnaud (France) s.t.
  24. Eduardo Chozas (Spain) s.t.
  25. Angel Arroyo (Spain) s.t.
  26. Marino Lejarreta (Spain) s.t.
  27. Beat Breu (Switzerland) s.t.
  28. René Martens (Belgium) s.t.
  29. Luciano Loro (Italy) s.t.
  30. Laurent Fignon (France) s.t.
  31. Jonathan Boyer (USA) s.t.
  32. Jostein Wilmann (Norway) s.t.
  33. Giambattista Baronchelli (Italy) s.t.
  34. Lucien van Impe (Belgium) s.t.
  35. Jorgen Marcussen (Denmark) s.t.
  36. Marc Madiot (France) s.t.
  37. Sven-Ake Nilsson (Sweden) s.t.
  38. Robert Millar (Great Britain) s.t.
  39. Joop Zoetemelk (Netherlands) s.t.
  40. Gérard Veldscholten (Netherlands) s.t.
  41. Alberto Fernandez (Spain) @ 5min 30sec
  42. Dag-Erik Pedersen (Norway) s.t.
  43. Moreno Argentin (Italy) s.t.
  44. Antonio Ferretti (Switzerland) @ 9min 45sec
  45. Serge Demierre (Switzerland) @ 9min 50sec
  46. Gilbert Glaus (Switzerland) @ 10min 38sec
  47. Julian Gorospe (Spain) s.t.