BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: it started with a freckle Cycles BiKyle Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2018 Giro dell'Appennino (1.1), Italy

79th edition: Sunday, April 22, 2018

Giro dell'Appennino podium history | 2017 edition | 2019 edition

Novi Ligure - Genova, 194.8 km

Giulio Ciccone

Giulio Ciccone wins in Genova

The race: Here's the report from winner Giulio Ciccone's Bardiani-CSF team.

Two races, two victories: super Sunday today for Bardiani-CSF. Giulio Ciccone has won the 79th edition of Giro dell’Appennino (Novi Ligure-Genova, 195 km) while Paolo Simion has won the sixth and final stage of Tour of Croatia (Samobor-Zagabria, 151 km), with teammate Mirco Maestri second. Thanks these two wins the road of the #GreenTeam to the Giro d’Italia came to the end in the best way possibile.

For Ciccone the win at Giro dell’Appennino is the third success in three years among the pros, after the stages won at Giro d’Italia 2016 and Tour of Utah 2017. For Simion, pro-rider since 2015, is the first success. Bardiani-CSF can celebrate in one time the sixth and seventh success in the season.

“Two wins in one day are an amazing result, but they didn’t came by chance” has Ciccone. “As team, we wanted to redeem a not good 2017 season and we racing well since the beginning of the season. Race by race we had a constant growth. We’ve earned confidence and now we’re bringing the fruits together”.

“The race was really hard, both for the route both because everyone were expecting us, after the brilliant performance at Tour of the Alps. It was a key factor to make a super performance as team. We took the responsibility to manage the race and, just before the hardest climb, the Bocchetta, I played my chances. I attacked with Masnada and Antunes, we cooperated creating a enough gap between us and the peloton. In the finale I had to keep my head cold. The winner would be among us but I knew a wrong decision could be fatal. Masnada started a long sprint, I followed and the victory came. It was a perfect day, and now let’s focus on May, it will be an important month…” added Ciccone.

Complete Results:

194.8 kilometers raced at an average speed of 39.904 km/hr

1 CICCONE Giulio Bardiani-CSF 4hr 52min 54sec
2 ANTUNES Amaro Manuel CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
3 MASNADA Fausto Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
4 GAVAZZI Francesco Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec @ 2min 6sec
5 BALLERINI Davide Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
6 CANOLA Marco Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
7 TOTÒ Paolo Sangemini-MG. K Vis s.t.
8 ANDREETTA Simone Bardiani-CSF s.t.
9 TURRIN Alex Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia s.t.
10 THALMANN Roland Vorarlberg Santic s.t.
11 SANTORO Antonio Nazionale Italia s.t.
12 SANTAROMITA Ivan Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
13 BISOLTI Alessandro Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
14 FIRSANOV Sergey Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
15 ARSLANOV Ildar Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
16 RAGGIO Luca Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia s.t.
17 ZARDINI Edoardo Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia s.t.
18 BADILATTI Matteo Vorarlberg Santic s.t.
19 FLOREZ Miguel Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia s.t.
20 AMICI Alberto Biesse Carrera Gavardo s.t.
21 GAZZARA Michele Sangemini-MG. K Vis s.t.
22 COLNAGHI Luca Sangemini-MG. K Vis s.t.
23 BIZKARRA Mikel Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
24 SCHLEGEL Michal CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
25 CUNEGO Damiano Nippo-Vini Fantini 2:15
26 TORRES Rodolfo Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec 2:20
27 TAGLIANI Filippo Nazionale Italia 4:38
28 SISR Frantisek CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
29 SOBRERO Matteo Dimension Data s.t.
30 RABITSCH Stephan Felbermayr Simplon Wels s.t.
31 NAKANE Hideto Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
32 FRAPPORTI Marco Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
33 BARCELO Fernando Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
34 KOCH Jonas CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
35 TONIATTI Andrea Nazionale Italia s.t.
36 DI SANTE Antonio Sangemini-MG. K Vis s.t.
37 VELASCO Simone Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia s.t.
38 GAFFURINI Nicola Sangemini-MG. K Vis s.t.
39 TIZZA Marco Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
40 BOU Joan Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
41 SENNI Manuel Bardiani-CSF s.t.
42 RODRIGUEZ Oscar Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
43 CARLINI Ettore D'Amico-Utensilnord s.t.
44 ITURRIA Mikel Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
45 PLUCINSKI Leszek CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
46 TACIAK Mateusz CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
47 GABBURO Davide Amore & Vita-Prodir s.t.
48 BOSCH Manuel Vorarlberg Santic 10:14
49 RYBALKIN Aleksey Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
50 SALVADOR Enrico Biesse Carrera Gavardo s.t.
51 COGNET Stéphane Project Nice Cote D'Azur s.t.
52 RAVANELLI Simone Biesse Carrera Gavardo s.t.
53 GAROSIO Andrea D'Amico-Utensilnord s.t.
54 LEHNER Daniel Felbermayr Simplon Wels s.t.
55 KOZONCHUK Dmitry Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
56 LOGICA Enrico Biesse Carrera Gavardo s.t.
57 STÜSSI Colin Amore & Vita-Prodir s.t.
58 VENDRAME Andrea Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
59 OLDANI Stefano Nazionale Italia s.t.
60 NIBALI Antonio Nazionale Italia 10:32
61 CARBONI Giovanni Bardiani-CSF s.t.
62 NIKITIN Matvey Astana City 10:57
63 STOSZ Patryk CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
64 FORTIN Filippo Felbermayr Simplon Wels s.t.
65 CHOKRI El Mehdi Dimension Data s.t.
66 MOSCA Jacopo Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia s.t.
67 SCHLEMMER Lukas Felbermayr Simplon Wels s.t.
68 MARENGO Umberto Nazionale Italia s.t.
69 DELCO Lorenzo Biesse Carrera Gavardo s.t.
70 MILANI Gianluca Nazionale Italia s.t.
71 ROVNY Ivan Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
72 TXOPERENA Beñat Euskadi Basque Country s.t.
73 PORSEV Alexander Gazprom-RusVelo 15:08
74 NATAROV Yuriy Astana City s.t.
75 KUZMIN Anton Astana City s.t.
76 SALVIETTI Niccolò Sangemini-MG. K Vis s.t.
77 PUCCIONI Dario Sangemini-MG. K Vis s.t.
78 ORRICO Davide Vorarlberg Santic s.t.
79 ROSA Massimo Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia s.t.
80 MUGISHA Samuel Dimension Data s.t.
81 BETTINI Francesco D'Amico-Utensilnord 19:38
82 AMADORI Julien Project Nice Cote D'Azur s.t.
83 FREULER Jan-andré Amore & Vita-Prodir s.t.
84 OROCITO Franco D'Amico-Utensilnord s.t.
85 COLE Brendan Project Nice Cote D'Azur s.t.
86 MANGERTSEDER Matthias Felbermayr Simplon Wels s.t.
87 LUCHSHENKO Sergey Astana City s.t.
88 WELDU Hafetab Dimension Data s.t.
89 ZANARDINI Andrea Biesse Carrera Gavardo s.t.
90 COLLEONI Kevin Biesse Carrera Gavardo s.t.