BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2018 Halle-Ingooigem (1.1), Belgium

71st edition: Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Halle-Ingooigem podium history | 2017 edition | 2019 edition

Halle - Ingooigem, 197.7 km

Danny van Poppel

Danny van Poppel (on right) just wins the 2018 Halle-Ingooigem

The race: Here's the report from winner Danny van Poppel's LottoNL-Jumbo team.

Tour de France: the Inside Story

Danny van Poppel has won the seventy-first edition of Halle-Ingooigem in Belgium in a sprint with a thinned first peloton. After two hundred kilometres, the 24-year-old topsprinter of Team LottoNL-Jumbo was a fraction faster than his compatriot Fabio Jakobsen. For Van Poppel, it’s his second win of the season. In February, he won a stage in the Volta a la Comunitat Valencia. Van Poppel’s victory is the twentieth victory for Team LottoNL-Jumbo.

The Belgian semi-classic, traditionally the last preparation for the national championships, was a very tough one. Van Poppel and Maarten Wynants managed to bridge across to a large leading group in the final lap. Wynants then held the group together, after which Van Poppel started his sprint early.

“Finally I win again. I’m really pleased about it. In the last few weeks, I’ve been very close a few times, especially in the Giro, so you can imagine how happy I am with this victory”, Van Poppel said. “It was really close between Jakobsen and me, but winning is winning. I was perfectly placed in Jakobsen his lead-out. I wanted to start the sprint earlier than he did. I lost quite some speed in the end, but luckily it was enough for the win. Maarten did a lot of work for me. During the last time on the Tiegemberg, we bridged across to the leading group. He ensured that it stayed together and that I could sprint. This gives me confidence for the coming weeks.”

Complete Results:

