BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2014 RideLondon-Surrey Classic (HC), U.K.

3rd Edition: Sunday, August 10, 2014

RideLondon-Surrey Classic podium history | 2013 edition | 2015 edition

London (Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park) - London (The Mall), 193 km

The Race: The early kilometers were raced in wind and rain. All attempts to form breaks were absorbed until former world champion Philippe Gilbert made his move. With the race three-quarters completed, Gilbert's attack drew ten others. Not content with such a large group Gilbert bashed this group hard with 20 kilometers remaining.

After the Belgian had had his way with the others it was down to a five-man group that had gapped the pack with Sky's fast finisher Ben Swift the most dangerous member of the break. Adam Blythe surprised them all by going a bit early, beating the others and taking the prestigious win.

Adam Blythe

Adam Blythe wins the 2014 RideLondon-Surrey. Orica-GreenEdge photo.

Complete Results:

147 starters, 101 classified finishers

Winner's average speed: 41.37 km/hr

1 Adam Blythe NFTO 4hr 39mn 52sec
2 Ben Swift Sky ProCycling
3 Julian Alaphilippe Omega Pharma - Quick Step
4 Philippe Gilbert BMC Racing Team
5 Kristijan Koren Cannondale @ 3 seconds
6 Sam Bennett Team NetApp - Endura +00:12
7 Loic Vliegen BMC Racing Team
8 Stef Clement Belkin-Pro Cycling Team
9 Elia Viviani Cannondale +00:31
10 Russell Downing NFTO
11 Martin Kohler BMC Racing Team
12 Kristian Sbaragli MTN-Qhubeka p.b Samsung
13 Nick Van Der Lijke Belkin-Pro Cycling Team
14 Jerome Baugnies Wanty-Group Gobert
15 Kristian House Rapha Condor JLT
16 Tijmen Eising Metec - TKH Contintental Cyclingteam
17 Jack Wilson An Post Chain Reaction
18 Dennis Bakker Metec - TKH Contintental Cyclingteam
19 Steve Lampier Velosure-Giordana Racing Team
20 Gregor Muhlberger Team NetApp - Endura
21 Markus Eibegger Synergy Baku Cycling Project
22 Nathan Earle Sky ProCycling
23 Iker Camano Team NetApp - Endura
24 Clement Saint Martin Team La Pomme Marseille 13
25 Thomas Damuseau Team Giant-Shimano
26 Matthieu Boulo Team Raleigh
27 Edward Theuns Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
28 Mike Northey Madison Genesis
29 Conor Dunne An Post Chain Reaction
30 Bradley Wiggins Sky ProCycling
31 Christian Meier Orica GreenEDGE
32 Marco Minnaard Wanty-Group Gobert
33 Michel Kreder Wanty-Group Gobert
34 Preben Van Hecke Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
35 Scott Thwaites Team NetApp - Endura
36 Laurens Ten Dam Belkin-Pro Cycling Team
37 Steven Kruijswijk Belkin-Pro Cycling Team +00:43
38 Arthur Vanoverberghe Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise +00:47
39 James Lowsley-Williams NFTO
40 Thomas Stewart Madison Genesis
41 Paolo Longo Borghini Cannondale +00:51
42 Alberto Bettiol Cannondale
43 Maciej Bodnar Cannondale
44 Caleb Ewan Orica GreenEDGE +01:44
45 Stijn Vandenbergh Omega Pharma - Quick Step +06:25
46 Brian Van Goethem Metec - TKH Contintental Cyclingteam +06:25
47 Jan Sokol Synergy Baku Cycling Project
48 Daan Olivier Team Giant-Shimano
49 Michael Van Staeyen Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
50 Benjamin Giraud Team La Pomme Marseille 13
51 Alessandro Petacchi Omega Pharma - Quick Step
52 Fabio Sabatini Cannondale
53 Frederik Backaert Wanty-Group Gobert
54 Sebastian Lander BMC Racing Team
55 Simon Yates Orica GreenEDGE
56 Tom Scully Madison Genesis
57 Mark Renshaw Omega Pharma - Quick Step
58 Gert Steegmans Omega Pharma - Quick Step
59 Dale Appleby NFTO
60 Stijn Steels Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
61 Francis De Greef Wanty-Group Gobert
62 Brett Lancaster Orica GreenEDGE
63 Luke Rowe Sky ProCycling
64 Zakkari Dempster Team NetApp - Endura
65 Mark Mcnally An Post Chain Reaction
66 Ian Stannard Sky ProCycling
67 Richard Handley Rapha Condor JLT +08:35
68 Christopher Opie Rapha Condor JLT +11:37
69 Yanto Barker Team Raleigh
70 Hugh Wilson NFTO
71 Daniel Westmattelmann Team Kuota
72 Aaron Gate An Post Chain Reaction
73 Alex Peters Madison Genesis
74 Thomas Rostollan Team La Pomme Marseille 13
75 Josh Hunt NFTO
76 Jonas Ahlstrand Team Giant-Shimano
77 Morgan Kneisky Team Raleigh
78 Fabia Diaz Cardenas Edward Colombia +11:42
79 Tim Vanspeybroeck Team 3M +11:44
80 Sander Helven Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
81 Thomas Moses Rapha Condor JLT
82 Andrew Fenn Omega Pharma - Quick Step
83 Jonathan Hivert Belkin-Pro Cycling Team
84 Mitch Docker Orica GreenEDGE +15:40
85 George Harper Velosure-Giordana Racing Team
86 Youcef Reguigui MTN-Qhubeka p.b Samsung +19:33
87 Songezo Jim MTN-Qhubeka p.b Samsung
88 Thomas Vaubourzeix Team La Pomme Marseille 13 +21:28
89 Evaldus Siskevicius Team La Pomme Marseille 13
90 Jerome Gilbert Wanty-Group Gobert
91 Christopher Latham Great Britain Cycling Team
92 Oliver Wood Great Britain Cycling Team
93 Christopher Lawless Great Britain Cycling Team
94 George Atkins Team Raleigh
95 Brad Morgan Velosure-Giordana Racing Team
96 Lucas Carstensen Bike Aid - Ride for help
97 Adrien Niyonshuti MTN-Qhubeka p.b Samsung
98 Tom Peterson Team Giant-Shimano
99 Nicolas Dougall MTN-Qhubeka p.b Samsung
100 Remco Te Brake Metec - TKH Contintental Cyclingteam
101 Jelle Wolsink Metec - TKH Contintental Cyclingteam

2014 RideLondon Profile

2014 RideLondon profile