BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Bayern Rundfahrt-Tour of Bavaria (HC)

Winners, podium, distance, average speed

The Bayern Rundfahrt (in English "Tour of Bavaria") is a late-spring stage race held in southern Germany. Between 1980 and 1988 it was an amateur competition.

From 1989 to 1995 it was an open race.

In 1998 it was made a professional race with a 2.5 ranking. It has steadily grown in prestige ever since and the Tour of Bavaria was made an "HC" race in 2005. It can conflict with the Giro d'Italia and the Tour of Belgium on the professonal racing calender

Jens Voigt and Michael Rich (both German riders) share the record for most wins at three each.


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

1989 Kai Hundertmark Koen Van Rooy Hans Knauer    
1990 Jorg Paffrath Lubos Lom Eddy Seigneur    
1991 Brian Walton Lutz Lehman Thomas Fleischer    
1992 Jacques Jolidon Willy Willems Dirk Schiffner    
1993 Alexander Kastenhuber Jens Zemke Daniel Lanz    
1994 Pavel Padrnos Jimmi Madsen Thomas Liese    
1995 Timo Scholz Volker Ordowski Arnaud August    
1996 Uwe Peschel Michael Rich
@ 18sec
Andreas Walzer
@ 36sec
678.3m km  
1997 Christian Henn
23hr 15min 11sec
Bert Dietz
@ 2sec
Arnaud Pretot
@ 19sec
925.2 km 39.788
1998 Steffen Kjaergaard
22hr 33min 4sec
Axel Merckx
@ 19sec
Daniel Atienza
@ 46sec
904.4 km 40.104
1999 Rolf Aldag
20hr 23min 37sec
Sven Gaute Hölestöl
@ 20sec
Torsten Schmidt
@ 37sec
873.5 km 42.832
2000 Jens Voigt
21hr 59min
Michael Rich
@ 4sec
Tobias Steinhauser
@ 6sec
890 km 40.478
2001 Jens Voigt
20hr 34min 14sec
Rolf Aldag
@ 7sec
Artur Babaitsev
@ 10sec
865.5 km 42.075
2002 Michael Rich
21hr 31min 48sec
Jens Voigt
@ 25sec
Yuriy Krivtsov
@ 29sec
900.1 km 41.807
2003 Michael Rich
21hr 8min 8sec
Patrick Sinkewitz
@ 30sec
Thomas Liese
@ 34sec
885.6 km 41.901
2004 Jens Voigt
22hr 23min 54sec
Andreas Klöden
@ 30sec
Tomasz Brozyna
@ 44sec
894.5 km 39.936
2005 Michael Rich
18hr 56min 10sec
Alexandre Vinokourov
@ 20sec
Linus Gerdemann
@ 59sec
783.5 km 41.376
2006 José Alberto Martinez
18hr 52min 29sec
Beat Zberg
@ 9sec
Luke Roberts
@ 19sec
777.2 km 41.176
2007 Stefan Schumacher
17hr 39min 18sec
Bert Grabsch
@ 9sec
Jens Voigt
@ 15sec
764.7 km 43.313
2008 Christian Knees
18hr 18min 28sec
Andreas Dietziker
@ 3sec
Niki Terpstra
@ 6sec
771.9 km 42.162
2009 Linus Gerdemann
17hr 29min 5sec
Maxime Monfort
@ 10sec
David Lelay
@ 26sec
740.5 km 42.351
2010 Maxime Monfort
18hr 31min 38sec
Adriano Malori
@ 12sec
Simon Spilak
@ 49sec
752 km 40.59
2011 Geraint Thomas
19hr 9min 36sec
Nicki Sörensen
@ 17sec
Michael Albasini
@ 19sec
798.20 km 41.66
2012 Michael Rogers
19hr 26min 20sec
Jerome Coppel
@ 25sec
Vladimir Gusev
@ 30sec
801.9 km 41.252
2013 Adriano Malori
19hr 28min 20sec
Geraint Thomas
@ 23sec
Jan Barta
@ 26sec
785.4 km 40.334
2014 Geraint Thomas
19hr 17min 42sec
Mathias Frank
@ 19sec
Vasil Kiryienka
@ 35sec
784.1 km 40.637
2015 Alex Dowsett
20hr 7min 29sec
Tiago Machado
@ 2sec
Jan Barta
@ 18sec
830.6 km 41.273
2016 Race not held