BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Trofeo Melinda (1.1) Italy

Winners, podium, distances, average speed

The Trofeo Melinda - Val di Non is a single-day road race that was traditionally held late in the season but is now run in late June in Italy's Trentino-Alto Adige (Südtirol).

Following the demise of the ancient Giro dell'Umbria, which had been run between 1910 and 1991, the Trofeo Melinda was created to take its place (though it takes place 500 kilometers to the north of its predecessor).

The first edition of the Trofeo Melinda was run in 1992 and was won by Maurizio Fondriest.

Currently the race takes place in the the Val di Sole and the Val di Non.

In 2005 the UCI classed the Trofeo Melinda as a 1.1 race.

In 1994 and since 2013, the Trofeo Melinda has also been the Italian National Championship, the winner being granted the privilege of wearing the Italian Champion's red, white and green jersey.

Trofeo Melinda Podium history:


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

1992 Maurizio Fondriest Gianni Bugno Viatcheslav Ekimov    
1993 Stefano Della Santa Mauro Gianetti Wladimir Belli    
1994 Massimo Podenzana Francesco Casagrande Gianni Faresin    
1995 Pascal Richard Felici Puttini Gianni Faresin    
1996 Andrea Tafi
5hr 19min 10sec
Massimo Podenzana
@ 13sec
Filippo Casagrande
@ 22sec
206 km 38.726
1997 Michele Bartoli Wladimir Belli Stefano Checchin    
1998 Rodolfo Ongarato
4hr 49min 50sec
Alessandro Baronti
@ s.t.
Dario Frigo
@ s.t.
199.8 km 41.362
1999 Mauro Gianetti
5hr 9min 56sec
Carlo Finco
@ 10sec
Andrea Ferrigato
@ 16sec
197 km 38.137
2000 Gorazd Stangelj
5hr 20min 26sec
Michele Bartoli
@ 20sec
Oscar Mason
@ 29sec
200.6 km 37.561
2001 Francesco Casagrande
5hr 16min 40sec
Gianni Faresin
@ 20sec
Patrice Halgand
@ 1min 35sec
194 km 36.758
2002 Laurent Dufaux
4hr 55min 58sec
Francesco Casagrande
@ s.t.
Davide Rebellin
@ s.t.
194 km 39.329
2003 Francesco Casagrande
5hr 2min 27sec
Davide Rebellin
@ s.t.
Danilo Di Luca
@ s.t.
194 km 38.496
2004 Davide Rebellin
5hr 1min 0sec
Paolo Tiralongo
@ 1sec
Dario Frigo
@ 3sec
194 km 38.671
2005 Damiano Cunego
4hr 54min 12sec
Stefano Garzelli
@ s.t.
Luca Mazzanti
@ 2sec
194 km 39.564
2006 Stefano Garzelli
5hr 5min 0sec
Giovanni Visconti
2 4sec
Santo Anza
@ 8sec
194 km 38.163
2007 Santo Anza
5hr 4min 40sec
Luca Mazzanti
@ s.t.
Volodymyr Zagorodny
@ 3sec
194 km 38.205
2008 Leonardo Bartagnolli
4hr 55min 17sec
Stefano Garzelli
@ s.t.
Mauro Finetto
@ s.t.
194 km 39.419
2009 Giovanni Visconti
4hr 46min 0sec
Stefano Garzelli
@ s.t.
Miguel Angel Rubiano
2 3sec
194 km 40.699
2010 Vincenzo Nibali
4hr 49min 0sec
Vladislav Borisov
@ s.t.
Giovanni Visconti
@ s.t.
194 km 40.277
2011 Davied Rebellin
5hr 1min 0sec
Miguel Angel Rubiano
@ s.t.
Domenico Pozzovivo
@ 6sec
198.6 km 39.588
2012 Carlos Alberto Betancur
5hr 2min 35sec
Moreno Moser
@ s.t.
Giampaolo Caruso
@ s.t.
198.7 km 39.401
2013 Ivan Santaromita
6hr 14min 48sec
Michele Scarponi
@ s.t.
Davide Rebellin
@ s.t.
234 km 37.460
2014 Vincenzo Nibali
5hr 40min 54sec
Davide Formolo
@ s.t.
Matteo Rabottini
@ 6sec
220.5 km 38.809