BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2003 Driedaagse De Panne - Koksijde (2.2), Belgium

3 Days of De Panne

April 1 - April 3

3 Days of De Panne podium history

Thursday, April 3: Stage 3b (final stage), De Panne 13.7 km Individual Time Trial.

1. Raivis Belovosciks (Marlux) 16min 49sec
2. Olaf Pollack (Gerolsteiner)m @ 14sec
3. Fabian Cancellera (Fassa Bortolo @ 16sec
4. Viatcheslav Ekimov (US Postal) @ 17sec

Final General Classification:

1. Raivis Belohvosciks (Marlux-Wincor Nixdorf) 13hr 44min 53sec. 548 km ridden at an average speed of 39.860 km/hr
2. Gianluca Bortolami (Sidermec-Saunier Duval) @ 1sec
3. Peter Van Petegem (Lotto-Domo) @ 13sec
4. Olaf Pollack (Gerolsteiner) @ 14sec
5. Viatcheslav Ekimov (US Postal) @ 17sec
6. Nico Mattan (Cofidis) @ 20sec
7. Christophe Mengin (FDJ) @ 22sec
8. Fabian Cancellara (Fassa Bortolo) @ 25sec
9. Serguei Gontchar (De Nardi) @ 28sec
10. Marc Wauters (Rabobank) @ 30sec
11. Jurgen Van Goolen (Quick Step) @ 31sec
12. Enrico Cassani (Alessio) @ 33sec
13. Fabio Baldato (Alessio) @ 34sec
14. Robert Hunter (Rabobank) @ 38sec
15. Ludo Dierckxsens (Landbouwkrediet) @ 57sec
16. Dario Pieri (Saeco) @ 59sec
17. Salvatore Commesso (Saeco) @ 1min 15sec
18. Karsten Kroon (Rabobank) @ 1min 25sec
19. Wilfried Cretskens (Quick Step) @ 1min 32sec
20. Daniele Nardello (Telekom) @ 1min 45sec

Thursday, April 3: Stage 3a, De Panne - De Panne, 110 km.

1. Steven De Jongh (Rabobank) 2hr 32min
2. Jo Planckaert (Cofidis) s.t.
3. Fabio Baldato (Alessio) @ 1sec.

Gianluca Bortolami retains his lead with a 13.7 km individual time trial going on this afternnon. I counted over 50 abandons in the windy weather (including Boonen and Vandenbroucke). The race was marred by a crash that took out Bart Voskamp who was sitting in 2nd place @ 1sec and had a good chance to take over the lead in this afternoon's time trial.

Wednesday, April 2: Stage 2, Zottegem - Koksijde, 228 km. Cycling4all reported that the weather was terrible and that a sort of riders' strike to protest unsafe occured. After some time, the race jury decided on the following results, corrected from an earlier posting.

1. Fabio Baldato (Alessio) 6hr 18min 57sec
2. Gerben Lowik (Bankgiroloterij) s.t.
3. Jimmy Casper (FDJ) s.t.

Provisional GC after stage 2:

1. Gianluca Bortolami (Sidermec)
2. Bert Voskamp (Bankgiroloterij) @ 1sec
3. Fabio Baldato (Alessio) @ 35
4. Gerben Lowik (Bankgiroloterij) @ 40sec

Tuesday, April 1: Stage 1, Middelkerke - Zottegem, 196 km.

1. Ginaluca Bortolami (Sidermec) 4hr 37min 53sec
2. Bart Voskamp (Bankgiroloterij) s.t.
3. Christophe Mengin (FDJ) @ 20sec
4. Peter Van Petegem (Lotto) s.t.