BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2009 Japan Cup (HC) Results

Japan Cup podium history

Sunday, October 25: Japan Cup (HC), 151.3 km.

1. Chris Anker Sorensen (Saxo) 4hr 6min 19sec. 36.865 km/hr
2. Daniel Moreno (Caisse d'Epargne) @ 24sec
3. Ivan Santaromita (Liquigas) s.t.
4. Juan Jose Cobo (Fuji-Servetto) s.t.
5. Pablo Lastras (Caisse d'Epargne) @ 41sec
6. Joaquin Rodriguez (Caisse d'Epargne) @ 1min
7. Valerio Agnoli (Liquigas) @ 1min 26sec
8. Giovanni Visconti (ISD) s.t.
9. Shinri Suzuki (Shimano) @ 2min 9sec
10. Gustav Erik Larsson (Saxo) s.t.
11. Johann Tschopp (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
12. Taiji Nishitani (Aisan Racing Team) @ 2min 21sec
13. Takashi Miyazawa (EQA-Meitan Hompo) s.t.
14. Makoto Iijima (Bridgestone-Anchor) s.t.
15. Miyataka Shimizu (EQA-Meitan Hompo) s.t.
16. Masahiro Shinagawa (Aisan Racing Team) @ 2min 24sec
17. David De La Fuente (Fuji-Servetto) s.t.
18. Shinishi Fukushima (EQA-Meitan Hompo) @ 3min 1sec
19. Hidenori Nodera (Shimano) s.t.
20. Yukihiro Doi (Japan) s.t.
21. Kenji Itam (Bridgestone-Anchor) s.t.
22. Tomoya Kano (Shimano) @ 3min 5sec
23. Kjell Carlstrom (Liquigas) @ 3min 21sec
24. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) s.t.
25. Alessandro Proni (ISD) s.t.
26. Fredrik Kessiakoff (Fuji-Servetto) s.t.
27. Imanol Erviti (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
28. Yukiya Arashiro (Bouygues Telecom) @ 3min 25sec
29. Yasuharu Nakajima (EQA-Meitan Hompo)@ 4min 34sec
30. Kazuhiro Mori (Aisan Racing Team) @ 4min 38sec

The story from Team Saxo's web site:

Chris Anker Sørensen Took Epic Win In Japan Cup

[25.10 08:25] Last night, European time, Team Saxo Bank participated in their very last cycling event this season which was held in Utsunomiya, Japan on a undulating circuit of 14 kilometers

The Danish Team was represented by Jens Voigt, Nicki Sørensen, Gustav Larsson, Michael Mørkøv and Chris Anker Sørensen.

The latter launched an epic series of attacks on his opponents within the last 40 kilometers of the course along with a strong riding Jens Voigt and the young Danish climber finally succeeded in leaving the field behind.

Chris Anker Sørensen crossed the finish line alone and put an astonishing end to the season where he was often seen helping his teammates in their mission to succeed. Today, he took the initiative and brought home the victory in the empire of the sun.

"Chris and Jens opened the race with 40 kilometers to go which course suited Chris like a glove with a short circular route with a large climb to pass ten times. It is a great way to finish the season and it is rewarding to be the sports director for energetic and enthusiastic riders like these who are still motivated in the very last part of the season", said sports director Torsten Schmidt Sunday morning European time.