BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2019 Klasika Primavera de Amorebieta (1.1), Spain

65th Edition: Sunday, April 14, 2019

Klasika Primavera podium history | 2018 edition

Amorebieta - Amorebieta, 171.5 km

Klasica Primavera map

2019 Klasiika Primavera de Amorebieta map.

Weather at the start/finish city of Amorebieta at 3:00 PM, local time: 19C (67F), cloudy, with the wind from the North-northwest at 11 km/hr (6 mph). No rain is forecast.

Carlos Betancur

Carlos Bentancur wins in Amorebieta. Photo: Gomez Sport

The race: Here's the report from winner Carlos Betancur's Team Movistar.

The Movistar Team again made its best to put the Klasika Primavera in Amorebieta (UCI 1.1) into the spotlight, Carlos Betancur taking the baton from Andrey Amador to win the Basque classic, three years after his maiden success in Blue colours at the Vueltas a Castilla y León and Asturias (2016). The Antioquia native crowned a good job from the José Luis Jaimerena-directed squad, with Blues in all main breakaways and its full seven-man lineup into the 21-rider selection before the last climbs to Montecalvo and Autzagane.

After moves from Barbero, Amador and Rubén Fernández prior to the hilly final circuit, Betancur and Edu Prades got themselves into a decisive move of six riders -with Carlos Quintero (MZN), Sergio Higuita, Txomin Juaristi (EUK) and Mikel Bizkarra (EUS)- through the last climb to Muniketa, a group reduced to four men -without Juaristi nor Bizkarra- after the last descent. Kept in check by his rivals, Prades managed well the team’s strength in numbers to leave a gap and propel Betancur to success –the men’s Movistar Team’s 7th win in 2019-, ahead of Quintero and Prades (3rd).

Carlos Betancur: “Amorebieta is a race we always come to with a great will to success, and fortunate, we were all to move our pieces well and secure victory once again. As we climbed Autzagane for the final time together, we had in mind that both Edu and myself had a chance at the sprint, and we were able to profit from that and secure a Blue win. It was an excellent work by all the team-mates all day, and on a personal note, contesting the win against two Colombians has also been beautiful. That hug I gave them at the finish, especially Higuita, is pure excitement, feeling that we’re all helping out, both the youngsters and the strongest teams, to make our sport better. After all the criticism in the last few years, winning here helps me much, and gives me motivation to work hard for the upcoming challenges.”

Edu Prades: “In the finale, our main goal was being able to hold off Higuita, since we thought he’d be the strongest – even if Quintero also proved to be quite consistent today. We were two against two rivals, we really had to win it, either Carlos or me, we couldn’t allow ourselves a mistake. Before launching the sprint, I left him gain a few meters as I was riding on his wheel, and told him: ‘Attack, attack.’ That helped us secure that success. In the end, when you’re a rider like Carlos, who has spent some time without a win, you need some motivation to keep on working, doing things well and achieving your goals, and it was my task today to help him out, as other team-mates have done for me in the past. We didn’t want to break that Amorebieta streak, and we succeeded – I’m just happy about this win, so let’s hope we can continue to score some more in the next Spanish races.”

Complete Results:

171.5 kilometers raced at an average speed of 43.434 km/hr

1 BETANCUR Carlos Movistar 3hr 57min 3sec
2 QUINTERO Carlos Manzana Postobon s.t.
3 PRADES Eduard Movistar s.t.
4 HIGUITA Sergio Equipo Euskadi s.t.
5 JUARISTI Txomin Equipo Euskadi @ 3sec
6 BIZKARRA Mikel Euskadi Basque Country 0:05
7 ITURRIA Mikel Euskadi Basque Country 0:37
8 BARBERO Carlos Movistar 2:13
9 GONZÁLEZ Mario Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
10 OSORIO Juan Felipe Manzana Postobon s.t.
11 REYES Aldemar Manzana Postobon s.t.
12 SAMITIER Sergio Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
13 BARCELÓ Fernando Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
14 GUTIERREZ Jose Guerciotti-Kiwi Atlantico s.t.
15 LOPEZ Juan Pedro Kometa Cycling s.t.
16 FERNÁNDEZ Rubén Movistar s.t.
17 ANACONA Winner Movistar 2:31
18 CUADRADO Unai Equipo Euskadi 3:20
19 LASTRA Jonathan Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 3:26
20 MARTIN Gotzon Equipo Euskadi s.t.
21 RUBIO Diego Burgos-BH s.t.
22 EZQUERRA Jesús Burgos-BH s.t.
23 FERNANDES José Burgos-BH s.t.
24 UGARTE Mikel Guerciotti-Kiwi Atlantico 5:02
25 PEDRERO Antonio Movistar 5:38
26 CANTÓN Isaac Kometa Cycling 6:32
27 GARCÍA Jose Kometa Cycling s.t.
28 OLDANI Stefano Kometa Cycling s.t.
29 TORRES Pablo Interpro Cycling s.t.
30 AMADOR Andrey Movistar s.t.
31 NUÑEZ Jose Guerciotti-Kiwi Atlantico 9:50
32 HUDRY Florian Interpro Cycling s.t.
33 ARANBURU Alex Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
34 RODRÍGUEZ Sergio Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
35 MADRAZO Ángel Burgos-BH s.t.
36 SESSLER Nícolas Burgos-BH s.t.
37 GONZÁLEZ David Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
38 NAVARRO Gauthier Interpro Cycling s.t.
39 ARANBURU Jokin Equipo Euskadi s.t.
40 AMADOR Juan José Manzana Postobon s.t.
41 SUAZA Bernardo Manzana Postobon s.t.
42 LÓPEZ-CÓZAR Juan Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
43 GUILLONNET Adrien Interpro Cycling s.t.
44 JARAMILLO Daniel Manzana Postobon s.t.
45 GARCÍA Jhojan Manzana Postobon s.t.
46 AZURMENDI Ibai Equipo Euskadi 15:54
47 UDONDO Gotzon Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
48 VIEGAS Daniel Kometa Cycling 17:27
49 CAMACHO Juan Kometa Cycling s.t.
50 ISHIHARA Yuki Interpro Cycling 18:45