BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2021 Vuelta Ciclista a la Region de Murcia (1.1), Spain

41st edition: May 23, 2021

Vuelta a Murcia podium history | 2020 edition | 2022 edition

Los Alcázares - Alcantarilla, 192.4 km

Antonio Soto

Antonio Soto has left everyone behind.

Weather at the finish city of Alcantarilla at 1:15 PM, local time: 17C (62F), raining, with the wind from the east at 19 km/hr (12 mph). The forecast is for the rain to continue for the rest of the day.

The race: Here's the report from third-place Gonzalo Serrano's Team Movistar.

Vuelta a Murcia

A picture of the race's first break, showing the tough weather conditions in Murcia today.

It was an emotional win for Antonio Soto (EUS) at his home town, Alcantarilla, end of a 2021 Vuelta a Murcia -192km starting from Los Alcázares- completely overshadowed by bad weather. Soto took the victory from an early break which the Movistar Team, hampered by those foul conditions, fought hard to bring back until the top of the Collado Bermejo (Cat-1), the pivotal climb of the race.

As Alejandro Valverde, who started here the second half of the season, soon out of condition, it was up to three of his team-mates to chase the win until the end: Héctor Carretero, José Joaquín Rojas (4th) and Gonzalo Serrano, who got into the podium in third. All three were part of a counter-attack at the descent of the Alto de Gebas (Cat-3), later neutralized by the main group.

At the sprint, behind Soto and second-placed Madrazo (BBH), who also went on the attack with 2km left, Serrano confirmed a podium result which wraps up a really nice Spanish spring tournée for the Movistar Team, with success at GP Indurain, Valencia, Asturias and, above that, the recent Vuelta a Andalucía.

Complete results:

192.4 kilometers raced at an average speed of 40.809 km/hr

1 SOTO Antonio Euskaltel-Euskadi 4hr 42min 19sec
2 MADRAZO Angel Burgos-BH @ 31sec
3 SERRANO Gonzalo Movistar s.t.
4 ROJAS José Movistar s.t.
5 GIBBONS Ryan UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
6 EZQUERRA Jesús Burgos-BH s.t.
7 CANAL Carlos Burgos-BH s.t.
8 MARTIN Gotzon Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
9 GREGAARD Jonas Astana-Premier Tech s.t.
10 CUADRADO Unai Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
11 AMEZQUETA Julen Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
12 LASTRA Jonathan Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
13 BERLIN Antoine Global 6 Cycling s.t.
14 CUADROS Alvaro Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
15 SWIRBUL Keegan Rally Cycling s.t.
16 BERRADE Urko Kern Pharma 0:41
17 BALLESTEROS Miguel Electro Hiper Europa 1:51
18 KRISTOFF Alexander UAE-Team Emirates 2:02
19 VACEK Mathias Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
20 OKAMIKA Ander Burgos-BH s.t.
21 MARTIN Sergio Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
22 GUTIERREZ José Gios s.t.
23 STRAKHOV Dmitry Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
24 NAVARRO Daniel Burgos-BH s.t.
25 PAREDES César Louletano-Loulé Concelho s.t.
26 BROWN Nathan Rally Cycling s.t.
27 CEPEDA Jefferson Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
28 DEL PINO Jesus Louletano-Loulé Concelho 4:06
29 BRITTON Rob Rally Cycling 4:15
30 SPRENGERS Thomas Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
31 PALUTA Michal Global 6 Cycling s.t.
32 URBANO Carmelo Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 5:24
33 SAEZ Héctor Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
34 BRUSSENSKIY Gleb Astana-Premier Tech s.t.
35 PERRY Benjamin Astana-Premier Tech 8:28
36 SHEFFIELD Magnus Rally Cycling 11:25
37 RODRIGUEZ Oscar Astana-Premier Tech s.t.
38 GARCIA Raúl Kern Pharma s.t.
39 CARRETERO Héctor Movistar s.t.
40 TRENTIN Matteo UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
41 HERREGODTS Rune Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise 11:54
42 VERWILST Aaron Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
43 STALNOV Nikita Astana-Premier Tech 14:43
44 GIL Javier Bahrain Cycling Academy 14:50
45 PELEGRI Oscar Electro Hiper Europa s.t.
46 APARICIO Mario Burgos-BH 21:11