BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2019 Giro dell'Emilia (HC) Results

102nd edition: Saturday, October 5, 2019

Giro dell'Emilia podium history | 2018 edition | 2020 edition | Course map | Race photos

Saturday, October 5: Bologna - San Luca, Italy. 207.4 km

Primoz Roglic

Primoz Roglic wins again.

Weather at the start/finish area of Bologna at 1:45 PM, local time: 20C (68F), fair, with the wind from the northwest at 10 km/hr (6 mph). No rain is forecast.

The race: Here's the report from winner Primoz Roglic's Jumbo-Visma team.

Tour de France: the Inside Story

Primoz Roglic has won the Giro dell’Emilia in an impressive manner. The Slovenian of Team Jumbo-Visma got rid of his competitors while entering the final kilometre on the final climb to San Luca and crossed the finish line solo.

The winner of the Vuelta a España stepped onto the highest step of the podium for the twelfth time this season. The climb of San Luca, which had to be climbed five times along the way, was familiar territory for Roglic. Earlier this year, he won the Giro d’Italia opening time trial on the steep climb and as a result, he conquered the pink leader’s jersey. For Team Jumbo-Visma, Roglic’s victory is the 49th victory of the season.

“The team did a great job today”, Roglic said. “We controlled the race from the start. On the local laps, we often participated in the attack and we caught the last attackers. In the end it was up to me to finish it off. To be honest, I didn’t have very good legs today. We can all be very happy with today’s result. This victory would not have been possible without my teammates.”

They proved to be very valuable again, because Robert Gesink, Sepp Kuss, George Bennett and Antwan Tolhoek in particular showed themselves in the final.

“The last time I climbed San Luca, I won and today I win again. I think it’s a nice place here”, Roglic continued. “I will start in Tre Valli Varesine next Tuesday, and then finish my season in Il Lombardia.”

The 29-year-old Slovenian will most likely end his season as the world’s number one, because due to his victory, Roglic strengthened his leading position in the rankings.

Complete Results:

Race photos

207.4 kilometers raced at an average speed of 40.385 km/hr

1 Primož Roglic Jumbo-Visma 5hr 8min 8sec
2 Michael Woods EF Education First @ 14sec
3 Sergio Higuita EF Education First s.t.
4 Bauke Mollema Trek-Segafredo +16''
5 Alejandro Valverde Movistar s.t.
6 Diego Ulissi UAE-Team Emirates +20''
7 Pierre Latour Ag2r La Mondiale +23''
8 Jakob Fuglsang Astana s.t.
9 Egan Bernal Team INEOS +27''
10 Gianluca Brambilla Trek-Segafredo +31''
11 Rudy Molard Groupama-FDJ +34''
12 Giulio Ciccone Trek-Segafredo +44''
13 Robert Gesink Jumbo-Visma +45''
14 Esteban Chaves Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
15 Sébastien Reichenbach Groupama-FDJ +49''
16 Diego Rosa Team INEOS +53''
17 Nikolay Cherkasov Gazprom-RusVelo +58''
18 Daniel Martin UAE-Team Emirates +1' 07''
19 Iván Sosa Team INEOS +1' 24''
20 George Bennett Jumbo-Visma +1' 31''
21 Mikel Nieve Mitchelton-Scott +1' 41''
22 Pierpaolo Ficara Amore & Vita-Prodir +2' 21''
23 Vincenzo Nibali Bahrain-Merida +2' 25''
24 Mikaël Chérel Ag2r La Mondiale +2' 36''
25 Sepp Kuss Jumbo-Visma s.t.
26 Guillaume Martin Wanty-Gobert s.t.
27 Niklas Eg Trek-Segafredo +2' 39''
28 Antwan Tolhoek Jumbo-Visma +2' 42''
29 Simone Velasco Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia s.t.
30 Edoardo Zardini Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia +2' 46''
31 Mattia Bais Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec +2' 49''
32 Lorenzo Rota Bardiani-CSF +2' 58''
33 Francesco Bongiorno Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia +3' 07''
34 Warren Barguil Arkea-Samsic +4' 04''
35 Aleksander Vlasov Gazprom-RusVelo +4' 12''
36 Miguel Flórez Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec +4' 46''
37 Gianni Moscon Team INEOS +4' 51''
38 Tanel Kangert EF Education First +5' 02''
39 Simon Clarke EF Education First s.t.
40 Sergey Chernetsky Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
41 Clément Chevrier Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
42 Luis León Sánchez Astana s.t.
43 Jaakko Hänninen Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
44 Jack Haig Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
45 Tao Geoghegan Hart Team INEOS s.t.
46 Hugh Carthy EF Education First s.t.
47 Andrea Garosio Bahrain-Merida +6' 13''
48 Kilian Frankiny Groupama-FDJ +6' 41''
49 Hermann Pernsteiner Bahrain-Merida +6' 44''
50 Nicola Bagioli Nippo-Vini Fantini +6' 52''
51 Mattia Cattaneo Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec +6' 55''
52 Filippo Zana Sangemini-Trevigiani-MG.Kvis s.t.
53 Ivan Rovnyi Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
54 Cristián Rodríguez Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
55 Valentin Madouas Groupama-FDJ +7' 09''
56 Lorenzo Fortunato Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia s.t.
57 Jonathan Lastra Caja Rural-Seguros RGA +7' 14''
58 Daniel Muñoz Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec +7' 22''
59 Hubert Dupont Ag2r La Mondiale +7' 27''
60 Tsgabu Grmay Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
61 Dylan Teuns Bahrain-Merida s.t.
62 Mathias Frank Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
63 Fausto Masnada Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec +8' 19''
64 Filippo Zaccanti Nippo-Vini Fantini +8' 32''
65 Jacopo Mosca Trek-Segafredo +13' 41''

2019 Giro dell'Emilia map:

2019 Giro Emilia map

Race pictures by Fotoreporter Sirotti:

Caja Rural bikes

Before the start, Caja Rural's neat green De Rosa's are ready to race.

Amore & Vita

Before the race start the Amore & Vita team is presented.

Giro dell'Emilia start

It's about time to race, with Vincenzo Nibali, Alejandro Valverde and Primoz Roglic among the starters on the front line.


The peloton muscles up a climb.

Alejandro Valverde

Alejandro Valverde finished fifth.

Bauke mollema

Bauke Mollema was fourth.

Michael Woods and Sergio Higuita

Michael Woods and Sergio Higuita finished second and third.

Primoz roglic

Primoz Roglic gets the sit-up win.

Primoz Roglic

Primoz Roglic just after the race.

Primoz Roglic

Race winner Primoz Roglic

Race podium

The top three finishers celebrate, from left: Michael Woods (2nd), Primoz Roglic & Sergio Higuita (3rd)