197.7 kilometers raced at an average speed of 43.825 km/hr

1 VAN POPPEL Danny LottoNL-Jumbo 4hr 30min 40sec
2 JAKOBSEN Fabio Quick-Step Floors s.t.
3 DE BIE Sean Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
4 HOFSTETTER Hugo Cofidis s.t.
5 BOECKMANS Kris Vital Concept s.t.
6 DUPONT Timothy Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
7 ISTA Kevyn WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic s.t.
8 JENSEN August Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
9 STUYVEN Jasper Team Belgium s.t.
10 VAN DER SANDE Tosh Lotto-Soudal s.t.
11 RICKAERT Jonas Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
12 DELTOMBE Kevin Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
13 PAUWELS Kevin Marlux-Bingoal s.t.
14 JOSEPH Thomas Marlux-Bingoal s.t.
15 NÕMMELA Aksel BEAT Cycling s.t.
16 DE LAAT Jasper Metec-TKH s.t.
17 BOL Cees SEG Racing Academy s.t.
18 VAN MELSEN Kevin Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
19 DE GREEF Robbert Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
20 VERMEER Tom Differdange-Losch s.t.
21 SEFA Ylber Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
22 MØRKØV Michael Quick-Step Floors s.t.
23 MAES Nikolas Lotto-Soudal s.t.
24 ALLEGAERT Piet Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
25 GOLDSTEIN Roy Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
26 CORBEL Erwann Vital Concept s.t.
27 DUIJN Huub Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
28 ISERBYT Eli Marlux-Bingoal s.t.
29 BAUGNIES Jerome Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
30 PEDERSEN Casper Aqua Blue Sport @ 5sec
31 NEILANDS Krists Israel Cycling Academy 0:07
32 VANTOMME Maxime WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic 0:09
33 MERLIER Tim Veranda's Willems-Crelan 0:17
34 DEBUSSCHERE Jens Lotto-Soudal s.t.
35 FREIBERG Michael Bennelong-SwissWellness s.t.
36 VERMELTFOORT Coen Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
37 VAN ASBROECK Tom Team Belgium s.t.
38 KEUKELEIRE Jens Lotto-Soudal s.t.
39 VAN HOECKE Gijs LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
40 VAN STAEYEN Michael Cofidis s.t.
41 JULES Justin WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic s.t.
42 MANNAERTS Jelle Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
43 GEUENS Alexander Sovac-Natura4Ever s.t.
44 COOLS Michael T.Palm-Pole Continental s.t.
45 MENTEN Milan Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
46 MONK Cyrus Drapac-EF Cycling s.t.
47 LAMB Ross T.Palm-Pole Continental s.t.
48 COENEN Dennis Cibel-Cebon s.t.
49 MORICE Julien Vital Concept s.t.
50 STEVENS Timothy Cibel-Cebon s.t.
51 REYNAERTS Wim Cibel-Cebon s.t.
52 LEWIS Adam T.Palm-Pole Continental s.t.
53 KOOISTRA Marten SEG Racing Academy s.t.
54 VAN BAKEL Robbie Metec-TKH s.t.
55 FARAZIJN Maxime Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
56 WHITE Liam Drapac-EF Cycling s.t.
57 PETIT Tomas T.Palm-Pole Continental s.t.
58 VALLÉE Boris Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
59 HOEYBERGHS Daan BEAT Cycling s.t.
60 DONDERS Jelle Differdange-Losch s.t.
61 MENGOULAS Alex BEAT Cycling s.t.
62 STENUIT Robin Sovac-Natura4Ever s.t.
63 DE BONDT Dries Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
64 VANSPEYBROUCK Pieter Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
65 SOUPE Geoffrey Cofidis s.t.
66 RAYMACKERS Cedric Cibel-Cebon s.t.
67 VERBOOM Minne SEG Racing Academy s.t.
68 DE WITTE Mathias Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
69 HOFLAND Moreno Lotto-Soudal s.t.
70 VAN GESTEL Dries Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
71 DE ROOZE Niels Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
72 GATE Aaron Aqua Blue Sport s.t.
73 SAGIV Guy Israel Cycling Academy 0:24
74 HAMELINK Jasper Metec-TKH s.t.
75 KREDER Wesley Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
76 VAN LERBERGHE Bert Cofidis s.t.
77 WAGNER Robert LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
78 VAN HECKE Preben Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
79 DELFOSSE Sebastien WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic s.t.
80 WHELAN James Drapac-EF Cycling s.t.
81 TOOVEY Ayden Bennelong-SwissWellness s.t.
82 EVRARD Laurent Sovac-Natura4Ever s.t.
83 DEMPSTER Zakkari Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
84 SÉNÉCHAL Florian Quick-Step Floors s.t.
85 SERRY Pieter Quick-Step Floors s.t.
86 VAN GINNEKEN Sjoerd Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
87 VANTHOURENHOUT Dieter Marlux-Bingoal s.t.
88 BAK Lars Ytting Lotto-Soudal s.t.
89 GAREL Adrien Vital Concept s.t.
90 STEELS Stijn Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
91 WAEYTENS Zico Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
92 DE LANGE Thijs Metec-TKH s.t.
93 DEHAES Kenny WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic s.t.
94 VANTHOURENHOUT Michael Marlux-Bingoal s.t.
95 BLYTHE Adam Aqua Blue Sport s.t.
96 VAN DEN BERG Julius SEG Racing Academy s.t.
97 WYNANTS Maarten LottoNL-Jumbo 0:41
98 LEMOINE Cyril Cofidis 0:50
99 VERHELST Louis Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
100 REYNDERS Jens Team Belgium s.t.
101 DUNNE Conor Aqua Blue Sport s.t.
102 MANZIN Lorrenzo Vital Concept 0:53
103 VANBILSEN Kenneth Cofidis 0:59
104 REINDERS Elmar Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij 1:01
105 KREDER Michel Aqua Blue Sport 1:05
106 STOCKMAN Michiel Tarteletto-Isorex 1:13
107 MAES Alexander Tarteletto-Isorex 2:10
108 VAN GOETHEM Brian Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
109 DE VREESE Laurens Team Belgium 2:19
110 VAN SCHIP Jan-Willem Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
111 MCNALLY Mark Wanty-Groupe Gobert 4:02
112 DEBEIR Arno Marlux-Bingoal 4:32
113 FOURNIER Marc Vital Concept 5:05
114 SABATINI Fabio Quick-Step Floors s.t.
115 DE WINTER Ludwig WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic s.t.
116 DE BACKER Bert Vital Concept s.t.
117 ELLIOTT Nathan Bennelong-SwissWellness s.t.
118 VAN DINGENEN Jordi Team Belgium s.t.