BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2016 Dwars Door Vlaanderen (HC), Belgium

A travers la Flandre - Across Flanders

71st edition: Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Dwars door Vlaanderen podium history | 2015 edition | 2017 edition | Race map

Roeselare - Waregem, 199.7 km

18,800 Euros in prize money

Jens Debusschere

Jens Debusschere wins Dwars door Vlaanderen

The Race: The race started despite the terrorist attacks in Brussels. Some riders were not able to make it to the start. Reports are that only two Giant-Alpecin riders had been able to get to the race and there were just four Movistar riders.

The riders wore black armbands to express their condolences to the bombing victims. There was a moment of silence before the riders rolled off the start line.


Here's a picture from Team Roompot of the riders ready to go.

Hugo Houle

Hugo Houle tweeted this photo of himself wearing a black armband.

Today's race was filled with aggression as groups and individuals kept rolling the dice on this rainy day in Flanders.

Despite the ferocity of the ongoing attacks, the pack was together with about ten kilometers left to go. Then, Greg van Avermaet (BMC) dropped the hammer and was gone.

It was an extraordinary display of power and with less than a kilometer to go, he still had a small lead as Etixx-Quick Step chased the escapee.

And then he was caught. That was the signal for Fernando Gaviria (Etixx-Quick Step) to try to win the sprint, but he was overtaken. Bryan Coquard looked to have the race won, but he sat up just a bit too soon, allowing Debusschere to sneak past him to win the race.

Dwars door Vlaanderen

Debusschere throwing his bike and just beating Coquard

Complete Results:

199.7 kilometers raced at an average speed of 41.539 km/hr

1 DEBUSSCHERE Jens Lotto-Soudal 4hr 48min 27sec
2 COQUARD Bryan Direct Energie s.t.
3 THEUNS Edward Trek-Segafredo s.t.
4 POZZATO Filippo Southeat-Venezuela s.t.
5 KEUKELEIRE Jens Orica-GreenEdge s.t.
6 NIZZOLO Giacomo Trek-Segafredo s.t.
7 GATTO Oscar Tinkoff s.t.
8 THWAITES Scott Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
9 TEUNISSEN Mike LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
10 GAVIRIA Fernando Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
11 VAN ASBROECK Tom LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
12 PETIT Adrien Direct Energie s.t.
13 MARCATO Marco Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
14 CAPIOT Amaury Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
15 PEDERSEN Mads Stölting Service Group s.t.
16 LAPORTE Christophe Cofidis s.t.
17 VANSPEYBROUCK Pieter Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
18 BACKAERT Frederik Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
19 VLIEGEN Loïc BMC s.t.
20 STUYVEN Jasper Trek-Segafredo s.t.
21 VAN LERBERGHE Bert Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
22 ASSELMAN Jesper Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
23 DECLERCQ Tim Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
24 KUENG Stefan BMC s.t.
25 SENECHAL Florian Cofidis s.t.
26 AMADOR Andrey Movistar s.t.
27 DURBRIDGE Luke Orica-GreenEdge s.t.
28 DEVENYNS Dries IAM Cycling s.t.
29 KIRSCH Alex Stölting Service Group s.t.
30 DUCHESNE Antoine Direct Energie s.t.
31 BREEN Vegard Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
33 BAUHAUS Phil Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
34 LIGTHART Pim Lotto-Soudal s.t.
35 TERPSTRA Niki Etixx-Quick Step @ 11sec
36 MAES Nikolas Etixx-Quick Step 0:00:12
37 WALLAYS Jelle Lotto-Soudal 0:00:38
38 MCLAY Daniel Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
39 BENOOT Tiesj Lotto-Soudal s.t.
40 VAN POPPEL Boy Trek-Segafredo s.t.
41 PORSEV Alexander Katusha s.t.
42 HOWARD Leigh IAM Cycling s.t.
43 CORT NIELSEN Magnus Orica-GreenEdge s.t.
44 HOLST ENGER Sondre IAM Cycling s.t.
45 MATZKA Ralf Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
46 VAN BILSEN Kenneth Cofidis s.t.
47 KREDER Raymond Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
48 MEZGEC Luka Orica-GreenEdge s.t.
49 JANS Roy Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
50 GULDHAMMER Rasmus Stölting Service Group s.t.
51 LOBATO Juan Jose Movistar s.t.
52 ZABEL Rick BMC s.t.
53 LEMOINE Cyril Cofidis s.t.
54 VAN HECKE Preben Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
55 DE HAES Kenny Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
56 GERTS Floris BMC s.t.
57 TRUSOV Nikolai Tinkoff s.t.
58 SAVITSKY Ivan Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
59 GROENEWEGEN Dylan LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
60 HOLLENSTEIN Reto IAM Cycling s.t.
61 PONZI Simone CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
62 SÜTTERLIN Jasha Movistar s.t.
63 VAN HOECKE Gijs Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
64 BRUTT Pavel Tinkoff s.t.
65 VAN KEIRSBULCK Guillaume Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
66 WISNIOWSKI Lukasz Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
67 SOLOMENNIKOV Andrey Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
68 MARYCZ Jaroslaw CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
69 DENZ Nico Ag2r s.t.
70 BAK Lars Ytting Lotto-Soudal s.t.
71 ISAYCHEV Vladimir Katusha s.t.
72 LAENGEN Vegard Stake IAM Cycling s.t.
73 VAN GOETHEM Brian Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
74 ANTONINI Simone Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
75 DEMPSTER Zakkari Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
76 SCHILLINGER Andreas Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
77 DEVRIENDT Tom Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
78 HOULE Hugo Ag2r s.t.
79 PICHOT Alexandre Direct Energie s.t.
80 IRIZAR Markel Trek-Segafredo s.t.
81 CLAEYS Dimitri Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
82 SAGAN Juraj Tinkoff s.t.
83 ANDERSON Ryan Direct Energie s.t.
84 GENE Yohann Direct Energie s.t.
85 WAGNER Robert LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
86 TRONET Steven Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
87 BURGHARDT Marcus BMC s.t.
88 KOZONTCHUK Dmitriy Katusha s.t.
89 RICKAERT Jonas Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
90 HALLER Marco Katusha s.t.
91 BONIFAZIO Niccolo Trek-Segafredo s.t.
92 VENTOSO Francisco José Movistar s.t.
93 VAN MELSEN Kevin Wanty-Groupe Gobert 0:00:50
94 CASTELIJNS Twan LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
95 KREDER Wesley Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
96 MARTIN Tony Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
97 HUTAROVICH Yauheni Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
98 DEVOLDER Stijn Trek-Segafredo s.t.
99 VAN GINNEKEN Sjoerd Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
100 DE BUYST Jasper Lotto-Soudal s.t.
101 DE BIE Sean Lotto-Soudal s.t.
102 BOHLI Tom BMC s.t.
103 JARRIER Benoit Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
104 KUZNETSOV Vyacheslav Katusha s.t.
105 HOFLAND Moreno LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
106 WYNANTS Maarten LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
107 DE VRIES Berden Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
108 ARCHBOLD Shane Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
109 KREDER Michel Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
110 GAUDIN Damien Ag2r s.t.
111 POLITT Nils Katusha 0:01:46
112 STEELS Stijn Topsport Vlaanderen 0:03:20

Race map:

2016 Dwars Door Vkaanderen map

2016 Dwars door Vlaanderen map