BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: it started with a freckle Cycles BiKyle Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Tirreno - Adriatico (HC)

March 10 - March 16, 2004

Podium history of Tirreno-Adriatico

Tuesday, March 16: 7th and Final Stage, San Benedetto del Tronto - San Benedetto del Tronto, 162 km. A trip from the coast into the hills of Le Marche with a couple of stiff climbs, then 6 circuits in the town.

1. Alessandro Petacchi (Fassa Bortolo) 4hr 43min 29sec. 34.29 km/hr
2. Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) s.t.
3. Gabriele Balducci (Saeco) s.t.
4. Danilo Hondo (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
5. Andrus Aug (Domina Vacanze) s.t.

Final GC after Stage 7:

1. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) 33hr 47min 6sec. 1228 km ridden at an average speed of 36.374 km/hr.
2. Oscar Freire (Rabobank) @ 5sec
3. Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) @ 11sec
4. Igor Astarloa (Cofidis) @ 18sec
5. Stuart O'Grady (Cofidis) @ 21sec
6. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) @ 22sec
7. Rolf Aldag (T-Mobile) @ 26sec
8. Giuliano Figueras (Panaria) s.t.
9. Angel Vicioso (Liberty Seguros) @ 27sec
10. Joaquin Rodriguez (Saunier Duval) @ 28sec
11. Martin Elmiger (Phonak) @ 29sec
12. Marcus Zberg (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
13. Bingen Fernandez (Cofidis) s.t.
14. Oskar Camenzind (Phonak) s.t.
15. Rubens Lobato (Saunier Duval) s.t.
16. Marcell Strauss (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
17. Steffen Wesemann (T-Mobile) s.t.
18. Alexnadre Botcharov (Credit Agricole) s.t.
19. Peter Farazijn (Cofidis) s.t.
20. Mickael Pichon (Brioches La Boulangere) s.t.

Monday, March 15: Stage 6, Monte San Pietrangeli - Torre San Patrizio, 185 km. 4 circuits in the hills just southeast of Urbino, a few kilometers from the Adriatic coast. They'll climb from 53 meters elevation on each circuit to 319 meters.

1. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) 5hr 23min 41sec
2. Oscar Freire (Rabobank) s.t.
3. Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) s.t.
4. Mirco Lorenzetto (De Nardi) s.t.
5. Stuart O'Grady (Cofidis) s.t.

GC after Stage 6:

1. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) 29hr 3min 37sec
2. Oscar Freire (Rabobank) @ 7sec
3. Igor Astarloa (Cofidis) @ 18sec
4. Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) @ 19sec
5. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) @ 22sec

Sunday, March 14: Stage 5, Paglieta - Torricella Sicura, 215 km.

1. Roberto Petito (Fassa Bortolo) 5hr 20min 51sec
2. Sergiy Matveyev (Panaria) @ 10sec
3. Magnus Backstedt (Alessio) @ 1min 6sec
4. Patrick Calgani (Vini Caldirola) @ 1min 7sec
5. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) @ 3min 10sec

GC after Stage 5:

1. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) 23hr 40min 6sec
2. Oscar Freire (Rabobank) @ 3sec
3. Igor Astarloa (Cofidis) @ 8sec
4. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) @ 11sec
5. Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) @ 12sec

Saturday, March 13: Stage 4, Isernia - Paglieta, 179 km. This stage takes the race to the Adriatic coast. There's probably enough climbing here to keep the pure sprinters out of the picture.

1. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) 4hr 39min 31sec
2. Igor Astarloa (Cofidis) s.t.
3. Oscar Freire (Raobank) s.t.
4. Joaquin Rodriguez (Saunier Duval) s.t.
5. Giuliano Figueras (Panaria) s.t.

GC after Stage 4:

1. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) 18hr 16min 5sec
2. Oscar Freire (Rabobank) @ 3sec
3. Igor Astarloa (Cofidis) @ 8sec
4. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) @ 10sec
5. Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) @ 11sec

Friday, March 12: Stage 3, Maddaloni - Isernia, 168 km.

1. Oscar Freire (Rabobank) 4hr 47min 55sec
2. Vladimir Duma (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
3. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) s.t.
4. Danilo Hondo (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
5. Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) s.t.

GC after Stage 3:

1. Oscar Freire (Rabobank) 13hr 36min 41sec
2. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) @ 3sec
3. Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) @ 4sec
4. Vladimir Duma (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
5. Danilo Hondo (Gerolsteiner) @ 6sec

Thursday, March 11: Latina - Maddaloni, 164 km. A trip down the coast to just northeast of Naples. Pretty flat, should be a sprint finish.

1. Alessandro Petacchi (Fassa Bortolo) 4hr 53min 25sec
2. Mario Cipollini (Domina Vacanze) s.t.
3. Luciano Pagliarini (Lampre) s.t.
4. Stuart O'Grady (Cofidis) s.t.
5. Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) s.t.

GC after Stage 2:

1. Alessandro Petacchi (Fassa Bortolo) 8hr 48min 36sec
2. Juan Antonio Flecha (Fassa Bortolo) @ 12sec
3. Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) @ 14sec
4. Mario Cipollini (Dommina Vacanze) s.t.
5. Luciano Pagliarini (Lampre) @ 16sec

Wednesday, March 10: Stage 1, Sabaudia - Sabaudia, 172 km.

1. Alessandro Petacchi (Fassa Bortolo) This is his 60th pro victory. 3hr 55min 31sec
2. Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) s.t.
3. Danilo Hondo (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
4. Luciano Pagliarini (Lampre) s.t.
5. Stefano Zanini (Quick Step) s.t.