BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2018 Bretagne Classic Ouest-France
(World Tour)

82nd edition: Sunday, August 26, 2018

GP Ouest-France podium history | 2017 edition | 2019 edition | Course map

Formerly named "GP Ouest-France Plouay".

Plouay - Plouay, 256.9 km. A circuit of 242.2 kilometers plus a lap of 14.7 km = 253.9 km (final distance corrected)

Oliver Naesen

Oliver Naesen wins in Plouay

The race: Here's the report from third-place Tim Wellens' Lotto-Soudal team.

Tim Wellens finished third in Plouay today after a wet edition of the Bretagne Classic Ouest-France. The Lotto Soudal rider arrived at the finish together with Oliver Naesen and Michael Valgren Andersen. It was Naesen who sprinted to victory.

After Quick-Step had considerably reduced the lead of seven early escapees it was Tim Wellens who opened up the finale with seventy kilometres to go. Together with among other Zdenek Stybar, he bridged to the leaders and a front group of fourteen riders was established. With about twenty kilometres to go, the decisive selection was made at the front. Wellens got ahead with Oliver Naesen and Michael Valgren Andersen. These three riders entered the local lap of 14.7 kilometres together. Their advantage over their nearest chasers grew and became sufficient to remain ahead and battle for the win. None of them managed to leave the others behind, not even on Côte de Ty-Marrec, and a sprint would decide about the victory. Naesen beat Valgren Andersen and Wellens finished third.

Tim Wellens: “The third place was the highest possible result for me today. I helped to start up the finale and I have to admit that soon after that, I had not much left in the tank. I jumped away from the bunch on a short off-road section. We cooperated well and managed to take enough lead over the bunch. On the penultimate climb of the day, we got ahead with three. Then I realized that I wasn’t at my best anymore and that the third place would be the best I could achieve today.”

“Apparently I had been too eager along the way, but because it had started to rain and we had to ride over small roads with lots of turns, I decided to force a selection early. Eventually we got ahead with the three best riders of the race. I helped to create sufficient lead over the chasing group, but then I let Oliver Naesen and Michael Valgren know that I was okay with becoming third. I can live with this third place, although you always start to win of course. But I know my condition is good and I am looking forward to my next goals: the Canadian races and the World Championships.”

Complete results:

253.9 kilometers raced at an average speed of 40.455 km/hr

171 starters, 96 abandons, 75 classified finishers

1 NAESEN Oliver Ag2r La Mondiale 6hr 16min 34sec
2 VALGREN Michael Astana s.t.
3 WELLENS Tim Lotto-Soudal @ 3sec
4 MATTHEWS Michael Team Sunweb 1:13
5 GUERREIRO Ruben Trek-Segafredo s.t.
6 ŠTYBAR Zdeněk Quick-Step Floors s.t.
7 LE GAC Olivier Groupama-FDJ 1:15
8 MADOUAS Valentin Groupama-FDJ 1:17
9 COSNEFROY Benoît Ag2r La Mondiale 1:18
10 JAKOBSEN Fabio Quick-Step Floors 1:24
11 KRISTOFF Alexander UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
12 JANSEN Amund Grøndahl LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
13 DEGENKOLB John Trek-Segafredo s.t.
14 HOULE Hugo Astana s.t.
15 SMITH Dion Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
16 VELASCO Simone Wilier Triestina - Selle Italia s.t.
17 LAPORTE Christophe Cofidis s.t.
18 HARDY Romain Fortuneo-Samsic s.t.
19 ROUX Anthony Groupama-FDJ s.t.
20 COLBRELLI Sonny Bahrain-Merida s.t.
21 ROJAS José Joaquín Movistar s.t.
22 SIMON Julien Cofidis s.t.
23 WÜRTZ SCHMIDT Mads Katusha-Alpecin s.t.
24 CALMEJANE Lilian Direct Energie s.t.
25 RICHEZE Maximiliano Quick-Step Floors s.t.
26 BATTAGLIN Enrico LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
27 OFFREDO Yoann Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
28 DE KORT Koen Trek-Segafredo s.t.
29 BASSO Leonardo Sky s.t.
30 COSTA Rui UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
31 PACHER Quentin Vital Concept s.t.
32 IMPEY Daryl Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
33 ZARDINI Edoardo Wilier Triestina - Selle Italia s.t.
34 FERNANDEZ Delio Delko-Marseille Provence s.t.
35 TOLHOEK Antwan LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
36 BOASSON HAGEN Edvald Dimension Data s.t.
37 SCHÄR Michael BMC s.t.
38 ULISSI Diego UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
39 VANMARCKE Sep EF Education First-Drapac s.t.
40 MANZIN Lorrenzo Vital Concept s.t.
41 KANGERT Tanel Astana s.t.
42 DOWSETT Alex Katusha-Alpecin s.t.
43 GRIVKO Andrey Astana s.t.
44 OSS Daniel Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
45 VERONA Carlos Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
46 GASPAROTTO Enrico Bahrain-Merida s.t.
47 GERRANS Simon BMC s.t.
48 TULIK Angelo Direct Energie s.t.
49 CHERNETSKI Sergei Astana s.t.
50 GAUDU David Groupama-FDJ s.t.
51 VICHOT Arthur Groupama-FDJ s.t.
52 WYSS Danilo BMC s.t.
53 MEURISSE Xandro Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
54 DE BUYST Jasper Lotto-Soudal s.t.
55 DECLERCQ Tim Quick-Step Floors s.t.
56 DILLIER Silvan Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
57 TURGIS Jimmy Cofidis 1:32
58 GOGL Michael Trek-Segafredo s.t.
59 VENTURINI Clément Ag2r La Mondiale 2:11
60 POLJAŃSKI Paweł Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
61 KOZHATAYEV Bakhtiyar Astana s.t.
62 VALLS Rafael Movistar 2:55
63 SICARD Romain Direct Energie 3:42
64 BAK Lars Ytting Lotto-Soudal 3:54
65 BOLE Grega Bahrain-Merida 3:56
66 OOMEN Sam Team Sunweb 4:27
67 MÜLLER Patrick Vital Concept 6:30
68 BOUET Maxime Fortuneo-Samsic 6:31
69 ARNDT Nikias Team Sunweb s.t.
70 LE BON Johan Vital Concept 6:32
71 BOUDAT Thomas Direct Energie s.t.
72 FILOSI Iuri Delko-Marseille Provence 6:33
73 COURTEILLE Arnaud Vital Concept s.t.
74 GAUTIER Cyril Ag2r La Mondiale 6:35
75 EENKHOORN Pascal LottoNL-Jumbo 7:51

Course map:

Bretagne Classic map