BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1981 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

48th edition: Sunday, August 30, 1981
Prague, Czechoslovakia

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1982 edition | 1980 edition |

112 riders started, 69 classified finishers.
21 laps of 13.4 km, totaling 281.4 km. Winner's average speed: 38.15 km/hr

Freddy Maertens

Complete Results:

  1. Freddy Maertens (Belgium) 7hr 21min 59sec
  2. Giuseppe Saronni (Italy) s.t.
  3. Tour de France: the Inside Story
  4. Bernard Hinault (France) s.t.
  5. Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (France) s.t.
  6. Guido van Calster (Belgium) s.t.
  7. Francesco Moser (Italy) s.t.
  8. Fons de Wolf (Belgium) s.t.
  9. Stephan Mutter (Switzerland) s.t.
  10. Brun Wolfer (Switzerland) s.t.
  11. Pierino Gavazzi (Italy) s.t.
  12. Johan Van der Velde (Netherlands) s.t.
  13. Klaus-Peter Thaler (Germany) s.t.
  14. Serge Demierre (Switzerland) s.t.
  15. Robert Millar (Great Britain) s.t.
  16. Marino Lejarreta (Spain) s.t.
  17. Ismael Lejaretta (Spain) s.t.
  18. Silvano Contini (Italy) s.t.
  19. Theo de Rooy (Netherlands) s.t.
  20. Erwin Lienhard (Switzerland) s.t.
  21. Jean-René Bernaudeau (France) s.t.
  22. Joop Zoetemelk (Netherlands) s.t.
  23. Serge Beucherie (France) s.t.
  24. Sven-Ake Nilsson (Sweden) s.t.
  25. Marc Madiot (France) s.t.
  26. Claude Criquielion (Belgium) s.t.
  27. Giovanni Battaglin (Italy) s.t.
  28. Giambattista Baronchelli (Itali) @ 5sec
  29. René Maertens (Belgium) @ 10sec
  30. Wladimiro Panizza (Italy) s.t.
  31. Palmiro Masciarelli (Italy) s.t.
  32. Gregor Braun (Germany) @ 14sec
  33. Marcel Tinazzi (Italy) @ 2min 18sec
  34. Tommy Prim (Sweden) @ 3min 4sec
  35. Jostein Wilmann (Norway) @ 4min 21sec
  36. Dominique Arnaud (France) @ 10mn 18sec
  37. Claudio Torelli (Italy) s.t.
  38. Jean-François Rodriguez (France) s.t.
  39. Fridolin Keller (Switzerland) s.t.
  40. Jan Bogaert (Belgium) s.t.
  41. Peter Winnen (Netherlands) s.t.
  42. Jacques Bossis (France) s.t.
  43. Sean Kelly (Ireland) s.t.
  44. Per Bausager (Denmark) s.t.
  45. Alf Segersall (Sweden) s.t.
  46. Uwe Bolten (Germany) @ 14min 28sec
  47. George Mount (USA) s.t.
  48. Greg LeMond (USA) s.t.
  49. Jonathan Boyer (USA) s.t.
  50. Jean-Marie Grezet (Switzerland) s.t.
  51. Wayne Hildred (Australia) s.t.
  52. Daniel Gisiger (Switzerland) s.t.
  53. Guido Frei (Switzerland) s.t.
  54. Jesus Suarez-Cuevas (Spain) s.t.
  55. Bernardo Alfonsel (Spain) s.t.
  56. Juan Fernandez (Spain) s.t.
  57. Gody Schmutz (Switzerland) s.t.
  58. Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke (Belgium) s.t.
  59. Faustino Ruperez (Spain) s.t.
  60. Luciano Loro (Italy) s.t.
  61. Charly Berard (France) s.t.
  62. Stephen Roche (Ireland) s.t.
  63. Dietrich Thurau (Germany) s.t.
  64. Lucien Didier (Luxembourg) s.t.
  65. Maurice Le Guilloux (France) s.t.
  66. Knut Knudsen (Norway) s.t.
  67. Eugène Urbany (Luxembourg) s.t.
  68. Peter Kehl (Germany) s.t.
  69. Bernard Vallet (France) s.t.
  70. Hennie Kuiper (Netherlands) s.t.