BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2017 Volta Limburg Classic (1.1), Netherlands

44th edition: Saturday, April 1, 2017

Volta Limburg Classic historic results | 2016 edition | 2018 edition | Race map

Eijsden - Eijsden, 198.6 km

Marco Canola

Marco Canola wins the 2017 Volta Limburg Classic

The race: Here's the story from second-place Xandro Meurisse's Wanty-Groupe Gobert team.

Cycling's World Championships

Xandro Meurisse finished close to the victory this Saturday in Volta Limburg Classic (1.1, Netherlands), the "mini Amstel Gold Race". Our Belgian rider was only beaten in a 3-men sprint on the cobbles of Eijsden by Italian Marco Canola (Nippo). Meurisse (25) rode more than 60 kilometers in the attack after a big work of the whole team with riders in every attacking group.

Meurisse: "There were a lot of breakaways with 20/30 riders involved. We rode together as a team today and that was important because the race could easily be lost. Jérôme Baugnies and Frederik Veuchelen were part of a big breakaway in the beginning of the race. Sport Vlaanderen closed that gap and later a group of 20 riders, including me, broke away. Unfortunately the cooperation wasn't very smooth and that is why Van Empel, Van der Lijcke, Canola and me decided to break away."

"Our advantage rose quickly and we headed to a sprint. There I came close to the victory. Maybe I should have started in third position instead of second position.  I felt good and confident, but Canola was strong too. Now I am a little disillusioned but that is normal. Anyway I am happy with my current form. In Volta Catalunya I already felt my condition was improving after a bad season start."

"Now I am heading to Circuit de la Sarthe. I hope to be in the selection for the Ardennes classics. We are heading to France with a strong team with some more options. Dehaes can go for the sprint and Baugnies for the GC. I hope to achieve a good result, personally or for the team."

Complete Results:

198.6 km raced at an average speed of 41.747 km/hr

1 Marco CANOLA Nippo-Vini Fantini 4hr 45min 26sec
2 Xandro MEURISSE Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
3 Nick VAN DER LIJKE Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij @ 4sec
4 Antoine WARNIER WB Veranclassic @ 51sec
5 Paul MARTENS Lotto NL-Jumbo @ 59sec
6 Jeroen MEIJERS Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
7 Dimitri PEYSKENS WB Veranclassic s.t.
8 Jérôme BAUGNIES Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
9 Loïc VLIEGEN BMC s.t.
10 Rob RUIJGH Tartetto-Isorex s.t.
11 Iuri FILOSI Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
12 Jan TRATNIK CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
13 Lorenzo ROTA Bardiani-CSF s.t.
14 Krister HAGEN Team Coop s.t.
15 Jasper DE LAAT Metec-TKH s.t.
16 Joseph ROSSKOPF BMC +1:09
17 Dylan GROENEWEGEN Lotto NL-Jumbo +1:46
18 Justin JULES WB Veranclassic s.t.
19 Rasmus POULSEN Team Veloconcept s.t.
20 Chris Anker SÖRENSEN Riwal Platform +1:48
21 Martijn TUSVELD Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij +1:50
22 Timo ROOSEN Lotto NL-Jumbo s.t.
23 Dennis BAKKER Delta Cycling Rotterdam s.t.
24 Andrei SOLOMENNIKOV Gazprom-Rusvelo +3:58
25 Maciej PATERSKI CCC Sprandi Polkowice +4:00
26 Arjen LIVYNS Pauwels Sauzen-Vastgoedservice s.t.
27 Tijmen EISING Metec-TKH s.t.
28 Julius VAN DEN BERG SEG Racing s.t.
29 Gregory HABEAUX WB Veranclassic s.t.
30 Ivan SAVITSKIY Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
31 August JENSEN Team Coop s.t.
32 Maxime FARAZIJN Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
33 Sébastien DELFOSSE WB Veranclassic s.t.
34 Simone PONZI CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
35 Jasper OCKELOEN Monkey Town s.t.
36 Raffael FREIENSTEIN Lotto- Kern Haus s.t.
37 Floris GERFS BMC s.t.
38 Mads Baadsgaard RAHBEK Team Veloconcept s.t.
39 Adriaan JANSSEN SEG Racing s.t.
40 Robbert DE GREEF Baby Dump s.t.
41 Michal PALUTA CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
42 Øyvind LUKKEDAL Team Coop s.t.
43 Evgeny SHALUNOV Gazprom-Rusvelo +4:03
44 Kilian FRANKINY BMC s.t.
45 Riccardo STACCHIOTTI Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
46 Miles SCOTSON BMC s.t.
47 Rick OTTEMA Baby Dump s.t.
48 Ludovic ROBEET WB Veranclassic s.t.
49 Guillaume LEVARLET Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
50 Jens WALLAYS Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
51 Jonas Gregaard WILSLY Riwal Platform s.t.
52 FrantišEk SISR CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
53 Sjoerd KOUWENHOVEN Metec-TKH s.t.
54 Frederik VEUCHELEN Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
55 Mirco MAESTRI Bardiani-CSF s.t.
56 Pier Paolo DE NEGRI Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
57 Nicola BAGIOLI Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
58 Marcin MROZEK CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
59 Eliot LIETAER Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
60 Manuel SENNI BMC s.t.
61 Vincenzo ALBANESE Bardiani-CSF +4:11
62 Ike GROEN Delta Cycling Rotterdam s.t.
63 Stef KRUL Metec-TKH s.t.
64 Raymond KREDER Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
65 Martijn KEIZER Lotto NL-Jumbo +4:13
66 Oscar RIESEBEEK Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
67 Robert Thomas WAGNER Lotto NL-Jumbo s.t.
68 Ben HERMANS BMC s.t.
69 Martijn BUDDING Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
70 Christophe MASSON WB Veranclassic +8:21
71 Jasper HAMELINK Metec-TKH s.t.

2017 Volta Limburg Classic map:

2017 Volta Limburg Classic map