BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2015 GP Nobili Rubinetterie (HC), Italy

18th edition: Thursday, March 19, 2015

GP Nobili Rubinetterie podium history |

2015 GP Nobili Rubinetterie photos |

Suno - Stresa, 187.5 km

2015 Novili Ribinetterie finish

Head down, Giacomo Nizzolo drives for the line and wins.

Paris–Roubaix: The Inside Story

The Race: This was a fast day on the road. Over the race's 187.5 kilometers, the peloton zoomed along at an average of nearly 47 kilometers/hour.

There were many attempts to break from the speeding field, but none were successful. Eventually, through attrition, a medium-sized group emerged with the peloton chasing more than three minutes back.

But even that was not to be. The leaders and the peloton merged with about twenty kilometers remaining. There were still attacks, including attempts by Davide Rebellin and Alejandro Valverde, but the pack was not to be denied.

With just a few kilometers remaining, the peloton was together, ready for a big rush to the the line, won by Trek's Giacomo Nizzolo.

Complete Results:

2015 GP Nobili Rubinetterie photos |

187.5 km raced at an average speed of 46.813 km/hr

1 Giacomo Nizzolo Trek 4hr 0min 19sec
2 Simone Ponzi Southeast s.t.
3 Marco Haller Katusha s.t.
4 Juan Jose Lobato Movistar s.t.
5 Grega Bole CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
6 Oscar Gatto Androni Giocattoli s.t.
7 Iuri Filosi Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
8 Matteo Montaguti Ag2R s.t.
9 Antonino Parrinello d'Amico Bottecchia s.t.
10 Francesco Reda Team Idea s.t.
11 Nicola Gaffurini Mg.Kvis-Vega s.t.
12 Miguel Angel Rubiano Colombia s.t.
13 Alberto Bettiol Cannondale-Garmin s.t.
14 Luis Mas Bonet Caja Rural s.t.
15 Sonny Colbrelli Italian National Team s.t.
16 Matej Mohoric Cannondale-Garmin s.t.
17 Jan Bakelants Ag2R s.t.
18 Yonattah Monsalve Southeast s.t.
19 Francesco Gavazzi Southeast s.t.
20 Simone Petilli Unieuro Wilier s.t.
21 Eduard Prades Caja Rural s.t.
22 Davide Rebellin CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
23 Lachlan Norris Drapac s.t.
24 Nathan Brown Cannondale-Garmin s.t.
25 Enrico Gasparotto Italian National Team s.t.
26 Kenny Elissonde FDJ s.t.
27 Fabio Taborre Androni Giocattoli s.t.
28 Janier Alexis Acevedo Cannondale-Garmin s.t.
29 Mauro Finetto Southeast s.t.
30 Antonio Santoro Mg.Kvis-Vega s.t.
31 David Arroyo Duran Caja Rural s.t.
32 Franco Pellizotti Androni Giocattoli s.t.
33 Heiner Rodrigo Parra Caja Rural s.t.
34 Eduard Vorganov Katusha s.t.
35 Benoît Vaugrenard FDJ s.t.
36 Ricardo Vilela Caja Rural s.t.
37 Damiano Cunego Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
38 Sergio Pardilla Caja Rural s.t.
39 Ivan Santaromita Orica GreenEdge s.t.
40 Alejandro Valverde Movistar s.t.
41 Alan Marangoni Cannondale-Garmin s.t.
42 Salvatore Puccio Italian National Team s.t.
43 Simon Clarke Orica GreenEdge s.t.
44 Pavel Kochetkov Katusha s.t.
45 Maciej Paterski CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
46 Alexander Kolobnev Katusha s.t.
47 Sylwester Szmyd CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
48 Dmitrii Kozonchuk Katusha s.t.
49 Alexandre Geniez FDJ s.t.
50 Simone Stortoni Androni Giocattoli s.t.
51 Hubert Dupont Ag2R s.t.
52 Luca Paolini Katusha s.t.
53 Sergey Lagutin Katusha s.t.
54 Fabio Felline Trek s.t.
55 Gatis Smukulis Katusha s.t.
56 Laurent Didier Trek s.t.
57 Lorenzo Rota Unieuro Wilier s.t.
58 Leigh Howard Orica GreenEdge s.t.
59 Jasha Sütterlin Movistar s.t.
60 Igor Anton Movistar s.t.
61 Enrique Sanz Movistar s.t.
62 Giovanni Carboni Unieuro Wilier s.t.
63 Tomasz Kiendys CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
64 Johan Le Bon FDJ s.t.
65 Joonas Henttala Novo Nordisk s.t.
66 Matteo Spreafico Team Idea s.t.
