BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2015 Classica Corsica (1.1), France

1st edition: Thursday, March 26

Classica Corsica story |

2015 Classica Corsica race profile |

Ajaccio - Bastia, 203.8 km

Thomas Boudat wins Cassica Corsica

Thomas Boudat wins Cassica Corsica © FTVIASTELLA

The Race: Despite being named "Classica", this was the first edition of the race. Since it is run two days before the start of the Criterium International, it makes for several days of French racing before the big Classics.

The race's main obstacle is the Col de Vizzavona, just 50 km into the race. From there it is a mostly downhill and flat run to the finish (the Col de Bellegranajo at km 76 being the major exception).

The sprinters were dropped on the big climb, cresting at nearly three minutes behind a group of about 40 riders with another three off the front. The front groups wouldn't work together and with about 50 km to go, all the fugitives had been caught.

Of course, with so much racing left, others tried their luck. But with two kilometers remaining, it was all together again.

The winner was a surprise, Frenchman and former Omnium (track) World Champion Thomas Boudat. This was 20-year old Boudat's first road victory. Boudat has decided to become a serious road rider and seems to have made both a good choice and a superb start in that direction.

Complete Results:

203.8 km raced at an average speed of 41.295 km/hr

1 Thomas BOUDAT Team Europcar 4hr 56min 7sec
2 Shane ARCHBOLD Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
3 Daniele RATTO UnitedHealthcare s.t.
4 Benjamin GIRAUD Team Marseille 13 KTM s.t.
5 Rasmus GULDHAMMER CULT Energy Pro Cycling s.t.
6 Michael VAN STAEYEN Cofidis, Solutions Crédits s.t.
7 Fabio FELLINE Trek Factory Racing s.t.
8 Linus GERDEMANN CULT Energy Pro Cycling s.t.
9 Yauheni HUTAROVICH Bretagne - Séché Environnement s.t.
10 Julien DUVAL Equipe Cycliste de Armée de Terre s.t.
11 Romain FEILLU Bretagne - Séché Environnement s.t.
12 Caleb FAIRLY Team Giant - Alpecin s.t.
13 Cédric PINEAU FDJ s.t.
14 Michel KREDER Team Roompot s.t.
15 Patrick KONRAD Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
16 David MENUT Auber 93 s.t.
17 Clément VENTURINI Cofidis, Solutions Crédits s.t.
18 Julien EL FARÉS Team Marseille 13 KTM s.t.
19 Maurits LAMMERTINK Team Roompot s.t.
20 Alo JAKIN Auber 93 s.t.
21 Kiel REIJNEN UnitedHealthcare s.t.
22 Patrick SCHELLING IAM Cycling s.t.
23 Yukiya ARASHIRO Team Europcar s.t.
24 Eugenio ALAFACI Trek Factory Racing s.t.
25 Dieter BOUVRY Roubaix Lille Metropole s.t.
26 Patrick GRETSCH AG2R La Mondiale s.t.
27 Rémy DI GREGORIO Team Marseille 13 KTM s.t.
28 Jérémy ROY FDJ s.t.
29 Jérémy LEVEAU Roubaix Lille Metropole s.t.
30 Thierry HUPOND Team Giant - Alpecin s.t.
31 Nicolas EDET Cofidis, Solutions Crédits s.t.
32 Dominik NERZ Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
33 Jan BAKELANTS AG2R La Mondiale s.t.
34 Fredrik LUDVIGSSON Team Giant - Alpecin s.t.
35 Pierre Luc PERICHON Bretagne - Séché Environnement s.t.
36 Romain COMBAUD Equipe Cycliste de Armée de Terre s.t.
37 Ignatas KONOVALOVAS Team Marseille 13 KTM s.t.
38 Huub DUYN Team Roompot s.t.
39 Mike TERPSTRA Team Roompot s.t.
40 Quentin PACHER Equipe Cycliste de Armée de Terre s.t.
41 Clément Saint MARTIN Team Marseille 13 KTM s.t.
42 Maxime RENAULT Auber 93 s.t.
43 Christopher JONES UnitedHealthcare s.t.
44 Julien LOUBET Team Marseille 13 KTM s.t.
45 Steve MORABITO FDJ s.t.
46 Yoann PAILLOT Team Marseille 13 KTM s.t.
47 Cheng JI Team Giant - Alpecin s.t.
48 Anthony GESLIN FDJ s.t.
49 Alexis VUILLERMOZ AG2R La Mondiale s.t.
50 Cristiano SALERNO Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
51 Cesare BENEDETTI Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
52 Marc DE MAAR Team Roompot s.t.
53 Romain LEMARCHAND CULT Energy Pro Cycling s.t.
54 Stef CLEMENT IAM Cycling s.t.
55 Anthony DELAPLACE Bretagne - Séché Environnement s.t.
56 Jonathan FUMEAUX IAM Cycling s.t.
57 Pierrick FEDRIGO Bretagne - Séché Environnement s.t.
58 Francis MOUREY FDJ s.t.
59 Jimmy TURGIS Roubaix Lille Metropole s.t.
60 Jean-Christophe PERAUD AG2R La Mondiale s.t.
61 Geoffrey SOUPE Cofidis, Solutions Crédits s.t.
62 Jérôme MAINARD Equipe Cycliste de Armée de Terre s.t.
63 Marco CANOLA UnitedHealthcare s.t.
64 Frederic BRUN Bretagne - Séché Environnement s.t.
65 Timothy DUPONT Roubaix Lille Metropole @ 16sec
66 Stéphane ROSSETTO Cofidis, Solutions Crédits 0:00:25
67 José Joao PIMENTA Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
68 Steven TRONET Auber 93 s.t.
69 Julien GUAY Auber 93 s.t.
70 Maxime MÉDEREL Team Europcar s.t.
71 Julien ANTOMARCHI Roubaix Lille Metropole s.t.
72 Thibaut PINOT FDJ s.t.
73 Emanuel BUCHMANN Bora-Argon 18 s.t.
74 Reinier HONIG Team Roompot s.t.
75 Yoann BARBAS Equipe Cycliste de Armée de Terre s.t.
76 Janez BRAJKOVIC UnitedHealthcare s.t.
77 Théo VIMPERE Auber 93 s.t.
78 Jonathan CLARKE UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team s.t.
79 Bob JUNGELS Trek Factory Racing 0:00:45
80 Laurent DIDIER Trek Factory Racing 0:01:12
81 Fränk SCHLECK Trek Factory Racing 0:01:12
82 Flavien DASSONVILLE Auber 93 0:02:19
83 Alessandro BAZZANA UnitedHealthcare 0:11:01
84 César BIHEL Auber 93 s.t.
85 Michael CARBEL SVENDGAARD CULT Energy Pro Cycling s.t.
86 Kévin LEBRETON 0:11:03
87 Arnaud GÉRARD Bretagne - Séché Environnement s.t.
88 Arnaud COURTEILLE FDJ s.t.
89 David CHERBONNET Equipe Cycliste de Armée de Terre s.t.
90 Maxime CAM Bretagne - Séché Environnement s.t.

2015 Classica Corsica race profile:

2015 classica corsica race profile

2015 Classica Corsica race profile