BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2016 Gran Premio Industria & Artigianato di Larciano, (1.1), Italy

39th edition: Sunday, March 6, 2016

GP Industria & Artigiano di Larciano podium history | 2017 edition | Course map | Photos | Start list

Larciano - Larciano, 199.2 kilometers

Simon Clarke

Simon Clarke pulls off a brilliant solo win

The Race: This is a tough day of racing in Tuscany's hills. A look at the race profile will disabuse anyone of the notion that a rider can sit in and sprint at the finish. To make things still tougher, it was a cold, wet day, as the rider photos make clear.

A break went early but during the race's final circuits, some dropped riders made it up to the front group. Among them was Cannondale's Simon Clarke.

Clark was on form today and near the end he blasted clear of the other leaders and big-geared to the finish in Larciano to win by more than a half-minute.

Complete Results:


199.2 kilometers raced at an average speed of 39.873 km/hr

1 Simon Clarke Cannondale 4hr 59min 45sec
2 Andrea Fedi Southeast-Venezuela +33sec
3 Giovanni Visconti Movistar s.t.
4 Rigoberto Urán Cannondale s.t.
5 Francesco Gavazzi Androni Giocattoli +43''
6 Ramunas Navardauskas Cannondale s.t.
7 Cesare Benedetti Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
8 Mauro Finetto Italy s.t.
9 Sergio Pardilla Caja Rural s.t.
10 Simone Petilli Lampre Merida s.t.
11 Adam Yates Orica-GreenEdge s.t.
12 Egan Bernal Androni Giocattoli s.t.
13 Davide Formolo Cannondale s.t.
14 Esteban Chaves Orica-GreenEdge +53''
15 Francesco Bongiorno Bardiani CSF +1' 18''
16 Nathan Brown Cannondale s.t.
17 Andrei Solommenikov Gazprom-Rusvelo +1' 23''
18 Sergey Chernetsky Katusha s.t.
19 Pello Bilbao Caja Rural s.t.
20 Franco Pellizotti Androni Giocattoli s.t.
21 Jonathan Fumeaux IAM Cycling s.t.
22 Tiago Machado Katusha s.t.
23 Ricardo Vilela Caja Rural s.t.
24 Valerio Agnoli Astana s.t.
25 Rodolfo Torres Androni Giocattoli s.t.
26 Manuele Mori Lampre Merida +1' 44''
27 Stefano Pirazzi Bardiani CSF s.t.
28 Jaime Rosón Caja Rural s.t.
29 Lluís Mas Caja Rural +2' 05''
30 Manuel Belletti Southeast-Venezuela s.t.
31 Nicola Bagioli Italy s.t.
32 Davide Villella Cannondale +2' 08''
33 Pierpaolo De Negri Nippo-Vini Fantini +2' 13''
34 Alexander Foliforov Gazprom-Rusvelo +4' 26''
35 Pirmin Lang IAM Cycling s.t.
36 Mirko Selvaggi Androni Giocattoli +5' 22''
37 Francisco Ventoso Movistar +5' 41''
38 Davide Ballerini Italy s.t.
39 Michele Scarponi Astana +5' 48''
40 Moreno Moser Cannondale +5' 55''
41 Eduard-Michael Grosu Nippo-Vini Fantini +10' 13''
42 Julen Amezqueta Southeast-Venezuela +11' 06''
43 Yonder Godoy Venezuela s.t.
44 Xavier Quevedo Venezuela s.t.
45 Lorenzo Rota Bardiani CSF s.t.
46 Joonas Henttala Novo Nordisk s.t.
47 Alessio Taliani Androni Giocattoli s.t.
48 Ildar Arslanov Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
49 Charles Planet Novo Nordisk s.t.
50 Silvio Herklotz Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
51 Kevin Demesmaeker Novo Nordisk s.t.
52 Ivan Savitsky Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
53 Artem Nych Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
54 Matvei Mamykin Katusha s.t.
55 Marcel Aregger IAM Cycling s.t.
56 Martin Elmiger IAM Cycling s.t.
57 Marcel Wyss IAM Cycling s.t.
58 Clément Chevrier IAM Cycling s.t.
59 Alessandro Bisolti Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
60 Lukas Pöstlberger Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
61 Antonio Nibali Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
62 Iuri Filosi Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
