BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2005 E3 Prijs Harelbeke (HC), Belgium

48th edition: March 26, 2005
Complete Results

E3 Prijs Harelbeke podium history | 2004 edition | 2006 edition

Saturday, March 26: Harelbeke - Harelbeke, 200 km.

Tom Boonen

Tom Boonen at the 2005 E3. I believe this is at the start of the race. Photo: Filip Bossuyt

Tour de France: the Inside Story

The race: Eleven riders broke away about halfway into the race. As they pounded away from the field, a few riders were able to bridge up to the escapees, including Tom Boonen, who had won the race the year before.

With 57 kilometers to go, Andreas Klier got away from the break on the Taaienberg ascent. Boonen gave it all he had and was able to stay on the flying German rider's wheel. A few riders, including Peter Van Petegem and Nico Mattan, gave hard chase and almost caught the leaders. Almost.

Though Klier and Boonen had only a small lead, they were able to stay away to the end. Klier knew Boonen was fast, but he still tried to go with 200 meters to the line. Boonen easily went by him to take a clean win.

Complete results:

200 kilometers raced at an average speed of 42.417 km/hr

187 starters, 46 classified finishers

1 Tom Boonen  Quick Step 4hr 42min 5sec
2 Andreas Klier  T-Mobile s.t.
3 Peter Van Petegem  Davitamon-Lotto @ 13sec
4 David Kopp  Wiesenhof 17"
5 Nico Mattan  Davitamon-Lotto s.t.
6 Steffen Wesemann  T-Mobile 22"
7 Erik Dekker  Rabobank 33"
8 Jeremy Hunt  Mr. Bookmaker 2'50"
9 Eric Baumann  T-Mobile s.t.
10 Lars Michaelsen  CSC s.t.
11 Stuart O'Grady  Cofidis s.t.
12 Aart Vierhouten  Davitamon-Lotto s.t.
13 Steven De Jongh  Rabobank s.t.
14 Stefan Schumacher  Shimano-Memory s.t.
15 Tomas Vaitkus  Ag2r s.t.
16 Bernhard Eisel  FDJ s.t.
17 Anthony Geslin  Bouygues Telecom s.t.
18 Michal Precechtel  eD'system-ZVVZ s.t.
19 Serguei Ivanov  T-Mobile s.t.
20 Christophe Mengin  FDJ s.t.
21 Christophe Detilloux  FDJ s.t.
22 Mathew Hayman  Rabobank s.t.
23 Koen Barbé  Chocolade Jacques s.t.
24 Paolo Longo Borghini  Barloworld s.t.
25 Roger Hammond  Discovery Channel s.t.
26 Unai Yus Kerejeta  Bouygues Telecom s.t.
27 Frédéric Guesdon  FDJ s.t.
28 Wilfried Cretskens  Quick Step s.t.
29 Bert Scheirlinckx  Flanders s.t.
30 Roy Sentjens  Rabobank s.t.
31 Bram Tankink  Quick Step s.t.
32 Leif Hoste  Discovery Channel s.t.
33 Staf Scheirlinckx  Cofidis s.t.
34 Glenn d'Hollander  Landbouwkrediet s.t.
35 Bert De Waele  Landbouwkrediet s.t.
36 Hayden Roulston  Discovery Channel s.t.
37 Guido Trenti  Quick Step s.t.
38 Peter Farazijn  Cofidis s.t.
39 Stijn Devolder  Discovery Channel s.t.
40 Marc Wauters  Rabobank s.t.
41 Kevin Hulsmans  Quick Step s.t.
42 Benoît Joachim  Discovery Channel s.t.
43 Thomas Voeckler  Bouygues Telecom s.t.
44 Rolf Aldag  T-Mobile s.t.
45 Sean Sullivan  Barloworld s.t.
46 Angel Castresana del Val  Mr. Bookmaker s.t.