67 Davide Vigano Team Idea s.t.
68 Niccolò Pacinotti Italian National Team s.t.
69 Simone Consonni Italian National Team s.t.
70 David Lozano Riba Novo Nordisk s.t.
71 Ildar Arslanov RusVelo s.t.
72 Roman Maikin RusVelo s.t.
73 Eugenio Alafaci Trek s.t.
74 Filippo Ganna Italian National Team s.t.
75 Marco Tecchio Unieuro Wilier s.t.
76 Dylan Girdlestone Drapac s.t.
77 Timothy Roe Drapac s.t.
78 Juan Pablo Valencia Colombia s.t.
79 José Hernández GM Cycling Team s.t.
80 Edwin Alcibiades Avila Colombia s.t.
81 Pierre-Roger Latour Ag2R s.t.
82 Julien Berard Ag2R s.t.
83 Jussi Veikkanen FDJ s.t.
84 Matthieu Ladagnous FDJ s.t.
85 Branislau Samoilau CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
86 Walter Fernando Pedraza Colombia s.t.
87 Alessandro Malaguti Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
88 Pier Paolo De Negri Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
89 Daniele Colli Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
90 Andrea Cacciotti GM Cycling Team s.t.
91 Manuel Belletti Southeast s.t.
92 Marco Canola Italian National Team s.t.
93 Daniele Ratto Italian National Team s.t.
94 Paolo Ciavatta d'Amico Bottecchia s.t.
95 Marco D'urbano GM Cycling Team s.t.
96 Silvio Giorni d'Amico Bottecchia s.t.
97 Giacomo Berlato Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
98 Riccardo Stacchiotti Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
99 Bartlomiej Matysiak CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
100 Marco Bandiera Androni Giocattoli s.t.
101 Giuseppe Fonzi Southeast s.t.
102 Eugert Zhupa Southeast s.t.
103 Serghei Tvetcov Androni Giocattoli s.t.
104 Calvin Watson Trek s.t.
105 Winner Anacona Movistar s.t.
106 Marco Coledan Trek s.t.
107 Ruben Zepuntke Cannondale-Garmin s.t.
108 Kristoffer Skjerping Cannondale-Garmin s.t.
109 Andrea Peron Novo Nordisk s.t.
110 Alessandro Pettiti Team Idea s.t.
111 Christopher Williams Novo Nordisk s.t.
112 Mamyr Stash RusVelo s.t.
113 Manabu Ishibashi Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
114 Charles Planet Novo Nordisk s.t.
115 Lasse Norman Hansen Cannondale-Garmin s.t.
116 Brenton Jones Drapac s.t.
117 Aleksandr Komin RusVelo s.t.
118 Johan Van Summeren Ag2R s.t.
119 Peter Koning Drapac s.t.
120 Kirill Pozdnyakov RusVelo s.t.
121 Adriano Brogi d'Amico Bottecchia s.t.
122 Kevin De Mesmaeker Novo Nordisk s.t.
123 Adrian Kurek CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
124 Antonio Di Sante GM Cycling Team s.t.
125 Manuel Todaro Team Idea s.t.
126 Giorgio Bocchiola d'Amico Bottecchia s.t.
127 Mattia Frapporti Unieuro Wilier s.t.
128 Marco Tizza Team Idea s.t.
129 Marco Frapporti Androni Giocattoli s.t.
130 Michele Gazzara Mg.Kvis-Vega s.t.
131 Moreno Giampaolo Mg.Kvis-Vega s.t.
132 Alexander Serov RusVelo s.t.
133 William Bonnet FDJ s.t.
134 José Cayetano Colombia s.t.
135 Fabio Andres Duarte Colombia s.t.
136 Carlos Mario Ramirez Colombia s.t.
137 Jonathan Paredes Colombia s.t.
138 Gian Marco Di Francesco Mg.Kvis-Vega s.t.
139 Daniele Cavasin GM Cycling Team s.t.
140 Filippo Fortin GM Cycling Team s.t.
141 Rory Sutherland Movistar s.t.

2015 GP Nobili Rubinetterie photos:

Team d'Amico-Bottecchia

Before the race, team d'Amico Bottecchia

Didier Laurent

Didier Laurent is ready to race.

As is Alejandro Valverde


...and the rest of the Movistar team


Looks like a nice day to go racing in Italy


An earlier, unsuccessful break

police escort

Now THAT'S a police escort.

Giacomo Nizzolo wins

Giacomo Nizzolo wins the 2015 GP Nobili Rubinetterie

Race finish

Now he can raise his fist in celebration

Oscar Gatto

Oscar Gatto after the race

Giacomo Nizzolo

Giacomo Nizzolo displays the smile of a winner.

The podium

The podium, from left: Simone Ponzi, Giacomo Nizzolo, Marco Haller