63 Jakob Fuglsang Astana s.t.
64 Bartosz Huzarski Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
65 Kristjan Koren Cannondale s.t.
66 Oliviero Troia Italy s.t.
67 Alessandro Tonelli Bardiani CSF s.t.
68 Sergey Firsanov Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
69 Artem Ovechkin Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
70 Jorge Arcas Movistar s.t.
71 Dáyer Quintana Movistar s.t.
72 Antonio Pedrero Movistar s.t.
73 Filippo Pozzato Southeast-Venezuela s.t.
74 Simone Andreetta Bardiani CSF +11' 42''
75 Simon Gerrans Orica-GreenEdge DNF
76 Jens Keukeleire Orica-GreenEdge DNF
77 Rubén Plaza Orica-GreenEdge DNF
78 Alexander Edmondson Orica-GreenEdge DNF
79 Christian Meier Orica-GreenEdge DNF
80 Luke Durbridge Orica-GreenEdge DNF
81 Dominik Nerz Bora-Argon 18 DNF
82 Emanuel Buchmann Bora-Argon 18 DNF
83 Zakkari Dempster Bora-Argon 18 DNF
84 Michael Schwarzmann Bora-Argon 18 DNF
85 Antonio Viola Nippo-Vini Fantini DNF
86 Daniele Colli Nippo-Vini Fantini DNF
87 Grega Bole Nippo-Vini Fantini DNF
88 Vincenzo Nibali Astana DNF
89 Eros Capecchi Astana DNF
90 Bakhtiyar Kozhatayev Astana DNF
91 Andriy Grivko Astana DNF
92 Gatis Smukulis Astana DNF
93 Diego Ulissi Lampre Merida DNF
94 Mattia Cattaneo Lampre Merida DNF
95 Ilia Koshevoy Lampre Merida DNF
96 Sacha Modolo Lampre Merida DNF
97 Valerio Conti Lampre Merida DNF
98 Przemyslaw Niemiec Lampre Merida DNF
99 Simon Pellaud IAM Cycling DNF
100 Aleksejs Saramotins IAM Cycling DNF
101 Enrico Barbin Bardiani CSF DNF
102 Nicola Boem Bardiani CSF DNF
103 Luca Sterbini Bardiani CSF DNF
104 Ángel Vicioso Katusha DNF
105 Maxim Belkov Katusha DNF
106 Egor Silin Katusha DNF
107 Jurgen Van den Broeck Katusha DNF
108 Alexandr Kolobnev Gazprom-Rusvelo DNF
109 Stephen Clancy Novo Nordisk DNF
110 David Lozano Novo Nordisk DNF
111 Javier Megías Novo Nordisk DNF
112 Scott Ambrose Novo Nordisk DNF
113 Martijn Verschoor Novo Nordisk DNF
114 Matteo Busato Southeast-Venezuela DNF
115 Daniel Martínez Southeast-Venezuela DNF
116 Enrique Sanz Southeast-Venezuela DNF
117 Mirko Trosino Southeast-Venezuela DNF
118 Daniele Ratto Androni Giocattoli DNF
119 Davide Viganò Androni Giocattoli DNF
120 Héctor Sáez Caja Rural DNF
121 José Gonçalves Caja Rural DNF
122 Domingos Gonçalves Caja Rural DNF
123 Rory Sutherland Movistar DNF
124 Marc Soler Movistar DNF
125 Jasha Sütterlin Movistar DNF
126 Rinaldo Nocentini Italy DNF
127 Edoardo Affini Italy DNF
128 Edward Ravasi Italy DNF
129 Marco Tecchio Italy DNF
130 Miguel Ubeto Venezuela DNF
131 Enrique Díaz Venezuela DNF
132 Yonathan Monsalve Venezuela DNF

GP Industria & Artigiano map and profile:

GP Indurstira Larciano

GP Industria & Artigiano di Larciano map

GP Industria Larciano profile

GP Industria & Artigiano di Larciano profile

Photos by Fotoreporter Sirotti:

Caja rural

Caja Rural is presented under rather grey skies before the race begins

Race begins

It's time to race and the streets are already wet.


Astana leads the peloton


Astana clearly invested a lot of energy into this race, but their best placing today was Valerio Agnoli's 24th.


The back of the peloton

Follow cars

The team cars follow the pack.


Astana still at the front.

Simon Clarke

Simon Clarke is well-positioned late in the race.

Simon Clarke

Simon Clarke wins the race.

Simon Clarke

Clarke is well-pleased with how the day turned out.

Simon Clarke

Clarke gets to enjoy his win.


The podium, from left: Andrea Fedi (second place), Simon Clarke, and Giovanni Visconti (3rd).

Start list, March 5, 2016:

start list

SP Industria & Artigiano Larciano start list