BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: it started with a freckle Cycles BiKyle Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2004 Tour Down Under (2.3)

January 20 - January 25

Tour Down Under podium history

Sunday, January 25: 6th and final stage, Adelaide City Council Circuit, 81 km.

1. Baden Cooke (FDJ) 1hr 43min 19sec
2. Robbie McEwen (Lotto) s.t.
3. Allen Davis (Australia) s.t.
4. Mark Renshaw (FDJ) s.t.
5. Jaan Kirsipuu (Ag2R) s.t.

Final GC after Stage 6. This is Jonker's last race as a pro. He retired after this stage. Robbie McEwen (Lotto) won the Sprint classification and Paolo Tiralongo (Panaria) was the Mountains winner.

1. Patrick Jonker (UniSA) 16hr 32min 19sec
2. Robbie McEwen (Lotto) @ 1min 13sec
3. Baden Cooke (FDJ) @ 1min 21sec
4. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) @ 1min 28sec
5. Massimo Giunti (Domina Vacanze) s.t.
6. Antonio Murillo (Domina Vacanze) @ 1min 29sec
7. Giuliano Figueras (Panaria) @ 1min 30sec
8. Alexandre Botcharov (Credit Agricole) @ 1min 31sec
9. Luke Roberts (UniSA) @ 1min 47sec
10. Gene Bates (UniSA) @ 2min 50sec
11. David McKenzie (Navigators) @ 3min
12. Kevin Hulsmans (Quick Step) s.t.
13. Massimiliano Gentili (Domina Vacanze) @ 3min 51sec
14. Ben Day (Australia) @ 3min 58sec
15. Simon Gerrans (Australia) @ 4min 6sec
16. Nicolas Portal (Ag2r) @ 4min 8sec
17. Paolo Tiralongo (Panaria) @ 4min 23sec
18. David McPartland (Australia) @ 4min 28sec
19. Matthe Pronk (Bankgiroloterij) @ 5min 29sec
20. Paolo Valoti (Domina Vacanze) @ 6min 1sec

Saturday, January 24: Stage 5, Willunga - Willunga, 147 km.

1. Ben Day (Australia) 3hr 15min 24sec
2. Robbie McEwen (Lotto) @ 4sec
3. Baden Cooke (FDJ) s.t.
4. Allan Davis (Australia) s.t.
5. Antonio Murillo (Domina Vacanze) s.t.

GC after Stage 5:

1. Patrick Jonker (UniSA) 14hr 48min 29sec
2. Robbie McEwen (Lotto) @ 1min 34sec
3. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) @ 1min 39sec
4. Baden Cooke (FDJ) @ 1min 44sec
5. Antonio Murillo (Domina Vacanze) @ 1min 47sec

Friday, January 23: Stage 4, Unley - Hahndorf, 141 km.

1. Robbie McEwen (Lotto) 3hr 18min 51sec
2. Aurelien Clerc (Quick Step) s.t.
3. Baden Cooke (FDJ) s.t.
4. Allan Davis (Australia) s.t.
5. David McKenzie (Navigators) s.t.

GC after Stage 4

1. Patrick Jonker (UniSA) 11hr 33min 5sec
2. Robbie McEwen (Lotto) @ 1min 38sec
3. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) @ 1min 39sec
4. Gene Bates (UniSA) @ 1min 44sec
5. Antonio Murillo (Domina Vacanze) @ 1min 46sec

Thursday, January 22: Stage 3, Goolwa - Victor Harbor, 150 km.

1. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) 3hr 28min 50sec
2. Gene Bates (UniSA) s.t.
3. Robbie McEwen (Lotto) s.t.
4. Baden Cooke (FDJ) s.t.
5. Giulino Figueras (Panaria) s.t.

GC after Stage 3:

1. Patrick Jonker (UniSA) 8hr 14min 14sec
2. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) @ 1min 39sec
3. Robbie McEwen (Lotto) @ 1min 44sec
4. Gene Bates (UniSA) s.t.
5. Antonio Murillo (Domina Vacanz) @ 1min 46sec

Wednesday, January 21: Stage 2, Norwood - Kapunda, 157 km.

1. David McPartland (Team Australia) 3hr 43min 12sec
2. Alain Van Katwijk (Bankgiroloterij) @ 1sec
3. Patrick Joncker (UniSA) s.t.
4. Baden Cooke (FDJ) @ 1min 41sec
5. Robbie McEwen (Lotto) s.t.

GC after Stage 2:

1. David McPartland (Team Australia) 4hr 45min 21sec
2. Patrick Jonker (UNiSA) @ 3sec
3. Alain Van Katwijk (Bankgiroloterij) @ 5sec
4. Robbie McEwen (Lotto) @ 1min 51sec
5. Giuliano Figueras (Pabnaria) s.t.

Tuesday, January 20: Stage 1, East End Adelaide Street Race, 50 km. Bradley McGee (FDJ) quit because of food poisoning just before the start of the race. The stage's finish was very confused because a break of 11 with McEwen, etc, lapped the field on the final lap.

1. Robby McEwen (Lotto) 1hr 2min 19sec
2. Rudi Kemna (Bankgiroloterij) s.t.
3. Mark Renshaw (FDJ) s.t.
4. Graeme Brown (Panaria) s.t.
5. Nicolas Vogondy (FDJ) s.t.