BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1936 Vuelta a España

2nd Edition: May 5 - May 31, 1936

Vuelta a España main page | 1935 edition | 1941 edition

Gustaaf DEloor

Final General Classification winner Gustaaf Deloor

50 starters, 26 classified finishers

21 stages totalling 4,362 kilometers raced at an average speed of 29.054 km/hr

The Race: The Deloor brothers owned this race. During the second stage, Salamanca to Caceres, Gustaaf Deloors escaped alone in torrential rain to finish 4min 33sec ahead of of the small chase group led in by Alfons Deloors.

From there, no one was able to challenge Gustaaf's leadership. There was one scare, in the eleventh stage. Gustaaf fell and the other Belgians attacked. The Deloor brothers chased frantically and regained the front after a fifty-kilometer pursuit.

The Spanish Civil war began that July and would not conclude until April of 1939. The Vuelta a España would not be held again until 1941.

Complete Final General Classification:

  1. Gustaaf Deloor: 150hr 7min 54sec
  2. Alfons Deloor @ 11min 39sec
  3. Antonio Bertola @ 17min 54sec
  4. Julian Berrendero @ 23min 14sec
  5. Antonio Escutiet @ 28min 54sec
  6. Rafael Ramos @ 49min 29sec
  7. Alphonse Schepers @ 58min 18sec
  8. Emiliano Alvarez @ 1hr 5min 47sec
  9. Fermin Trueba @ 1hr 7min 22sec
  10. Mariano Canardo @ 1hr 18min 5sec
  11. Vicente Carretero @ 1hr 18min 32sec
  12. Cipriano Elys @ 1hr 53min 8sec
  13. Francisco Goenaga @ 1hr 43min 23sec
  14. Salvador Molina @ 1hr 45min 47sec
  15. Ramon Cruz @ 1hr 56min 33sec
  16. Joaquin Bailon @ 2hr 7min 37sec
  17. Bautista Salom @ 2hr 22min 55sec
  18. Salvador Cardona @ 2hr 42min 52sec
  19. Miguel Carrion @ 3hr 6min 51sec
  20. Augustin Gonzalez @ 3hr 15min 32sec
  21. Angel Bertola @ 3hr 18min 6sec
  22. Luis Esteve @ 3hr 33min 16sec
  23. Miguel Valero @ 3hr 45min 9sec
  24. Delio Rodriguez @ 4hr 5min 39sec
  25. Benito Cabresteros @ 4hr 9min 14sec
  26. Ramon Ruiz Trillo @ 10hr 53min 54sec

Vuelta a España main page |